Harley Davidson Tribeca (NYC): Unsurprisingly expensive AF

in #travel5 years ago

I am a bike enthusiast. I would be the type of customer that Harley probably doesn't want though because I don't believe that this merchandise is worth anything near what they charge for it. This is mostly in regards to their bikes but it applies to pretty much anything that has their name on it. The store in New York City's Tribeca area, is the most expensive one I have ever been in.

47217935_2329032237106950_6123397872487497728_n.jpg

The fact that this shop is right across the street from Joey Pepperoni where you can get a slice of pizza for a dollar, is particularly ironic.

Now don't get me wrong. HD definitely makes quality gear as far as their motorcycles are concerned but that doesn't change the fact that I could NEVER justify spending the amount of money that a car costs in order to be a part of this community. The big bikes that I have had in the past were nearly as powerful as a Harley and cost 1/10 as much. Perhaps I am far too frugal to fully be part of the motorcycle club community but that is perfectly ok with me.

Inside of the Tribeca Harley shop I was looking mainly at T-shirts for a friend back in Thailand as he has an absurdly expensive bike and spends entirely too much of his expendable income collecting HD gear. Despite this, there was no chance I was going to spend $60 on a cotton shirt. I realize that you are paying for the name in this situation as is the case with many clothing brands but I have a very difficult crisis of conscious when spending that much money on a shirt - even if it isn't for me.

The store itself is magnificent and there is actually a museum in the basement, which unfortunately was closed to the public when i was in there this morning. The t-shirt section was open though

47391654_516659098834258_5728936423776583680_n.jpg
these were $85, because they are long-sleeve and everyone knows that sleeves cost a lot of money

The store was worth a look for someone who appreciates choppers, but I have a difficult time relating to people that would spend this sort of money on a shirt. Even if i made ten times as much money as i currently do, I would never spend this sort of money on clothing. However, people in New York tend to spend a lot of cash on fashion so just like the really expensive dim-sum restaurant i was in last night the people in this community WILL pay for it, so I can totally relate to why they would have this price point.

I can't really recommend that anyone go out of their way to see this showroom because it is quite small in comparison to Harley's other stores throughout the country. If you are a bike fan, the HD showrooms in the smaller communities such as just on the side of the road in Virginia, Kansas, or especially Wisconsin (birthplace of HD,) are the better ones in my opinion.

Sort:  

Lol!! @gooddream. First It Was The Outrageous Price For Their HD Bikes; Then Another Out-Of - The World Price Of A Cotton 'T' Shirt !!

Yes! You Are My Alter Ego; I Take No Shit For Overvalued Brands Just To "Belong". Money Must Be Spent Reasonably!!!

Wow. What a beautiful store.
I am the same way. I would not spend this kind of money of clothing either, no matter how great or what name it is.
I also feel like I would never spend that kind of money on a motorbike or vehicle of my dreams since I don't really see the point of it, but I know most people think differently.

@joavarez, @gooddream and @alaisguineasis could therefore incorporate a body; Christen it " Holy Alliance Against Over valued Brands"
Lol!!

I really enjoy these posts. You will probably have a lot more subjects in mind. Maybe you could tell us about gyms. How expensive are gyms?
Another subject: cinema's. I visited the one at Lincoln square years ago.
AMC Loews Lincoln Square 13. Is this the best one?

I likely wont be able to comment too much about those things since I am just a visitor here :)

Damn expensive, but when you got money and crazy love for bikes then HD is get to go place.but truly not everyone's cup of tea.
I guess what a simple key chain of HD would cost???:p
anyway, Keep flourishing.

Great post from you as usual friend.

Keep steeming and let us buid this community together

I agree with you, @gooddream, I wouldn't spend that much money just to have something that represents a brand. It's a matter of conscience and valuing money. I have never worried about doing that kind of shopping and now less in times of crisis as you live in my country. I am more and more cautious about what I spend, since it doesn't last long, only for basic needs. A hug, my friend.

I am a die hard fan of harley devidson specially for me watching this bike is great fun for me. And you visit this place might be you are having a great fun at NYC. great pic .

Posted using Partiko Android

very nice comment, are you in fb ? give your id

All biker dream, I am one but I have the imitation of harley davidson sport teem I think it is written good, motorcycle an American brand recognized in the biker world as the Benneli in Italy, I loved this post especially because I like the world biker and I develop in it. Regards and my respects my support with my vote.

Harley Davidson has become a legend for everyone in the world, everyone knows by this name and this name is often used in various events in the world.

The motorcycles are spectacular, however, I think that just like you, you would hardly pay the high amounts of money they ask for a motorcycle of this type ... may God bless all your projects ... greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82