Joey Pepperoni Pizza NYC: amazing value in expensive city

in #travel5 years ago

It is no secret that NYC is very expensive. Some people would say (like this guy) that it is overpriced in many ways such as the several hundred dollar dim sum dinner I had last night. Therefore, i am going to go to the other end of the spectrum and look at something that is such a great value that I can't believe they have it in this city.

$1 slices of pizza

joey-pepperoni-pizzadsds.jpg

The name is the first thing I noticed because well, it is cute and I know several people named Joey and can imagine that at some point in their lives they were nicknamed "Joey Pepperoni."


2 slices, 2 bucks

No New Yorker is going to get excited about this because they tend to be extremely discerning about their pizza. This is understandable since the "new york slice" is known throughout the world and when done "properly" will sell no matter what market it is in.

The thing that I don't understand is how these places can be making money. I mean, the rent in NYC is extremely high, perhaps one of the most expensive in the world and I would imagine you would need to sell a crap-ton of $1 slices just to make the rent. Not to mention the fact that there were half a dozen people working in the shop just about any time i went into it (which was nearly every day.)

The trick in this particular location (and there are many throughout the city) is that it is always busy. Every single time I went in there I was greeting by a queue of people lined up for slices. They are extremely efficient because they can bang out something like 20 slices a minute (i made that up, but whatever; they are very fast.)

They will actually get upset with you if you take too long to order and They aren't really being mean, if you aren't fast you are seriously impacting other people and the shop's ability to make money... so make up your mind before you get to the front, fool!

18421229543_bfe3e4b42e_k.jpg

This pizza is not winning any awards any time soon. It is obvious when you take a bite that this slice is made using basic ingredients. However, it is a dollar - or you can get 2 slices and a soft drink / bottle of water for $2.75.

So with the bill that my group managed to rack up at Zagat's number one rated dim-sum establishment in all of NYC, I could eat lunch at Joey Pepperoni's every day for 4 months.

Pretty crazy huh?

Sort:  

Wow, I love pizza and if it's inexpensive, much more! Pizza is perhaps one of the foods you can find all over the world that you can buy for just a few coins, of course, you'll surely have to see where you eat it and the ingredients it carries. It's a pity that in Venezuela eating a pizza is a month's salary. Sad!

oh no... every time someone from Venezuela says something it is so tragic. I wonder if tourism could help the economy over there. Is that a thing? Tourism i mean?

I don't know if you've seen how beautiful our country Venezuela is, its beaches, rivers, jungles. But the government expropriated the big hotels and they are the ones who control it, not to mention the terminals and airports. The other thing is that in Venezuela there is a problem of food shortage (of everything) and the little you get is very expensive. That's why thinking about private tourism would be a very risky investment. :(

Thank you very much for your concern, @gooddream

Honestly, my favorite pizza is the cheapo pizza by the slice variety. Especially back in my 20s when I used to get drunk in bars and night clubs, then would wander into one of these places at like 2am.

Nothing hits the spot like a greasy piece of pizza by the slice after a night of heavy drinking and embarrassing myself in front of hot girls.

"I could eat lunch at Joey Pepperoni's every day for 4 months."
Well the choice is easy. I would eat freaking mouth watering pizza for 12 months!

Pizza is one of my favorite fast foods. I believe you when you say that they are fast and it is because I think that for them it is fundamental the amount of slices of pizza that they sell in the shortest time possible, that is the key in this type of establishments. Your employees work like machines and measure that efficiency. That's why it's called fast food, you just have to arrive hungry, ask, pay and eat hahaha. Today he gives me a pizza. Greetings, my friend. Happy Saturday.

You know i will still love to eat pizza one day

It looks too rich in my soil there is one that is called real pizza, but right now to put the context is half a minimum wage that is to say you have to work fifteen days to eat a pizza, I love the photos you have. Greetings and my respect as always to read the post that I love.

Wao i m pizza lover. Almost i daily eat pizza in different restaurent. This pizzza looka so yummy and tasty. I want to eat this yummy pizza. In pakistan almost everyone like to eat pizza. Some days ago new restaurent open in pakistan. His name is Almaida. I m going with my friends and eat to pizza. Taste of pizza is to much delicious. Thanks for sharing. @gooddream.

Yeah it is really crazy as you said you can have it lunch for 4 month at this place means you like the tase and it is realtivly good worth for money. Pizza look like so yyyuummmyyy..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72