Bubble Bar - Koh Phayam: A really cool surfer bar

in #travel5 years ago

The bay that I am staying in called Ao Yai (Big Bay) is home to some pretty decent surf on this quaint island in the west of Thailand. I say "decent" because it definitely isn't world class but it is a very easy place to learn to surf and Bubble Bar is the spot to head to if you are interested in that. I did not surf, but hung out here and the ambiance was really cool.

56764675_2228324683922185_1114262688659144704_n.jpg

While the place wasn't busy because it is now past high-season I have been here in the past and it was absolutely booming. However, there was still a decent crowd of people, most of who were going to and from the beach on their body boards, SUP (stand up paddle) boards, and of course surfboards.

56737228_591855371294920_72950019522560_n.jpg

You can rent the boards here or get lessons from professional instructors. The prices seem fair but to be honest it was a little expensive compared to just about everything else on the island. However, you have to understand that I have no idea what a surfboard rental or lessons should cost so don't take my word for it. It looked like it was going to be around $70 for a full day's lesson.

We were not here for the surfing though, we were here for the sunset beverages.

56770517_440859123329666_507119682130542592_n.jpg

Although every bar on this beach has access to the same sunset, there was something about the light music and comfortable chairs that made Bubble Bar a favorite of mine for exactly this. I feel as though we got a good one tonight. This might be because where i live in Chiang Mai the pollution has been so bad that I haven't actually seen the sun at all in a couple months.

56985405_2865130943711254_8889065925861441536_n.jpg

The drinks were average price and although we didn't have them, the cocktail menu was plentiful and featured a wide array all at around $5 each (which isn't bad considering our remote location.) Overall, if you are staying on this bay you would probably notice this lively place anyway, but if you find yourself on Koh Phayam someday, you should definitely check out Bubble Bar. Good times!

location including GPS coords

Sort:  

Sunsets over the beach with a drink in hand and conversations that imprint for a lifetime...that is living. Thanks for sharing that slice of heaven.

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah, we are drinking entirely too much while we are here but that is kinda what i do. :)

That looks like a very cool place. I love wood and wooden furniture. I'm wondering what humidity may do to it in time.

The sunset is gorgeous! I haven't seen sunset over the water for years! It's fantastic!

However, I saw some t-shirts there and I remembered you were looking for some shirts. I bet those were for tourists, with some logos on them most likely 😀
We're those expensive?

i didn't check the prices on clothes. I wouldn't buy it anyway :)

I know, I was just teasing you :) I remember you saying you don't want logos on your shirt. I don't want that either. Maybe I would make an exception for a nice t-shirt as a souvenir to remember the place but not at a triple price :)

$5 a piece for cocktails doesn't seem that bad at all. Especially if they are mixed well. I can see why you wanted to hang out at this place. The sunset is beautiful. $70 also doesn't seem that bad for a full days worth of lessons. I would expect to pay that much for just an hour in the States. I really know nothing about surfing though... I am more of a fisherman.

Those beautiful sunsets look the same anywhere by the sea. Here in my hometown we have the sea very close by and I love to go enjoy the sunsets, outdoors, breathing in the smell of the sea. It's a privilege few of us can have, so live it to the fullest, friend @gooddream. I hope you also enjoy some cold beers, cheers!

Drinking cocktails at sunset sound almost too perfect. My problem is I don't stop as I really enjoy them. I don't get smashed on them though, just happy. $5 sounds perfectly alright for where it is and as you say it's very remote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14