Castillo Mundo King ("museum" in Dominican Republic): UFO section

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

You may recall the other sections of this unofficial museum in Sosua, Dominican Republic that I have touched base on in other articles. This place is unlikely to appear on any map or in any guidebook because the owner was an eccentric individual who actually ticked off a great many of his neighbors. His collection is eccentric, to put it mildly and the appearance of his "house" likely didn't increase property values nearby.


The UFO Section

It doesn't become evident that "Rolf," the eccentric owner / curator of all the artwork in this castle of sorts was a massive UFO believer until about half-way through. Up to that point it seemed as though he was primarily interested in collecting creepy art and artwork busts that were always facing upwards - upwards to the sky perhaps? check those out here






After passing through the "forbidden room" click here to read about that section of the castle we ended up traveling to the backyard where the grounds take on a completely different vibe.



I think many people would prefer to write someone like Rolf Shultz off as a lunatic but I tend to look at these situations as he might have had mental problems but he also might know something that others dont and is just incapable of articulating it in a sensible way.

I have known some people that have known some pretty amazing stuff but were just not socially capable and therefore we tend to ignore what they have to say. Rolf may have been one of those people. I sort of appreciate his attitude of doing what he wants and he kind of reminds me of the inventor in Edward Scissorhands because his palace was higher up (elevation-wise) than all of his neighbors in Sosua.

Anyway, the backyard has tons of mostly iron artwork but perhaps it wasn't artwork at all but rather, replicas that Rolf either saw, or believes he saw. Either situation is just as interesting.

20181117_142033.jpg

There isn't any indication inside of the museum as to which art came first so there is no real timeline as to what he was into at which time. Was he into the images of death at the same time as the UFO stuff? I guess we will never know until someone who knew the guy comes forward.

20181117_142710.jpg
i found these types of pics to be some of the least inspired art in the building so I took very few photos of them, it is important to note that it does encompass a great deal of the building though

20181117_141800.jpgufo2a.jpg
one is mine, the other one is of Rolf

I would have really liked to have met this dude, but unfortunately like most people of this artistic calibre, he lived a relatively isolated life and pretty much his entire collection was not available to the public until after his death. If you ever find yourself in Sosua and want to take a break from the prostitutes, take a trip up the street to the castle on the hill. It shouldn't be difficult to find.

20181117_140324.jpg

Sort:  

Dude.. this place is pretty trippy. I think I would have to check it out if ever in the DR.. What the hell does that "Junk Concept" sign even mean? It's like a spewing of unrestrained stream of consciousness.

oh man. i didn't post them (yet, i might) but that place is inundated with nonsensical stream-of-conciousness stuff that the perhaps crazy owner authored.

I love it. Don't know if the dude's crazy or if the rest of us are crazy, but some of that stuff is nuts... espically the last piece... It doesn't seem to make sense...

Your right. How cool would have been to sit down with this guy and have a beer or two. Or have gotten the full tour from him. Those steel ufo things are awesome. They look almost like stills. Hmmmmm. Either way, if I find myself on the island again, I am putting this on my to do list.

one day I cross the road with the Dominican Republic I will go to the museum

I hope you get the chance. It really is a wonderful place the Dominican Republic, and not just because of an awesome half museum of borderline crazy stuff!

Thank you for this exhaustive visit and sharing ! I'll go to Dominican Republic in february and will think about it !

I think it is best museum. I really like to see old things. I really like history. I daily reading history books. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13