Mini Muxxes Get a Cockpit Tour

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


My family and I returned to the UK from our vacation in Lanzarote in the early hours of yesterday morning. As we boarded our flight my other half asked if the kids would be able to go see the captain and cockpit. I wasn't sure it was still allowed. I remember my own father taking me to visit the captain during a flight in my youth, but obviously since 9-11 security has been stepped up tremendously.

Nonetheless, as a flight attendant called Julie walked past, we asked if it was possible. In flight is a definite nono, and that makes sense. But she did say that it was at the captain's descretion either before take off or after landing. She asked the children's names and got on the phone to the captain.

Within minutes she returned to say yes, the captain would gladly show them the cockpit. As we would not land until after 3am he decided that the kids would be too tired by then, and to bring them forward. Excited, they both rushed down the aisle.


Captain Mark Weaver led them inside and Harley took the captain's chair, Pixie perched on the copilot's seat. They were shown the basics of the controls and got to push a few buttons.

Harley was shown how to engage a systems report from the talking in flight computer.


Pixie disengaged the autopilot whereupon an alarm started beeping.


After thanking the captain profusely for his time and kindness we returned to our seats. Although both were very excited after having visited the flight deck, Pixie decided there and then that when she grows up, she wants to be a pilot! So much for wanting to be a vet.

Julie the flight attendant later returned with certificates for the children to show at school, along with a sticker proclaiming them future pilots.


This was a great end to an awesome holiday for the kids.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.muxxy.co.uk/2018/10/13/mini-muxxes-get-a-cockpit-tour/

Sort:  

aww what a great experience for a couple of youngsters to wrap up their vacation with.

Oh my goshhhhh they are the cutest!

😁 Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

They were preaty lucky then, I hope you enjoyed your trip.

We did, had an amazing time.

A great experience for the kids. Maybe Pixie could become a "world wide" veterinarian and fly herself wherever she is needed.

Ooh, great idea!

This is so cool!!! :O I had no idea that this is allowed. :D

Omg, pilots still do that? That is awesome. I'm going to have to give Kate a tour of the cockpit if I can when I fly to California to visit my parents. She'd love it.

What a cool experience - maybe they're going to be future pilots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17