Suan Moo Hao - an excellent restaurant in Krabi that you wouldn't go to

in #travel5 years ago

There are certain hidden gems that exist in any tourism-heavy environment that either don't have the money or capabilities of engaging a wider audience and i think that for this place the answer is "both." However, this is a side-of-the-road establishment that it is highly unlikely anyone unfamiliar with it would ever attend.

23795308_1973184426280854_6581810249976747704_n.jpg

The sign contains a silly misspelling of the word restaurant and the menu itself features many more but this is incredibly common in Thailand. I generally am worried that the food will not be terribly authentic if the menu ISNT misspelled in some way so for me anyhow, this is a good sign.

Khao Soi Gai

The major focus or speciality of this place is Khao Soi and before you expect me to be an expert I am going to say that I don't know what is in it, I just know that it is one of my favorite dishes anywhere in Thailand.



It is particularly special to find this in Krabi because this is a northern specialty and most places that attempt to make it in the south don't seem to get it right. This family is from the north of Thailand and brought their expertise back down with them. All is know is that that name means "cut rice" and this is because of how the noodles are prepared. It has many varieties but the most popular is the one with a chicken leg in it. Normally it is served with onions and pickled something-or-other and I just dump all of that into the bowl and dig in.

There are two seating areas at Suan Moo Hao the main restaurant or inside one of the many "salas" which are basically just self-contained huts with a table and chairs built in.

24852196_1977051422560821_754303148022240593_n.jpg
if i come with a friend i sit out there

The food comes super fast and it is always delicious. Since it is a little bit away from the tourist areas the prices are kept very cheap. The staff don't speak much English but as is typical in these type of places the menu is numbered and has photos for each dish on the menu.

I was just the right level of full after a Khao Soi yesterday and that delicious dish combined with a bottle of water came to just over 70 Baht (just a bit over $2.) The place is located on the side of the road between Krabi-town and Ao Nang near the Sai Tai temple.

I don't know how this community feels about FB links being up here but it is the only online presence the place has:
https://www.facebook.com/RachamonT/

If you find yourself in the area and want a one-of-a-kind experience that can not be replicated at the beach tourist areas, this is the place you need to go to. From a price/quality perspective, this place gets 10 / 10.

Sort:  

Thai food and Vietnam pho agree with me.Really Craving that food,Khao Soi Gai.

it's a winner, but also one of those things that restaurants outside of Thailand fail to capture for some reason. I am sure someone can do it properly outside of Thailand, but 'lve never found it.

Greetings friend, excellent way to narrate as always, but I was pleased to see more photos, from the menus that show jejejej greetings and my respects as always .... My support.

You failed to highlight that 10/10. I liked the description you made of the place, you can see that not only are you familiar with the site but you like it. That dish looks generous and full of flavors. It has egg and lemon? a medium combination they miss, but I imagine it excellent for a hangover. Always grateful for your recommendations!

i decided not to use a header on the rating this time. Not sure why, it's really early where i am :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

me gustaria mas detalles de esos menus en ese restaurante asi como mas fotos

perhaps i need to #getmylearnon as far as speaking Spanish is concerned. I translated this message and you want more menu options i think. I will take a photo next time i am there.

I find it a beautiful and country place, I appreciate these places with the two options to eat outdoors or indoors, I always prefer the outdoors if the day is radiant, @gooddream. The dish you show us looks very appetizing. Judging from your photos, I think it's well qualified with that 10/10. Good night to you, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71