humidity ruins everything / glad I moved to the north of Thailand

in #travel5 years ago

I am currently on a small vacation visiting the south of Thailand for a few days while a friend is passing through. The area is just lovely and the island is amazing (more on that later.) However, I am finding it quite difficult to enjoy myself through the absolutely oppressive humidity.


heat-humidity.jpg
source

Where i recently moved to in the north the humidity levels are around 30 percent this time of year, which is just wonderful. When it is like this I sweat when i deserve to such as getting some vigorous exercise. However, This island that I am currently on is around the same temperature, but with 75% humidity and it makes an absolutely massive difference.

Koh Phayam is a lovely, rarely visited island near about and hour and a half (by plane) south-west of Bangkok. I have fond memories of this place but already, on day one, i fear that I will not be able to enjoy myself here over the next 5 days. I am constantly uncomfortable.


source
no, I am not Alec Baldwin

I took a cold shower before meeting my friend for a cold beer only to discover that just the walk from my bungalow to the beachfront restaurant, i was sweating again already. Even in the shade, drinking an icy cold beer, I was still sweating. It is ridiculous.

When I lived back in the USA and anyone made a distinction between heat and humidity, i thought it was dumb. However, here we are years later and I finally identify with what those people were talking about. I need to find you and apologize because you were 100% (close to our humidity level at the moment) correct.

Sweaty-Man.jpg
source
nah, I think i'll skip going out tonight

I think that when people are considering a travel destination it may actually be more important to check the humidity levels than the temp. At the moment both Chiang Mai (in the north) and Koh Phayam are around the same temperature (about 37 degrees Celsius) but in one of them i can sit on an upholstered sofa and comfortably watch TV with no air con or fan. In the other one I am currently sitting directly next to a fan after my 2nd cold shower in the past hour..... and sweating.

Sort:  

That is one of the reasons why I moved away from Durban. You have a shower and before you have dried off with a towel you are sweating. I find it uncomfortable and there is nothing worse. February is known as suicide month because of the humidity.

February is known as the last month of winter and temperatures are not dropping below zero during the day 😀

Looks like we are alike. I hate humidity as well. 😫 My clothes get wet and look like a floorcloth, and my hair goes curly. I don't think I could get used to it, not if I have a choice.

I so feel for you. I live in South Africa in the Kwa Zulu Natal Province and on the coast where my home is, we suffer from unbearable humidity in the Summer. Without airconditioning it is oppressive. The nights are hot and humid as are the days. Apart from the discomfort the humidity also has a negative effect in the cupboards - mildew grow, icing sugar ornaments go limp, biscuits are soft, salt gets wet etc. Having said this, we do have 9 months of glorious weather and our Winters are superb.

Lived in South East Texas most of my life near the gulf and now North West Indiana near Lake Michigan. 100% humidity makes the heat much hotter and the cold much colder.

I remember in Texas taking a cool shower, walking outside, and instantly start swesting again. Its definitely miserable and deadly for elderly without access to ac

Posted using Partiko Android

We get days similar to that maybe once or twice a summer thankfully. I know what you are saying though about how annoying it can be. I hate it when I am sweating for no reason other than standing there. I mean if I had just mowed the lawn, okay, I can understand sweating. When I am just sitting on my patio doing nothing and I am sweating, that is just crazy. I'll step in side where it is air conditioned...

Hello, friend @gooddream! The heat and humidity are really unbearable. Here in my city we are near the sea, but most of the time it's hot, the sweat runs down my back and it's very uncomfortable to wear a sweaty blouse.
I try not to shake too much hahaha.

In these days that we have been without electric energy day or night, to be inside the houses is terrible, they are a real sauna and to sleep is impossible :(
I hope you get how to cool down and have a good time despite the humidity and heat, my friend. A hug

As always highlighting your post with a touch of a great blogger writer, from Venezuela my respects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82