St. Mary's Church - an amazing building in rural Kansas

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

There are many spectacular churches around the world. The ones in major cities are astounding. Whether or not you are a member of the faith is irrelevant as far as admiration for these magnificent structures is concerned. In St. Benedict, Kansas, one of the most impressive churches in the world stands in a community of less than a couple hundred people.


source

I remember attending this church with family members when i was quite young. Back when I was about 2.5 feet tall I was involved in a wedding as a ring-bearer here- I was around 6 years old. This place is massive considering the farm community that is resides in. It is considered to be a historical structure and it certainly is that. I don't know if I would be as impressed with this if it weren't for where it stands.

As far as the eye can see in every direction is nothing but farmland and it has always been this way. The nearest city is called Seneca, and Seneca has a population of less than 2000 people (yet they somehow manage to still have a McDonalds.)

It was built in 1893 and has gone through periods of not being actually used for mass as it should be obvious that the very small population can't even begin to fill up those seats. However, since it is such an unusual beauty of a structure, it is a tourist attraction and a building of historical importance that is maintained by fundraising and also government and private grants. It is now officially one of the "8 wonders of Kansas."


source

The pipe organ is completely functional and I recall it being used when I attended service here many years ago. I was in the church a few years back and while no one was playing it, I was informed that it still works and is used during any mass.

07saintmaryschurch08.JPG

The building is adorned with massive stained glass windows that are all genuine and except for ones that were damaged by storms over the past years, they all contain their original pieces. There are also custom-sculpted "stations of the cross" around both sides of the main structure that are equally impressive.

Even the ceilings are wonderfully decorated with meticulous patterns and artwork that must have had someone lying on their backs on a very tall scaffolding for long periods of time. The entire ceiling was maintained recently and while i don't remember the exact cost, it was hundreds of thousands of dollars (according to my relatives.)


source

While i am quite certain I took it for granted and likely whinged because I wanted to stay home and watch cartoons, I did attend this church many times as a child. As an adult, whenever I visit my relatives (who still live in and around this community) we always make a trip out this direction just to stand in awe at this amazing historical structure.

I realize it is exceptionally unlikely that anyone will just happen to be near the border of Nebraska and Kansas for any particular reason (there isn't much reason to go there) but if you happen to be passing through, i think it is definitely worth wandering off your path a bit to have a look at St. Mary's.

GPS coordinates, directions, and other information can be found here

Sort:  

The architectural design of the church is really breathtaking and awesome the st Mary church looks a bit similar to that in basilica . The interior design of the church and the paintings also makes this church unique and adorable. I am truly amazed at the cheer beauty of this masterpiece building @gooddream

I remember I visited a Saint Mary's Cathedral too in Sydney. That church was huge.

I must say that this was well-built and planned-well. Still amazing beyond words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88