First time at a Dragon Fruit Farm in Argao, Cebu

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

DSCF1750.JPG

The day I met a Dragon fruit was the day I realized I didn't have a clue about it until then.

My cousin was wearing a shirt and with a drawing of a green and pink stuff on the pocket.

Me: “What is that?”
Cousin: “This is a Dragon fruit.”
Me: “Wait, what? “
Cousin: “Don’t tell me you haven’t seen one?”

I was 22 years old back then.

After a year, I passed by a Korean supermarket. Saw a pinkish thing displayed outside their shop. I got curious to this weird thing. Grab one and checked the label. And guess what it was.

A DRAGON FRUIT!

It was one of those AHA moments! I then remembered my conversation with my cousin. Hurriedly grab my phone, took a photo of it and sent it to her.

Me: ”I finally know what a Dragon fruit looks like!”
Cousin: “Amen”

So when I met with my friend, Ceselle, who owns a Dragonfruit farm in Argao, Cebu here in the Philippines, I told her right away that I wanted to see what a dragon fruit plant looks like! And I was amazed with what I saw!

DSCF1766.JPG

DSCF1735.JPG

You probably know what this fruit looks like but for the sake of innocent people like me, let me just give them a short overview! So, it has a pink outer layering which looks like the scales of a dragon! I could compare the size of it to the head of my pet dog. The edible part is colored white(the kind I knew) with small black seeds. There you go! image source

HEALTH BENEFITS OF A DRAGON FRUIT

  1. Just cointain 60 calories!
  2. Vitamin C, B1, B2, B3
  3. Minerals like Iron, Calcium and Phosphorus
  4. Has low amount of cholesterol! Thus faster metabolism
  5. Good for the due to its amazing power in reducing bad cholesterol
  6. Rich in antioxidants!

WHAT MAKES A DRAGON FRUIT SPECIAL?


It’s flower blooms at night and wilts in the morning. Thus its nicknames "Belle of the Night", "Queen of the Night", and "Moonflower".

HOW THE FARM CAME TO BE

They started out by buying the climbing cactus from the Philippines then started ordering from abroad. They made a concrete post for each plant to climb on with recycled tires attached to the top of the post. Such resourcefulness! As of today, they have 150 posts! One cactus plant would cost her around 500-1000 pesos as investment. The budding plant starts to bear fruit after a year of maturity. It has 5-6 cycles of harvest in a year! Not bad for a business!

DSCF1737.JPG

DSCF1742-horz.jpg

DSCF1746.JPG

PRICE

The dragon fruit farm has high demand in the local market.
A kilo of Dragon Fruit costs 150 Php or 2.9 USD. I ordered 10 kilos.

DSCF1724.JPG

DSCF1765.JPG

So I have yet to taste the Dragon Fruit as a fruit. I only tasted one made from ice cream! Which is delicious by the way, so what more from an actual fruit right? The dragon fruit farm is a very good business venture since its demand is increasing nationwide and on the international side. Besides having low maintenance, the plants can produce fruits off-season. My friend has been reaping the rewards from her farm for about a year now and she said it has helped them a lot.

Thanks for reading! Stay tune and Steem on!

And Always Remember...

indayclara.gif

Sort:  

@indayclara, my Vietnamese friend said we are doing it all wrong (the way we farm Dragon Fruit). I told him that a kilo in our country costs around max 200. He was very surprised because they can get it for 60PHP or less here. I so love Dragon Fruit.

I think Dragonfruit in Vietnam is very common that is why they could get it at a very cheap price. But everything in Vietnam is cheap.
The dragonfruit is not native to our country. And it is not a famous agricultural product for farming... That is why the demand is low, price is high. . .

I love dragon fruit too. I Tried the dragon fruit fried ice cream as well.

Sige Lang kog Dragon Fruit shake dire.

wow naa jud d.i farm sa Argao ang dragon fruit . Daghan jud vitamins nga makuha daghan lang ug liso ahahaha... mahal bya sa mall ang dragon fruit gipakyaw jud nimu hihihih...

Makaon rman ang liso! Nindot pud sa lawas ang liso niya... So dili rka ma unsa! Sulit man pud kay ang isa ka kilo, 5 to 6 pcs nman na...

Ikaw na talaga ate 😍🤗😂🙄

@carlitojoshua... THank you for being my fan manghud!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by indayclara being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Dragon fruit is very healthy for our life.

True! Can't wait to eat the fruit!

I also do not know about that until today, hahah naa jud diay in ana?

Yay! You are learning from me! Pwede nako mateacher?!

Pwede kaayo ka ma teacher!

I also love dragon fruit @indayclara,but sad to say mahal gud ang price niya..

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=indayclara
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=first-time-in-a-dragon-fruit-farm-in-argao-cebu


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

waaaaah curious pud ko how it tastes like hahahhahaha dad-i mi igka sunday inday puhlease!

Wala pa nakuha nako ako order. Pero if maabot na, patilawon tamo!!!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89