My fun, accidental, double ticket day.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I'm one of those people that gets to the airport well before it is necessary. This is because of the fact that I have been on the opposite end of the spectrum many times before when I had a traveling job in the States. Running for your gate and frantically trying to get ahead of people in line because of your own poor planning is a horrible experience. Since I have a relatively laid back life at present, I don’t mind sitting in a terminal and paying entirely too much for a cup of coffee in order to spare my own sanity.

However, I think arriving a full day early is a bit much, which is precisely what happened to me today. I didn’t plan this, I was here a mere 2 hours early in my own mind but in-fact I was here 26 hours early. I blame no one but myself for this. Ultimately it was me that pressed “accept” on the computer last night at 3am and I frequently don’t know what day it is because my life is devoid of weekends or weekdays because I work exclusively online – the date or day of the week is, for the most part, irrelevant to me.

The fun part of this story is how long it took for me (or anyone else) to realize that I was here on the wrong day and also a bit of an eye-opener as far as the multitude of checkpoints that exist inside of any airport. It kind of suggests to me that the staff at these places aren’t really checking anything properly.

immigration.jpg

I managed to get through all of the following without anyone saying anything to me (and i was completely oblivious to the mistake until the end)

  • the staff member at the check in counter line that is insuring you are in the right line
  • the check-in counter where they give you your boarding pass
  • the obligatory checking of your passport /boarding pass before security
  • having my boarding pass checked again at the x-ray machines
  • the actual scanner at the gate by the flight staff who let me on the jetway
  • the people at the door of the airplane that tell you your seat is to the right even though that is the only way you could possibly go unless you are driving the plane

It actually wasn't discovered that i was there on the wrong day until i went to get in my seat and someone was already in it. In retrospect, I wish I had just lingered around a bit and sat down somewhere else because I was only asked to leave the plane once the flight attendant got involved and even then, it took a while before she noticed that my flight was actually tomorrow.

I had a good time figuring out how to get out of the “in only” security portion of the airport and then just went and purchased another ticket for another hour later.

I’m not upset about this because it is kind of funny, it only cost me $25 for the missed flight, and everyone was really friendly about the entire ordeal. What I am a bit concerned about is why do we have all of these checkpoint Charlies if no one is going to notice something like me being there on the wrong day? Did they just assume that I was interested in sitting in the terminal for a full day or was too stingy to get a hotel?

9516983_1.1.jpg
do you enjoy looking at documents and pretending to interpret them? submit your CV today!

I really just think that those people who work at these various points simply have a dull job and tend to, over time, just glance at what you are showing them and pretend to be an authority figure. The only thing that really concerns me is that the computers actually let me on the plane for the wrong flight. If this is something that one can pull off I think I will start buying $30 tickets and have a go at getting on the plane for far more exotic locations. Maybe just linger at the back of the line so that when I do get on the plane, all the remaining seats are probably unsold and then just sit in whatever is available.

I want to state and let you guys know that I mean it when I say that this entire scenario was an accident that was put into place by my own incompetence. I am not blaming these people at all... the mistake was entirely my own. What I am trying to point out is that we have these really annoying layers of "security" at the airport, and I got on the wrong flight and would have stayed on that flight, if only seat 51A had not been booked.

Sort:  

Haha... I actually find this endeavour hilarious. 26 hours early? That's really something else, and to go through the various checkpoints without any the officials noticing really baffles me. They are probably bored by their works 'cause the do the same thing repeatedly. They probably stared blankly at your documents and returned them to you Some experiences are meant to teach us lessons. I bet you would be extra care about your flight timings henceforth.

well, actually.... haha, this isn't the first time this has happened to me.

HAHA Gooddream. That is a first. I have never heard of that. Great security mind you. Going through all those points and no one picked it up. If it was me I would like to say it was my good looks that got me that far.

awwww man. I should have said that! You and i need to team up for an article. haha

Lol. I always say that when I get the wrong change back in shops. Normally get given more back and feel bad. Have started returning the difference now though as the tellers have to pay in.

Will I call this incompetence or negligence?

on my part? I think a bit of both :)

Heheheh, well i think i agree with you on the fact that these people get bored of tye job and dont bother to check the passport thouroughly.

On a second thought, what is no one has actually ever made this mistake and so they dont dim it worth checking. That could also be a reason for their negligence on the date.

Anways, its an experience and i bet you learnt something from it.

What I am a bit concerned about is why do we have all of these checkpoint Charlies if no one is going to notice something like me being there on the wrong day?.... lol .... your are awesome .. (now i need emojis)

😂😂😂😂, do permit to laugh because although it wasn't a good experience to go through such an ordeal it is actually humurous that you were disoriented to that extreme and none of the checkpoints were able to figure it out until later, am very sure if i were you i would have just found an empty and relax my way through the flight.

They ought to check their security measures well though, it is serious

What's? 26 hours before? hahaha good friend I understand you perfectly, the airports are stressful, despite being relatively normal people one feels as if he were committing a crime, because of the nerves that attack us. I am so

Wow ! What a story ! I can believe something like that could happend ! I have to tell that to my father, he's working abroad ! That's something i think that could happend to him x)

I'm one of those people that gets to the airport well before it is necessary. >>> This is definitely me! :D Yep, airport security sucks!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97