Seoul Attractions: What to eat? (P2)

in #travel5 years ago

"Where to go?" and "What to eat?" must be hard questions that people wonder the most while traveling. To continue the previous parts of 'Seoul Attractions', I will give you my list of recommendations for Korean food you should have in Seoul. These are dishes that I had when I was in Seoul. Trust that all of it is authentic and quality ones since I didn't follow any travel blogger, but natives.

If need to describe Korean cuisine with some words, it will be "rich" and "plentiful". There are so many courses and many more flavors.


4.Cold Noodle - Naengmyeon

Cold noodle is also a typical dish in Korea. Korean people find cold noodle as a comfort food in summer, to cool down themselves in the hot weather.

With someones who have never tried cold noodles before, they may feel a bit weird because of its soup. In order to make it cold, they put ground ice in the soup of noodle (the ice is also made from that soup. They froze the soup). That is why it was called cold noodles. Really creative, right? It would be great if you eat cold noodles in summer. But it was not bad at all to eat on some rainy days like me.


CBECEFB0-C1E1-479A-BC92-E1B3C0AC0594.jpeg


A big bowl of naengmyeon must include noodles, broth, ice made from soup to make cold noodles, egg, cucumber, sesame and an integral part of this dish is pieces of pear. The noodle was coiled tightly in the middle of the big bowl. It didn’t look a lot but turned out super a lot. A half of egg on top. Look like an art of arrangement. The noodle was thin but tough, dip in the savory soup.

Cold noodles must eat with vinegar and mustard. These seasonings bring the special and unique taste for Korean cold noodles. Add a lot of vinegar and mustard then taste the sour, cold, spicy, savory at the same time.

Someone may not like the taste of vinegar or mustard but trust me, cold noodles must be eaten in that way. Once you get used to it, you will be addicted to its taste. Eating cold noodles when having BBQ is perfect meal because cold noodle becomes more awesome when eating with grilled beef.

When eating cold noodle with grilled meat, I always feel a bit familiar. I kept wondering to figure out what was familiar. Eventually I realized that It was quite similar with a kind of grilled pork that was the most important ingredient of “Bun Cha”- the famous noodles of Vietnamese cuisine.

Besides regular cold noodles, you also can try Bibim Naengmyeon (Korean Spicy Cold Noodles). This is kind of noodles that has just only noodles without cold soup like me. It was mixed whit a bit spicy sauce and some toppings such as cucumber, egg, kimchi, sesame seed,...

I don't remember the exact price but it is around 10-12 KRW.


5.Spicy marinated pork - Gochujang Bulgogi

This dish is a combination between Gochujang - Korean chili paste - a kind of traditional sauce that is the main ingredient of most of Korean food and you can find out in every Korean family; Bulgogi - a kind of meat cooked with Korean style.


B38F4442-B63D-4A3F-9B5A-1C3130AB2441.jpeg


If you are not able to eat spicy food, you should not spend money for it. But if you also love spicy taste of Korean food like me, I highly recommend Gochujang Bulgogi to you. You can see the color and imagine how spicy it can be. We can see the colors of the delicious. A bit green onion and sesame put on the top. And you know, Korean style always served the main dish with a lot of side dishes. Sometimes I even love side ones rather than the main one.


5FABA863-AC80-4F57-8442-8CDCAE652B1C.jpeg


Honestly, It is really delicious. Even It is too hot because of Gochujang sauce but I kept eating. I felt like I tasted sweet and spicy at the same time. It makes good balance in term of flavor.


6.Shabu Shabu - Korean beef hotpot

I went to Hongdae on a day in late April. In this place, I tried the food that I think it is best Korean food I have ever had - Shabu Shabu.


A67CE61C-35C4-4CFA-A898-805D55FCD8EF.jpeg


Have you ever heard about Korean beef? With me, it is same quality with Japanese beef. Even with Korean people, It’s always known a high-grade meat. They served me with the beef hotpot that I will never be able to forget.

It is an amazing combination of high-quality beef, extremely savory soup and mushroom. Waiting for it boils and picks every single slice of beef to dip in the boiling soup. The slice of beef was really thin so it took just 3 seconds in hotpot to be completely cooked. It was so tender and sweet. I felt like the slice of meat was melted in my mouth.

Although the soup is quite spicy but I think everyone will love it. Excellent. It is a mix of a bit sweet and spicy flavor. The sweet made from mushroom and broth. The spicy was “a must” which exists in every Korean food. Everything will be good if it’s dipped in that soup, I think.


BDD663FE-51A6-4B2A-A66D-1078D45BD36A.jpeg


When you finish everything, even noodles, there will be something more. I thought noodle was an end a hotpot meal like in Vietnam. But turn out not. When I had just finished noodles and soup, the staff came out and asked me to take the pot. I thought they want to clean it up. But after few mins, they brought it back to me with a bit rice inside. I realized that they cooked rice and made it burned a little bit. The crispy rice with a flavor of soup left, it was really awesome especially eating with kimchi.

Honestly this food is the best one among so many dishes I had in Korea. You guys may want to visit this place to try this outstanding hotpot. The restaurant located on the 2nd floor at Seoul Mapoku Hongiklo 15 (서울 마포구 홍익로 15). It cost around 35$ for 2 people.


To be continued...


@hanggggbeeee

Sort:  

This food looks very good :) ... I hope it is not very spicy.
But one day I try have it :)


Korean food is always awesomeee ^^


I am also sure ... this why I must try it :)
Here in Estonia we not have it :)


Wow that hotpot looks so good! Perfect for this time of year, it's the season for soups 🍲

Posted using Partiko iOS

trust me, that shabu shabu is the best ever.

ngon quá :)

Hi @hanggggbeeee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.577 which ranks you at #5834 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 201 contributions, your post is ranked at #88.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Shabu Shabu

The soup from that picture looks so yummy. That's something I'd like to try. The beef hotpot is brilliant, too.

yes. dont forget to try it when u travel Korea ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75