Central Festival Chiang Mai: Not much reason to go there as a tourist

in #travel5 years ago

Central Festival is a chain of shopping malls that have locations all over Thailand. They are huge, air-conditioned, and feature a load of brands that anyone from the west is no doubt already very familiar with. They are impressive structures though - i will give them that.

51576956_373200610133510_1263285070144208896_n.jpg
one of the 5 entrances to this 5 story monstrosity

It's not that I don't think this should be here; i mean, I was in this one today looking for sportswear but I would imagine if you are traveling through Thailand you probably already brought entirely too many clothes with you (as everyone tends to) and are likely not in the market for a new mobile phone that will have questionable functionality back in your home country.

51716756_2267416550167758_103955517281402880_n.jpg
I would imagine they don't want you to play in there, but i really wanted to

I think the major problem with these (for a tourist) is that the gear that is in here, even if you do like it, is almost certainly more expensive here than it would be back in your home country - which makes no sense since most of it is manufactured in Vietnam and Malaysia, but for some reason that always ends up being the case in Thailand. The pair of New Balance shoes that I had on my feet today, were for sale in the New Balance store for nearly double the price I paid for them back in the United States.

51816547_304143000245845_4327619952371564544_n.jpg
They did have this though, and i suppose that is pretty unusual for a tropical country

Once again though, as a giant human being, I was only able to find one pair of sandals out of the 6,000 or so that were for sale inside this place. 5 floors of mostly clothing stores and only one place had a size 12 (which isn't even my size, i'm a 13 but I needed new sandals so i had to.) I saw a guy that was around 190cm tall (6'4" or so) and he was in the same predicament, we gave each-other a head-nod acknowledging that we both had the same problem.

51783717_321956978440520_4151916473834536960_n.jpg
don't do it kid!

If you are in Chiang Mai, you will almost certainly be approached to go to this place and there are free shuttles all over the town. I would seriously recommend that you skip it, especially if you come from a place that already has shopping malls because I truly feel that the malls in Thailand, while lovely and generally speaking much nicer than the ones in America, are not a good value or worth the time even if the transport is free.

Sort:  

Is it one of these luxury shopping malls? In bangkok there are some high class shopping malls and some ... Cheaper ones haha.
The cheap ones are packed with little shops and the well lets say the high class shopping mall had shops from all the pricey brands in it and the prices were almost the same as I pay here in Germany.

Posted using Partiko Android

there were almost no luxury brands there. It was more of a "regular" mall with Adidas, Nike, H&M etc. They also have nearly an entire floor dedicated to beauty clinics with botox and what not

Lol. You have the same footwear issues as me. I am a size 14 or 15 depending on the brand. Normally I can find good deals in the clearance section,but selection of colors etc is never quite what you want. I find it strange why everything is so expensive as I would have thought the opposite.
The last time I was in The States I arrived basically with the clothes on my back as I knew I was going to do some serious shopping at the discount stores. The prices there were really worth the trip on it's own and I saved bucket loads. I think I came home with about 6 pairs of shoes and trainers.

yeah, shoes are quite cheap in USA. I've also never understood why computers are more expensive over here seeing as how they are almost entirely made in China (next door) and Taiwan / Japan (both closer to here than USA)

hahaha! I was very amused by your self-definition as a giant human being, I really think it makes it difficult for them to get clothes and shoes. The place you show us is very nice and eye-catching, you can see that there is a lot of luxury there. I liked the photo of the water splashes very much and it reminded me of a square in Caracas, the capital of my country, which has the same splashes in which children have fun playing with them. It is the square of "Los Palos Grandes". Greetings, friend @gooddream.

This place looks really cool and luxury is definitely very pleasant.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17