Kids are off to Cancun with my ex-flight tracking app search- divorce is still hard with kids-had to figure out which app is best for free - what a hassle

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

36136181_2103007523282431_398530599511392256_n.jpg
This is actually Jamaica, but it's still a nice view. They are almost there now. I've taken them there before and been there twice myself. This is their first time going with my ex-wife and she has never been there before either. I tried to give her lots of advice (no the picture above is not her). I told her not to stop and talk with anyone inside the Cancun airport and just make her way to her shuttle with the boys. They are 12 and 14 and have done the drill with me last year, so I reminded them that they need to guide their mother through that airport quickly and just get checked in on their little bus or van to the resort. Needless to say, I am a little nervous, but that is a by product of divorce that you have to deal with when it comes to different vacations where I can't be in control anymore.
Screenshot_20180710-102953_FlightView Free.jpg
I spent a good amount of time browsing the Google Play Store last night looking at the various flight tracking applications. There are so many people who complain and whine about everything that it made it difficult to make a choice. Finally, I simply did a Google search on best flight tracking applications and Flightview was ranked #1 in a list of 9 of them. The image above is very cool and I've been watching it all morning to see their safe arrival as any nervous father might.

There are plenty of applications that people complain about too many ads, or that it is basically crippleware unless you pay for extra features. All I want to do is see the flight in action. I am usually the traveler, so I don't need to see this sort of thing and someone else wants to be the one to see it. For this reason, I never bothered installing anything.

Anyway, this seems to work. I can now see that they are just about approaching the Cuban coast and will be there soon. It puts my mind at ease, and makes me sad all at once that we can't share these experiences anymore. I have another trip planned with them in a few weeks to a lake house in Georgia. I didn't see the point in going back to Cancun, since their mother basically took my idea from last year, and used it before I could this year.
36700173_2192781697663025_447177907366789120_n.jpg
Last year, we collected a bunch of shells from the Caribbean Sea beaches while we were out in the water, but ultimately left them behind. because they belong in the waters. I do think one of my sons kept one, but he claims it came from somewhere else. I can't sweat the small stuff like that. If he wanted to keep it that badly, maybe he will remember one day that he collected it on a Cancun beach with his Dad. :) I am already looking forward to their return in a week, and I want the best for them, and that is to have a good time this week too. Divorce with kids involved is not a one time event. It can hurt all over again and again, even after years, just because of a simple vacation.

Sort:  

First I'd really like to commend how caring you still are-no matter what concerning your family; their wellbeing, safety and happiness. It's not a smooth ride while on divorce as has testified and seen from a lot of people. However, let nothing worry you or make you feel unhappy or negative.

You have a great family, enjoy your time together, travel the world and explore in joy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I don't know if I edit this text and image into the original post, if it will screw up anything, now that people have upvoted it. After the plane lands, or even while in flight, you can see these details as part of the free application, as well. I definitely recommend using this. This is good for the nervous people who want to know everything is OK, right away.
Screenshot_20180710-112322_FlightView Free.jpg
I like seeing the status of "Landed" and I can imagine, as a traveler, I will now use this application for my own flights anyway, since it has the terminal or gate information in it, along with the baggage location, as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24