Upcoming Trip: South Korea. Halfway there!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

The time has finally come for the trip I've been planning and looking forward to for months.

Here I am, in Abu Dhabi, writing up this post on free Wifi as I prepare to board the plane to Seoul ICN.
e3xo7sqdhn.jpg

This means I'm 3,432 miles (5,523km) into my 7,688 mile (12,372km) journey to Seoul (according to GCPMap.com) and therefore about 44% of the way there, with a slightly longer flight of 8 hours and 19 minutes coming up.

oy6kwuh705.jpg

tdjks6f79g.jpg

The journey so far

As mentioned in my previous post, I got a little carried away last night at a leaving do and as such had a very rough start to the day, but thankfully all that has subsided.

Check in was flawless at Heathrow and Emirates has really impressed me with their efficiency and quality of service onboard the flight.

Food was nothing special (had the lamb) but the dessert was a deliciously tasty chocolate mousse.

As for entertainment, I watched the movie Game Night which was ok; didn't feel like it reached the full potential of the plot that it had to offer.

Finally I suddenly twigged that the France v Uruguay World Cup Quarter Final was on, and realised that Emirates even shows live TV so it was possible to watch the game.

Being half British & half French, having both passports, I was delighted to be able to watch the game and of course to see Les Bleus progess through to the Semi-Finals.

nuc0jkxnis.jpg

@mrprofessor - you're Brazilian, right? Looks like we might be playing you next!

Right, I better wrap this up as the lounge is starting to get angsty and start boarding.

Steemit: @goodwithtravels
Instagram: @goodwithtravels
Facebook: @goodwithtravels
YouTube: Videos Coming Soon


Next stop Seoul!

Do any fellow Steemians have any recommendations for things to do when I get there?

Sort:  

Wow! What a wonderful and exciting journey!

thanks @donna-metcalfe - I'll be posting plenty of thoughts, pictures and lessons I've learnt along the way. Hope you are well and thanks for reading!

I am following you to see how your travels go. "Thoughts, pictures and lessons" - that's exactly what I like to read about!

@mrprofessor I spoke too soon about Brazil! I was expecting them to beat the Belgians, sorry to see that they didn't. Will you be watching any more of the World Cup or are you no longer interested?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66