Meet my Lontana She who takes me everywhere I want.

in #travel5 years ago

Inspired by @matkodurko and his love declaration for his bike, I felt a bit guilty never having made a love declaration for my own, she did after all take me through all of Europe multiple times. So before you start reading this post, I would advice firing up for some "moody" music
IMG_0692.JPG


She's a bit on the heavy side, but tough as a tank


Lontana ain't no normal bike. With her internal pinion gearbox, she can take me over any mountains that might stand in any conditions. It is seen these type of gearboxes should last more than 100.000 kilometers without any problems and with the only need of refilling the oil once every year, she's a lade there ain't complaining much.

That together with her carbon belt drive that replaces the regular chain with a belt that usually lasts about 20.000km you can see how convenient it is for these long journeys I usually drag her on.

Basically everything is made to take any punishment, but of course, that also means she is a little on the heavy side... But who doesn't like a woman with some curves?

IMG_0702.JPG


She's special, because I can count on her


She might not take me fast to places, but she will make sure I will reach it eventually. With about 8000 Kilometers done on her, I have only been punctured once and the tires still look like they have barely been used.

Sometimes, I do envy when people come on their fast rolling road bikes or their cool looking mountain bikes in the mountains. Lontana arent made for once specific thing, but instead a jacks-of-all trade. Making sure no matter what surface I am on, I can keep going.


Although cyclists usually never only has one bike, she have kept me away from buying anything else


I am a touring cyclist by heart and being a gear-freak is my sin. But despite this, I have yet made the move to get myself another bike. It seems like every time I think about doing it, I just look at my dear "Lontana and asks myself: She will probably do the job anyways".
IMG_0727.JPG


The only travel partner I will ever need


So there you have it, my partner in crime. She looks good on pictures and she works wonderfully in practice and oh boy have we been through a lot together: Sandy roads, almost getting driven down by an ambulance and bloodlusty dogs chasing us over hills, it is safe to say that when I take Lontana out for a ride, adventures will always follow.

She might have been a bit expensive initially, but considering I probably ride this bike more than some people use their car, it is truly trivial.

See you on the road!

-holm

Sort:  

Nice to meet you Lontana! I feel embarrassed I have not named my bike... Actually none of the bikes I have ever had. What a callous bike owner I am :(

Make a post about ur bike and let us name it :D

That's a nice bike. @holm Btw what is the place? Amazing view.

Wow she's huge! On that picture of both of you, she's somehow "too big" or? Is it the standard size of bike used for travels? I have no idea...

HAha I also got chased down by dog once. But it was back in Slovakia when I was a kid. Btw any reason for the name Lontana?

29'er wheels make her look a little tall and true it is the limit of my own height, but still fits me fine! haha:)

The name is from the name of the bike "Life Lontano" (translate into "a far life").

I like the meaning of that so I liked to keep it close with "Lontana" which is just my primitive way of womanizing my bike lol.

Hahahha... the only way I don't like on Cub is that he aint a woman :D Enjoy ur time with Lontana :D

Great post! A cycle tour of Europe is absolutely on my future to do list.

You say internal gears... is that a Rohloff set up... always fancied one.

I wouldn't normally plug my own posts - but you might like this... curie sure did! One of my first steem posts back last Sept....

https://steemit.com/money/@revisesociology/why-you-should-cycle-to-work-and-give-up-the-car-lifehack-01

And it's short!

Bikes really are awesome. Sounds like you've really had some great times with your most excellent machine!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's for sure a life hack I am using as well! skipping cars and public transport saves a lot of money! Also for travelling this is the case lol! The only "fuel" I am paying for is my food to keep going:)

My internal gear system is "Pinion". It is usually seen as a new competitor to Rohloff, both systems are great though! the pinion system just has a larger range of gears and usually are considered to be more smooth. But also it comes with the downside that the Frame itself has to be made for pinion, so you cannot just slap it onto any bike like you would be able to with a rohloff.

Wow interesting. Never heard of Pinion before. I just learnt something. Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Being your the one to first dig out the baby pictures hopefully you won't mind me proudly displaying my baby. 😎

IMG_20180825_153048_5525.jpg

This is fresh work.

Congratulations @holm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wonderful love post! Never heard people referring to their bikes as "she". I thought only fishermen give their boats female names.
I very much like your Jack(y) of all trades. Seems the back wheel is bigger than the front wheel. Hope your lovely will carry you still some thousands of miles more.

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.218 which ranks you at #2765 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 360 places in the last three days (old rank 2405).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 348 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Your love for your bike made me think of Amy and 1001 Nacht.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73