Global Local's Bicycle Diaries: Wine and Mosquitos in Southern Hungary.

in #travel6 years ago

Greetings from the road again!

As I was leaving amazing Budapest, I thought nothing can surprise me anymore. But in fact quite opposite was true. As I have mentioned in my posts before, Hungarian roads are only for strong minded or just crazy... Drivers here have little or no sense of speed limit plus it's a really bumpy ride. So I have took few trains to explore the best country has to offer without getting hit by a truck.

Balaton Lake was my first stop and I have cycled more than hundred kilometres around it's coast. Biggest lake in central Europe doesn't let you down for sure. Bars, restaurants and entertainment literary on every corner.

image

Afterwards another train took me to the most southern tip of Hungary where the landscape gets a little hilly which is what makes cycling interesting.

image

Towns are starting to have topical Eastern European look and overall vibe is chilled and mellow.

image

And finnaly before crossing the border to Croatia, I am spending my last Hungarian Forints on local wine which taste quite unique due to its humid climate and hordes of mosquitos.

image

Thanks for reading!

Upvote if you can ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17