From Paris with love! (I'm not actually in Paris)

in #travel7 years ago

IMG_20170313_203729.jpg

This is a little bit of a cheat post. We actually visited Paris before our backpacking trip began! Back in march to be precise. (We started our trip in July) but I really wanted to post about Paris and share some of the photos I took whilst I was their. This was only my second time in Paris, but first time seeing all the major sites (Eiffel tower, Arc de Triomphe etc)

We spent three nights, for days on a little last minute getaway before my boyfriend had to hear back to California. When I say last minute, we booked it three hours before the flight left! As we were saving for a Europe trip, we were budgeting on this trip too. Some monuments we just took of photos of as opposed to paying to go in. Obviously, when it came to the Louvre, that's an expense we just had to pay out for!

First, we did a mini walking tour starting at the Notre dame. We then passed across the love locks on the Pont des Arts bridge, before going to the Louvre, as it was only a couple of minutes walk from their.

IMG_20170313_093022.jpg

IMG_20170313_094938.jpg

IMG_20170313_101149.jpg

When we got to Louvre we saw that the queue to get in was miles long, so we quickly purchased tickets on our phones and skipped the line! I recommend doing this anywhere in the world. Some places we have found have closed their online ticket sales 24 hours before, so be wary of this happening!

IMG_20170313_101553.jpg

So we entered the Louvre and headed straight to see the main lady herself, the Mona Lisa. It took around fifteen minutes to get through and see her as close as we could get. And I had to push, believe me! The painting is sat behind layers of bullet proof glass and you can't get closer than five meters to it. But she was still a force to be reconned with. She has such a grand aura about her. The whole room, pushing and fighting to see this small painting. She held her own on that stage. I got this photo after I, quite literally, physically assaulted someone out of the way to take this photo. Even if you can mostly see glass refection! If anyone asks, she attacked me first,ok!?

IMG_20170313_105831.jpg

IMG_20170313_105357.jpg

The painting above is 'The virgin on the rocks' by Leonardo Da Vinci.
The Louvre, like the Vatican museum, is beautifully ornate and it's ceilings and arches are more desired than some of the artwork it displays. (Except for Mona, of course!) I truly believe that you could spend a good few days here! But we were in and out within a few hours and just saw the 'main’ pieces. I don't mean to offend anyone, but I really have zero time for a telephone in a glass cabinet, that is classed as 'artwork’ and is worth millions. To me that is not art! That's madness. To me, art is something that has taken hours of patience and skill to create. Something in which you look at, and can feel that the artists heart and soul went into.

IMG_20170313_111450.jpg

Next stop on the list, was of course, the Eiffel tower! I saw her during the day and night, equally as beautiful at any time of day. My best photos were from the night time though, when she was lit up, in all her glory, complete with strobe lighting.
We didn't venture up the tower, because at the time my fear of heights had peaked pretty bad and I knew I would completely freak out at the top because of what it is made out of. I can climb certain structures, but only if I have peace of mind that something could catch me if I fell (crazy, I know) I can't do glass floors or metal structures. I can't have anyone brushing against me or pushing me when I'm up high. I have got so, so much better since Paris, I can climb high and look over the sides without freaking out. It's a work in progress, but I am getting their gradually! I will climb the Eiffel tower one day! Just watch me!

IMG_20170313_203717.jpg

We then walked to the Arc de Triomphe, which is only a short walk from the Eiffel tower. On the way we passed many bistros and street vendors pedalling Parisian delights, which really captivated the French culture. We also stopped for a craft beer on the way! Again, we didn't go up the arch. I did feel really guilty as my boyfriend wanted to go up, I told him to go without me, but he politely declined. But I could tell he was hiding his disappointment. Bless him!

IMG_20170313_153950.jpg

As with any place you visit, especially bustling cities. I suggest that you just walk around, aimlessly and see what you find! In my experience, going of the beaten track, you always end up getting some really cool, unusual photos like this bridge and cute florist! Which we otherwise wouldnt of known even existed, if we hadn't of scurried around the place, like little ants!

IMG_20170313_203148.jpg

IMG_20170313_194934.jpg

We are big kids and we are trying to cross all of the Disneyland's off of our lists (we are so close) so we spent a day at Disneyland, Paris! Most of the bigger rides were closed for reconstruction so we got in on a heavily discounted ticket. Which was good for us, as I have visited before and also, one day isn't enough to do all of the rides anyways! We still managed to get on some awesome rides though and we took the usual, lame Disney couple photos! Haha. Here's one of me with Walt.

IMG_20170314_183725.jpg

Overall, if you have a few days off work or if you just want a break from routine and to get away, Paris is the ideal place for that!

For us, after Disney it was time to head home. I went home to Devon and Anthony home to California. We couldn't be sad (I say this but I cried for days, long distance relationships are so hard) as we saw each other a few weeks later for coachella! But for the moment, it was time to get back to work, continue saving money and getting prepared for our Europe trip. We certainly ended his visit on a high note.

We are definitely two people who grab life by the horns…. and the balls…..

Peace out.

X

Sort:  

Congratulations @haylienonearth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @haylienonearth, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1129 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $592.82. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

You're right Louvre museum required good few days to visit it is huge and full of art. paintings like the museum in Vatican city. Paris is one the most elegant city in our planet I've been twice I would go again one day. Plus completely agree with you long distance relationships are so hard.

Thanks once again for your comment! It is greatly appreciated Phil! I'm sure you will visit Paris again soon! Best wishes

Thank you. Followed back!

great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84