#13 Explore the Hidden Gems in Amsterdam, Houseboats, The Local Picks.

in #travel6 years ago

Like always I will take you to the best spots in Amsterdam!

Welcome back to this ‘hidden gems’ series of my blog. For the people that don’t know what to expect, it’s simple, I will share the most unique and fun spots in Amsterdam with you. So when you visit this beautiful city you can experience the city like a real local.
The weather is getting better and soon we are able to enjoy my favorite time a year in the city; Summer!
today I will post about something that gives the city of Amsterdam so much more character; Houseboats.
What I love most about my city is the mix between housing and water I really enjoy cities worldwide that are surrounded by water. I always see many tourist taking pictures of the houseboats, but they will never know how a houseboat look on the inside. Today I will share that experience with you.

hidden gem 14 pic 1.png

Houseboats
Before I share the pictures with you I want to share some more insight in the phenomena houseboats.
The city of Amsterdam is becoming more and more popular every day and that how the houseboat was born. After the second world war people decided to live on the Canals because of the housing shortage. At first the people that moved into houseboats did this without permission of the government and therefore the boats had no running water and electricity. Within the central rings in Amsterdam 750 houseboats have a permit nowadays and they are very comfortable to live on and they are connected to everything.
Nowadays only rich people can afford a houseboat because of the demand of the licenses.
One of my best friends cousin has a very nice houseboat and every time he is on a holiday we are able to stay there if we want.
Today I will share with you the Houseboat in Amsterdam.

hidden gem 13 pic 2.png
“ my fiend on the deck”

Hidden gem 13 pic 3.png

Hidden gem 13 pic 4.png
“the view”

Hidden gem 13 pic 5.png

hidden gem 13 pic 6.png

Hidden gem 13 pic 7.png

Hidden gem 13 pic 8.png

Hidden gem 13 pic 9.png
“Jacuzzi”

Hidden gem 13 pic 10.png

hidden gem 13 pic 11.png
“upstairs”

hidden gem 13 pic 12.png

Hope you enjoyed this small look into a houseboat in Amsterdam, I really enjoy spending time here in summer. You are right in the city and you can really enjoy the vibe. If you visit Amsterdam you can always try to rent one for the time you are here.
Thanks for stopping by everybody! Will keep sharing

Haas pet.png

Sort:  

These houseboats are awesome. Would like to try staying at one of them sometimes. Are people renting them to tourists?

they do rent them out, they have some posted Airbnb, see you are new welcome! dont forget to write an introduction post to create more attention

Amsterdam rocks, baby !

I know! love that city! when will you start blogging, thanks for stopping by

great, I follow you.

Thanks for stopping by!

I really like watching your photos. In particular I like the inner part of the ** Houseboat**.
However the view is good and you can have a breakfast this morning on the river side!!!

its really nice! always like to be there.
Will go to work soon and home around midnight, will look to see if you posted your Basketball post if so I will join with puttin mine online

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76