Tree Top Adventure Park Krabi: are you brave enough?

in #travel5 years ago

I have gone to many places and done many things around the world and this is still likely in my top-ten for most exciting stuff I have ever done. I mean it really is that awesome. I am kind of afraid of heights too and maybe that is part of the fun.

Have you ever thought it would be a good idea to climb to 100 meters off the ground and then climb around from platform to platform using multiple scary methods of making that happen? yeah, me neither...


The fact that this is an option for us and also with a 100% safety rating, is what makes it so easy to choose to do though. I don't want to die but I do enjoy an adrenaline rush and this place has exactly that.

It is located in Ao Leuk, which is about half an hour from Krabi town and beaches and is extremely easy to find because there really aren't that many highways in southern Thailand (around here there is only 1.)

One you arrive you are forced to do the safety presentation and course regardless of your confidence or if you tell them that you have done it many times before. It doesn't matter and I like that. The starter course where they teach you proper technique is only a few feet off the ground so even if you are a complete idiot you are not going to get hurt.

After that, you head up to the top of one of 3 courses ranging from "baby" to "extreme" and all of them are 100% safe unless you decide to make them not so.

20170419042444.jpg

I say 100% safe because at all times you are strapped into secured "tie ins" via one of the 3 carabiners (clamps) on your harness. ONE of these caribiners is on display at the front dangling a 700 pound motorbike so i think they can handle your weight. You must always be tied in by one, you mustn't EVER be unclasped so to speak. If you are a moron and decided to be unattached at some point, this is the only way that you could fall.

However, it is completely up to you to progress because the trainers or guides do NOT go with you to the top. You are on your own.

P1100086.JPG
this could be deadly but again, you are always tied in, so even if you jumped, you wouldn't go anywhere

At several times during your slow descent to the bottom you are going to do the highlight of the course, which is to zipline. I have to tell you taht there is very little in this world quite as exhilarating as flying through the tree-tops at speed. Just don't be an idiot and try to stop your forward movement by putting your hands on the steel line - you'll definitely lose skin and ruin your day. :)

20170419034747.jpg

So if you find yourself in Krabi or really anywhere else in the world that has a zipline park, I highly recommend that you give it a go. I cant speak for the safety of all the others, but that particular park has had zero people fall to their deaths in the 11 years they have been in operation.

all images provided by Tree Top Adventure Park Krabi

Sort:  

Wow, I agree. This is really cool. The only thing that I have done is zip lining in Honduras which was a lot of fun.

I would have to lose some weight before doing some of the things in the photos. I am embarrassed to say that I am not in the best physical shape at the moment.

nothing like the threat of certain death to get one in top physical form :P

lol! Fair enough. Perhaps I should take up rock climbing without a rope.

Wow! Really an awesome and thrilling ride you enjoyed there @gooddream. Such an adventurous trip!
As you say and also From the pictures, it is clear that they are 100% safe while enjoying the climbing and walking on the ropes above the grounds. Even a moron will not detach his clip until if he wants to suicide. 😅😅
I wanted to see you in those pictures, I know you generally dont carry a DSLR with you and capture photos by ur cell like I do. But, it would be more fun if we could see a selfie of you from above the sky!
also, are u in discord?

stay happy and keep steeming!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your reply. It is highly unlikely that I will post photos of myself in anything i do buddy. personal reasons. :)

I always have to think about south Park​ when i See a ziplinie

Lol, the mountain dew one. Yeah, so do I :)

spectacular ... I have never had the opportunity to do this kind of adventure, but believe me, I would like to be physically and mentally prepared to make it come true. Adrenaline should increase up to 1000%. The closest I got to something like that was on a trip to Mexico a few years ago and we went to a mountain that is a tourist attraction of that country, I do not remember its name very well, it was a steep mountain and we climbed and climbed and it seemed that never We were going to arrive, when I was halfway there I could not, but I joined forces and managed to climb. It was worth it because the landscape from the highest peak of that mountain was simply beautiful.

GREAT POST
a truly thrilling experience. it's about how our adrenaline is driven strongly to take on this challenge. what's interesting is the security that happened even though we fell we wouldn't get injured. A great tourist manager brings a deep impression and makes visitors return or recommend this challenging tourist spot
warm regard from Indonesia

OH my god, i have never done this. i have seen many times during such kind of accident on T.V. but i also know there is much fun in it. i would definitely like to do this but with the help of someone. thanks @gooddream for sharing such kind of article. go ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77