Nui's Tex Mex: Finally, authentic Mexican food in Krabi (Thailand)

in #travel5 years ago

Like most North Americans, I love Tex Mex. It has always been a problem in Thailand to get good Tex-Mex because so many places will just go buy some taco shells and shove whatever in there or cover some tortilla chips with anything in the closet and as long as there is cheese on top it must be right.... right?

Nui's Tex Mex is run by a real Mexican and his Thai wife who has learned all the skills from him. Luis is the Mexican in question and he is actually a highly sought after executive chef who works as a consultant in many Bangkok restaurants as well as for "El Charro" Mexican food products distribution center again, in Bangkok.

However it seems as though he wanted to make his mark himself with his own establishment and as a long-term resident of Krabi, I couldn't be more thrilled.




Their menu features a wide selection of Tex Mex favorites such as hard and soft tacos and my personal favorite are the "Texas Tacos" which are hard shell with minced beef and just the right seasonings. They come with a side of home-grown jalapenos, which are exceptionally difficult to find in this country.

photo2jpg.jpg

They also have not-so-Mexican favorites like the 1 thousand calorie taco salad, which is just divine if you are willing to go to the gym at some point in the day.

8f10beeb455732fc4c43fd6302fe58cd.jpg

A wide range of burritos, enchiladas, and quesadillas are on the menu as is home-made guacamole. Their tortilla chips are home-made which is just fantastic because that means that all of your chips are whole or near-whole pieces. I have been to places that served "nachos" where it was obvious that they used the end of the store-bought bag and there are few things in life that make me feel like flipping a table over more than this occurrence. I would rather they tell me that they are sold out than serve that inedible crap.

Despite the fact that their restaurant is in a truly abysmal location as far as proximity to any sort of accommodation is concerned, they manage to pull in a crowd almost every night. When you can do that, especially in Thailand, you know that the owners have done something extremely correct.

photo1jpg.jpg

oh, and prices, while certainly more expensive than Thai food (we are a long way from Mexico and Texas) it isn't going to break the bank. Patrons can expect to pay around $10 a person here.

all photos provided courtesy of Nui's Tex Mex

Sort:  

Tex mex, 10$ per person is a lot if compare it to my country price.

I think i need to eat something now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thus food is look so yummmmyyyy but as you said it is expensive but having a good food in other country definatly we have to pay more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great. There are diverse different kinds of food in this world to mention of all and we must learn to appreciate all. 10$ is a huge money in my country. That is 3,650 naira.

The food looks exquisite, I love Mexican food, unfortunately in the area where I live in my country, Venezuela, there is not a restaurant good enough to try those menus. You should be a little careful with chili, since for people who are not used to spicy food it is usually a bit unpleasant. I'm glad you enjoyed the menu. God bless you

I love Mexican food, @gooddream. My favorites are burritos and quesadillas. The flavors of Mexican food are exquisite. I haven't had a taste in a while and I don't know when I could eat some quesadillas, now going to a restaurant in Venezuela is a luxury. The photos made my mouth water. A hug, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34