Rant of the week: Crazy behavior on airplanes

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I don't mean proper lunatics that warrant an air marshall's intervention. I'm referring to otherwise normal, sane people who just seem to lose all sensibility in an airport. Their behavior does not benefit anyone and it doesn't even benefit them. It also just happens to seriously irritate me.

Passengers-are-boarding.jpg
gotta get there first!!!!

I get it; no one likes waiting. No one likes an airport environment and it is usually a huge relief to be done with it. I understand this. However, i don't know what happens to people as soon as they have a boarding pass that just makes them throw their brain out for the next few hours.

It starts before we are even on the plane. The airline staff announces that they need such and such rows to board first and unless there is a first / business class, this will almost always incorporate loading the people with seats at the back of the plane first...... because by using this method we are able to fill the middle and then the front faster because no one is in the way.

However, it doesn't seem to matter what country I am in, that woman doesn't even get finished saying "ladies and gentlemen" before 50% of the crowd frantically scrambles to the gate entrance as if they were starving and free donuts were at stake. Here are a few questions I want to ask these people:

You do realize the seats on a plane are uncomfortable and small right?

You know we aren't leaving until everyone is on the plane right?

Do you think you get to choose a better seat if you get there first?

Did you know that you are likely only going to stand in line at the ticket counter, perhaps get turned back and reprimanded like a child, and even if they do let you go you are going to be waiting again on the jetway?

gettyimages-531740004.jpg
this is so much better than the chair i was just sitting in

Then the frantic search for overhead compartment space occurs. I'm not saying that there has never been an instance where someone has been unable to find anywhere to put their bag but I have never been in a situation where someone was forced to leave the plane because there was no more storage space - and I fly a lot. Today, the flight attendants were very helpful in finding (guess what?) space for every single passenger's bag. On another note - people are getting a bit ridiculous with their carry on's.

Destiny-Caribbean-Tours-maleta-gigante.jpg
sir, we may need you to check this

To the people who immediately recline before we even start moving: Unless this is your first time on a plane you know by now that this is not allowed - even though it is a dumb rule that I can't imagine affecting safety in any way... yet the flight attendants will have to remind dozens of passengers of this extremely well known rule every single time.

Things generally go ok for the rest of the flight until the unloading process gets near. You can see it in their eyes.... look around you... they are planning for maximum panic and idiotic pointless behavior.

As soon as the plane slows to below 100 miles an hour, some jackass is standing up trying to retrieve his bag from the overhead compartment. Again, if this is not your first time on a plane - you know you are not supposed to do it.

However, these people are rare. But as soon as that "ding" sound happens indicating that it is ok to stand up it's like a battle royale in there.

Kevin-Jaako-Chaos.jpg
go go go go go!!!

The plane door isn't open, the jet-way is not in place, yet everyone needs to get their bag immediately and wait somewhere less comfortable than their chair. I just can't justify it, some people seem to prefer to stand haunched over rather than just remain in their f%*king seat for another 2 minutes.

You see, I'm the type of guy where I just let them do it... I remain calm because I realize this is a single-file type situation and unless you are a complete jerk-face, you aint leaving before the people in the rows in front of you anyway. However, I tend to book an aisle seat and if the people on the inside of me are one of the people who feel the frenzy to move as soon as they are allowed they lose their minds because I wont stand up (the lady crawled over me today.)

This "race to the gate" is even more futile for people that checked bags. There is almost no chance your bags are going to beat you to the carousel and then you just have to wait again at another less comfortable and crowded place. Then of course everyone gathers in a panic at baggage claim too because obviously someone is going to steal their bag if they don't spot it immediately.... right?

I have taken hundreds of flights in my lifetime. Every time i take another one (did 2 today) I end up at exactly the same place as the people that are apparently in a race I am unaware of just a few seconds after these folks.

I understand there is a time and place where being frantic is important - such as if you are competing in the hundred meters. However, I just fail to understand why anyone thinks that any of what I mentioned above could possibly benefit them.

As always I welcome your responses.

Sort:  

I admire your calmness and patience while flying.

I too have taken hundreds of flights (had to travel for work), and I have seen all you describe. I was on one flight where an older man was unlatching the overheard bin literally a micro-second after the wheels touched down on the runway. He got screamed at by attendants...

A couple of times people on my flights were arrested upon landing for smoking in the toilet...Good God!

I thought I would grow to enjoy flying as the years passed, but the opposite happened - I grew more anxious and grew to dislike it more and more.

Of course there is no excuse for a lot of the bad behaviour seen sometimes. But I suspect a lot of it stems from anxiety, boredom, and being cramped in a tight seat for hours on end.

Thanks for the post!

Thanks for the response pal! yeah, i suppose I am a bit hard on them. However, i find that just letting everyone else be frantic and getting out of the way actually makes the process a lot calmer for me. I am normally one of the last people to board the plane and I still get the same seat i procured when booking and I almost never wait on the jetway. A good set of sound-cancelling headphones and a great track list also helps :)

I also have a very small carry-on because my trips are normally very short. :)

I love you every post my dear friend @gooddream

Thanks for the tips, next time I will try to adopt a few, see if it makes the experience better.

@gooddream - Thank you for the upvote on my comment. It was massive for me!

a very good post, your words can be an excellent motivation for everyone in living this life. Sometimes we are confused how the way a person's mind, because we humans, must have a different way of thinking. Therefore, we never know what is being thought of by others. I also saw at the airport when I boarded the plane first, exactly as you say this.

Waiting is indeed a very hated by everyone, because people are tired of waiting, so they are all panicked and like crazy, when they want to board a plane. All of that will happen at any airport, when people want to board a plane. Thanks for sharing, and wish you a wonderful day @gooddream... :)

Sooo..Yea. Heck Yea. I hear you on this one. I really should have majored in Human Behavior. I love watching people in these types of environments. So many feel like since they bought a ticket to fly, lol, they are somehow entitled to step all over everyone else. I see this on a daily basis. A rush to wait. If everyone was like us and just to a breath and relaxed..mind boggling concept. I love they way everyone crams in around the bag dump at the carousels too. What good does this serve? My wife and I always find it funny that people want to rush on to the plane to just sit there and wait yet again. Wacko Jacko's.

Lately I have found myself watching La to Vegas TV series. They high-lite some of the craziness you talk about. I find some humor in it for now..so I keep watching.

Brian Regan touched on this frustration too. Check it out. You may like him.

That was really funny dude! I had never heard of him but will definitely check out more. Thanks for that

Very nice post. I've only flown a few times myself and unless my connecting flight was very soon, I would always wait until everyone else got off of the plane before even getting up. People are always in such a rush these days and it makes no sense to me. Everyone is getting onto that plane at some point or another, so just remain cool, calm and collected and follow instructions. Just because we are adults doesn't mean we have the right to assume we know everything! Great post!

you are right @jennifer78 it really doesn't make much sense to be in a hurry if you don't need to be. :)

Especially when boarding the plane. I doubt they will take off without you if you are in the waiting area.

I can’t stop laughing and imagining the whole scenario, I shouldn’t be surprised cause it happens everytime on the bus but I never expected such with air transport.
You see life is a race but some people don’t understand it’s not by running or being impatient, life is not who gets there first or I wanna get there first . Success is not determined by I started it first .
In my country , the rush is crazier , every hour of the day is a rush hour. Okay a funny one, people rush to take holy communion
It has become a lifestyle for some alighting from moving buses.

That's a really horrible experience. I have never been on an airplane, however I can relate your experience in regards to the other forms of transportation. You certainly deserve praises for your comportment during these stressful times, but I think most people sometimes act that way as a result of the long boring flights. They eventually get anxious, bored, and stressed out- and although there is no excuse for their uncouth behavior- we must also bear in mind that everyone reacts differently to stress and anxiety.

I admire your calmness and patience while flying. I too have taken hundreds of flights (had to travel for work), and I have seen all you describe. Therefore, we never know what is being thought of by others. I also saw at the airport when I boarded the plane first, exactly as you say this.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

It is awesome of you to have share this educative and informative piece relating to people behavior in airport, actually it is not only transportation that is happening it does get to other aspect of human life.

Inorderliness has been the other of day in every phase of human life. This is not a school that late comers are punished. You really have to change our mindset concerning some certain things in the life, I believe it is only in Africa that such inorderliness are common but the truth is, it is actually every where. Thanks for sharing your experience on here, I hope a lot of people could learn from this piece and take it to heart.

I don't mean proper lunatics that warrant an air marshall's intervention

This is rooted in our behavior, it is only a matter of time that we changed our attitudes.

Flying is fun
But wait Shi too boring I really hate you
Featured article Well published

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98