Trip to USA : Chilling Back at Base

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


After our bear encounters, we returned to the not-at-all-overly-touristy and chintzy Gatlinburg where supplies for an evening meal were acquired.


Back at the cabin @jayna and @trishlarimer took over kitchen duties while the rest of us drank, chatted and drank some more.


@catherine813 took herself off to the nearby creek to do some drawing.


As the light faded I first thought I was having a neurological episode, seeing flashing lights. I quickly realized however that they were fireflies. I took a video of them and sent it to my daughter, who is 6. She loves fairies and she was delighted when I showed her that I had seen some.

 


Abercrombie however, did not appear amused.




@abigale, @sircork, @rhondak, @sk43, @jonknight and @catherine813


@instructor2121 and @enginewitty in deep discussion


Jayna and Trish had rustled up quite the meal, which was washed down with much alcohol. Above the cabin was an area with a firepit and @sircork went off to buy some firewood and kindling.


While he built a Jenga tower @catherine813 ably assisted by using the torch on her phone. The fire was quickly blazing.


@jonknight had gotten some t-shirts printed to commemorate this meetup and we, therefore, decided that the @noblewitness team should wear them for a group photo. Unfortunately we a had a few failed attempts.

Ok guys, we're not in sync yet


Oh. Dear. God. No.


Team @noblewitness. @gmuxx, @anarcho-andrei, @rhondak and @sircork

As the evening wore on, Enginewitty and Abi left, followed by Rhonda and Scott. Jayna was leaving for home early the next day and Rhonda was to drive her over to Knoxville airport to catch her flight back. It was so great to meet @jayna, she is a blast, a very funny and intelligent lady.

I drank and watched the fire slowly die out with Corky and we chatted until around 3 am, long after everyone else had turned in for the night.


 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.muxxy.co.uk/2018/07/04/trip-to-usa-chilling-back-at-base/

Sort:  

Reason to vote @noblewitness for Witness number 875 because as a community team they really do work together. And I'm impressed to see @sircork playing Jenga - I'm desperate to know did he win?

Fireflies? I thought only @dreemsteem had those, love the video though I'm sure your daughter loved it!

It's good to see @enginewitty hard at work on the couch, inside in the warm away from the bugs - that is true leadership for you.

I am more then a little jealous you got to spend the early hours of the morning chatting away with @sircork , he always strikes me as someone who you can learn so much from when you have the chance to share a little time with him.

At a time when this platform seems to have more downs then ups, it's refreshing to see the strong bonds and friendships Steemians can make - and meet ups like this just show how this is far more then a blogging platform - it is a real community of like minded people that strongly believe in each other.

And if you are ever passing Yorkshire @gmuxx, I have plenty of 60kg sacks of coffee I could do with a hand moving around 😉

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

@sircork was about to make a killer move, but the block went up in flames.

Behind the blockchain, the Discord servers and voice chats, it takes a real 1 to 1 meeting with someone like Cork - possibly with a drink or three - to see what makes him tick, to see the passion behind his eyes and the smirk on his face as he shares one crazy story after another.

If I'm every up north, I'll be sure to drop in.

I had that feeling about him, I really do admire the no nonsense straight talk - when you need something done it's essential even if it doesn't suit everyone, what he has shown already with @youarehope is that passion and hard dedicated work can and will do incredible things.

You are always welcome if you are passing me by to call in for a coffee or 3, I'm really eager to grab @fiftysixnorth too some time - not so many of us Steemians knocking around the UK.

Next time I'm in your neighbourhood I will let you know :) It's true though, not many from the UK knocking about here!

Thank you both. Send coffee.

hehehehe oh how I miss Fireflies! the story - and the bugs ;)

hope you had a lovely time capturing those magical little sweeties, @gmuxx!!!! they sure are special!

My daughter, who is called Pixie btw, thought it was magical.

she would be absolutely correct!!!! this is why they're the name of my story! hehehehe because when fireflies are present... anything is possible :)

how old is your daughter?

hehehehe very special age when EVERYTHING is magical.

hmmm i don't need to tell you this, I'm sure.... but I will anyway - treasure these times with her <3

hehehehe have a lovely day Muxxy :)

I do treasure each and every moment with her.

Thank you.

It was a pleasure becoming better inebriated with you, Sir.

Likewise.

Wow, that's a nice one. The meet looks fun!

I am glad you have enjoyed being in America...

Hi bro, it looks like it was an excellent meet up, I wish it were possible for me to travel and meet you all in person and share stories together!!

steem on, we will see in a future!

Looks like a blast!
I get to see more faces behind the @ names.

steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
I'd mingle more but most of what I write is pure smut, like this:
Infidelity Games, Parts 1 & 2, now posted on my blog.

This party is so perfect, I really like like this.

dont know when i will visit that place but hope soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17