Beware of Google Maps errors in Chiang Mai

in #travel5 years ago

Like most people who don't know where the hell they are, I rely on Google Maps to get me from place to place. Like any nervous traveler (or noob in the city - again, me) I constantly check the map over.....and over.

However, I think that in Thailand and other SE Asian countries that they maybe didn't put as much time into accuracy as they might have done in other, more developed countries.

7losb7vlyd0z.jpg
source

Like I mentioned in a previous post, I am really enjoying this bike share club I joined. I enjoy the exercise and you notice things around you a lot better when you are moving at a slow clip rather than driving and zooming past everything.

However, this does not mean that I enjoy ending up on the completely wrong side of town, miles away from where I intended to go on an 8 lane divided highway with the only U-turns being ages down the road (I needed to go the opposite direction as traffic was flowing.)

Google Maps was indicating that i needed to "turn right!" at absurd locations like the entrance of a temple (I promise I am not making this up.) and would routinely tell me to cross bridges at locations where there was no bridge and it didn't appear as if there ever was.


source

I understand that sometimes new buildings are made and old roads are eliminated and what not but this temple was much older than GPS, or 4G, or Google, or had been there long before Al Gore invented the Internet.

I don't think you are even supposed to be on a road of this magnitude on a bicycle, let alone driving into traffic (I was NOT going to drive 2 miles down the road to U-turn properly - sorry!) but i did exactly that, for about 500 meters. I was very careful and no one even beeped at me - I am still in Thailand after-all and people kinda do whatever they want on the road.

Here is the tl;dr - If you are in Chiang Mai and are going to anywhere that isn't a major attraction take the advice Google Maps gives you with a "grain of salt" (IE: don't believe it) because I shouldn't have explored as much as I did today. I didn't intend to, but in order to get to my destination I reckon i went about 5 miles further than was necessary, hot horribly sweaty and a bit sunburned.

Sort:  

Man, I have been led astray so many times by Google Maps. People rely too much on it these days. My in-laws used to make me crazy with it. We were in London trying to find the Tesco Supermarket.

The GPS kept saying to take the 2nd exit at the roundabout - but we could physically see the Tesco at the 1st exit. We took the 2nd exit of course, which was wrong. So we had to drive a mile, and come back to the roundabout, at which point they took the 2nd exit again, ignoring their eyes.

That was not a fun day.

i bet that was frustrating - but it is funny. I think in the future, since this city has (kind of) a grid format, i will just load up the map and make my own GPS decisions. It was frustrating to me to have this app telling me to turn this way and that when there were no actual turns available.

Use Waze instead of Google Maps. But I do not know if that app is applicable in Thailand.

never heard of it, i'll give it a shot. Thanks for the tip!

Thanks for your warning. I did not even remember the last time i used google map on my phone last

Thanks for the warning, it’s always good to not only trust your phone haha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82