Trip to USA: Trip to USA : Full on Tourist Mode Part 3. Alcohol Denied

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Me with Papa Trump, prepares for triggering...

After leaving the aquarium we were caught in another downpour. I'm used to rain here in the UK but coupled with the heat it got very humid very quickly and became stifling to breathe.

We quickly made our way to the nearest shops and explored all the chintzy touristy stuff on offer. Nothing was purchased. Once the weather had gotten a hold on itself, we returned to the motel to check up on @Rhonda who was trying to recuperate. Alas, she really wasn't well. It was decided that @sk43, @sircork, @catherine813 and I would venture out once more and look for somewhere to grab a drink and some nibbles. So we hit the main drag again, this time by car, until @Sircork suggested I should experience the wonders of the Hard Rock Cafe on my last night in Gatlinburg.

Across the car park, this Wonderworks building could be found. No, the photo isn't upside down, that's what it looks like.

The glowing neon lights of the Hard Rock Cafe, Pigeon Forge, beckoned. We entered and were shown to a table. As it was pretty early in the night and offseason, it was not overly busy.

Near the entrance, this beautiful custom bike was on display. As you can see from the plaque, it was built to celebrate the chain's 40th anniversary by none other than Orange County Choppers, from American Chopper fame. I love that programme.

I love how the seat is in the shape of a guitar. I doubt it would be comfortable for more than a minute or two though...


So shiny!

Our waitress was a wonderful young lady from Jamaica, over on a temporary work visa program, and she couldn't do enough to assist us. She was funny, articulate and extremely welcoming. She also took Cork's attentions with good humor and grace. There was just one problem: she had asked for @sircork's ID, which he provided. Then as @catherine813 had only ordered a non-alcoholic cocktail, she wasn't asked. Next, @sk43 provided his and then she turned to me. I have not been asked for ID for a drink for over thirty years, and as luck would have it, I thought it prudent not to carry my passport for fear of losing it. As per the chain's rules, I could not be served alcohol without providing said ID. I was mortified and was looking forward to an ice cold beer. Feeling rather foolish I had to settle for a non-alcoholic cocktail too. Don't get me wrong, it was nice, but didn't quite hit the spot. We ordered a tray of nachos covered in melted cheese and peppers to share, then had a wander around to look at all the pop and rock memorabilia hanging on the walls. As a huge Elvis fan in my youth, I was excited to see this exhibit.

I was also a fan of Conway Twitty, and this leather encased guitar was just beautiful.

I enjoy Velvet Revolver's music, and Matt Sorum's drumkit was on display.

Here's a guitar owned by the legendary Johnny Cash.

Joe Walsh's guitar, from The Eagles fame.

I have a soft spot for Kiss, and was happy to see Gene Simmons' bass guitar.

Despite the lack of alcohol - for me - we had a great evening at the Hard Rock Cafe, made all the more enjoyable by our waitress who spent a lot of time interacting with us. Next time I shall be sure to take some ID.  

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.muxxy.co.uk/2018/07/09/trip-to-usa-trip-to-usa-full-on-tourist-mode-part-3-alcohol-denied/
Sort:  

Trump looks real but Muxxy looks like he’s made of wax!
Jesus mate, Stevie Wonder could see you’re old enough to drink!
😂😂😂😂😂

I know! A nationwide policy for the Hard Rock Cafe chain apparently. Another stupid law: one night we went to Walmart for beer and wine, just after 11pm. They served us beer, but too late for wine...

I love that arbitrary bs, I was in a restaurant in Florida earlier this year where they made me a Mojito with wine instead of Rum because they weren’t allowed to sell spirits!
It wasn’t bad but complete bollocks or what!?

Not sure if it's the same in the UK, but restaurants (and convenience stores) can very easily temporarily lose their liquor selling licenses in most states in the US if they sell booze to a minor. For a place like Hard Rock, that'd be a whole lot of lost sales, so some places are very strict about carding customers even if they're obviously old enough just so the employees don't have any chance to guess wrong and make an illegal sale.

The thing about not selling wine after 11:00 PM sounds like a state or regional law thing, though.

Sure, I get that, same in the UK. But even a blind man can tell I am way over the legal age for drinking. Lol.

To be fair to a blind man, if he felt your face he’d think you were Shrek!
😂😂😂

You git 🤣

The waitress WAS great. One of the friendliest I have seen.
Glad you didn't mind getting your picture taken with Trump. Every time he see's me he has to stop and ask me for business advice. But I really don't mind, I enjoy helping the little people. LOL.

I can see why he would come to you for advice...

Scott, you are silly. Just plain silly. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27