New Museum, NYC – art that I just don’t get

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

The name is confusing because while this museum may, in fact be new, that is not what I am trying to say. The name of the museum is, in fact, “New Museum” which will probably be a bit awkward a few years from now.

If this is what art is now, I don’t really want to be involved in art. Maybe I am old school, maybe I just appreciate the classics, but this collection of stuff almost entirely just seemed like a collection of garbage arranged in sometimes intentionally offensive ways.

47233948_2184498641872158_8330404299716689920_n(1).jpg
just imagine looking at this with some crazy sound effects

The first exhibit, which was entitled “Birth Canal” was just strange and very dark in the room with odd sound effects playing. I couldn’t tell what anything was supposed to be and I tried because I want to “get it.” It wasn’t a great intro to say the least and I left with very little expectation of the rest of the establishment.

Unfortunately, it didn’t get any better.

The next room had 4 projector screens telling a story (I think) and it was entitled "Blood in my Milk" and I would like to tell you what it was about, but I haven't got a clue. It must have been to "arty" for me.

47199597_725494604510482_3073623268695998464_n.jpg

Then we went upstairs for what I had hoped would be something a bit better and less obtuse. I don't remember the name of the artist but her work encompassed several floors of the overall museum and I guess someone out there thinks that she is a visionary with her arrangements of various sculpture penises and what not.

47573713_2097382103906794_4734191748568317952_n.jpg

In the unlikely event that that doesn't do anything for you, there is also these next two displays

47373545_316240818966188_3020738327063035904_n.jpg
47310882_327539431309498_2817432030017486848_n.jpg
those two people in the back are staring at the wall, and i can relate

I suppose if i had to choose something that I thought was at least a bit interesting it would be this thing

47207786_516350522198883_4585300453780094976_n.jpg

There was a floor where things were covered entirely with cigarettes, and i guess that was ok but then it was also intentionally provocative and i don't think that is necessary.

47264894_453297671862266_77412868500226048_n.jpg

It cost me $18 to get in this place, and the best part of it was being more than happy to leave without getting my money's worth and heading down the street in search of some pizza.

I have been to 2 modern art (I guess that is what this is) museums in NYC now, this one and MOMA, and I have been convinced by the displays in both that modern art just isn't for me.

On my way out of New Museum a bell could have rung and confetti could fall from the ceiling and I could have been declared the "Grand Prize Winner" and be allowed to choose any piece in the museum and take it home with me for free and I would be like "nah, I'm good."

Sort:  

Just like yourself I could never get these kind of "modern art". I just say to myself that maybe "I'm too dumb to understand it" and move on instead of trying to convince people that there is no art there just some random shit put together lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sigh what a degradation in standards!

Abstract art is so weird! The bathtub piece is intriguing but also confusing.

They say that art is subjective and everyone appreciates in their own way the beauty or not of certain images or sculptures. Of all the photos that you showed, really, only one of them, caught my attention, the rest, for my taste, does not represent art. I'm sorry that your trip was not to your liking. Good luck in a next opportunity. God bless you

Hahahaha. Although I sometimes manage to understand the symbolism of some "pieces of art," it has also happened to me that I question new or contemporary art. I remember one time I went to a museum and old doll heads were being exhibited with their mouths and eyes sewn together. I remember having nightmares afterwards! Apparently in these times the notion of art is very devalued. Nice Sunday!

@gooddream the name is seriously funny! New museum? Haha... What will people call it after 10 years? Not so new museum? 😅
The art they are displaying is really a bit weird to me, I think I am old school too like you. Or is it so abovr my little brain to understand the meanings of them.

enjoy the winter.

stay happy and keep posting?

Are you in discord btw?

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post raises what I believe is an important question, What is art? Does the artist's intent determine whether a piece is art or does the viewer's reaction to the work do so, or is it both?

indeed. I am not suggesting this is crap to everyone... but it certainly is from my perspective. I have tried several times to get on board the modern art train, and i think i am done with it :)

Art is subjective, and depends on the point of view of the subject it observes, his feelings and interests. But with things like the ones you show here, I would also ask myself: Is this art? I find neither expression nor quality in this, I don't like it. As for the photo that you say would be worth it, the one with the bathtub, I think would fit into what is known as "ready-made which is to intervene artistically objects that don't have an artistic function. I'm disappointed just like you, @gooddream. Happy Sunday, a hug for you.

art is in the eye of the one who looks at it, in fact it is a phrase that continues to mark me, because there are people who like this type of art and others who do not, personally while the art is still projected in wings to an improvement , or progressing I love greetings friend.

It cost me $18 to get in this place, worth 18 slices of pizza.
Thanks, I will skip this museum for sure. :)

Who needs art when you have pizza? :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73