My experience of a colorful trip to Pushkar

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,
Hope everyone is doing great.

So this post is about my experience at the biggest camel fair in the world.

I have seen all my friends from India and abroad coming to Rajasthan and wanting to see the Pushkar fair. For some, it may be experiencing a culture, art or just to take some beautiful pictures. For me, it was to leave things behind for a while and take a break. Atleast thats how it started!

g.jpg

a (3).jpg

Pushkar for me is only one and half hours drive from my hometown Jaipur and I have been many times to the place but never been part of the Pushkar fair. Maybe because I am so scared of crowded places. Also growing up in Rajasthan I have seen the handicrafts, Rajasthani culture, camels on streets, (so much that once I was enjoying ice cream and was pushed down by a camel cart, and got fractured!). And this being the reason I never felt excited to be a part of this most famous and largest camel fair in the world. It was only when my friend suggested me and I wanted to go somewhere, anywhere for the weekend, that we planned a 3 days trip.

As soon as I reached Pushkar, my first reaction was 'God why didn't I come here before.. !!'

558767_397820583561741_1120518170_n.jpg

This is one place where people from all over the world come to see the traditions, religion, unique customs, architecture and it is worth traveling for. One must see this at least once in their life! For photographers, its a paradise.Perfect location, vibrant colors and so much happening in one place.

b (2).jpg

Pushkar fair is held every October / November during Kartik Purnima (the celebration of the full moon) in Pushkar town in the Ajmer district of Rajasthan. It is considered to be the best time to receive Bhrama’s blessings. The fair gives you a chance to witness the vivid, bright and colorful culture of Rajasthan.

h.jpg

()

l.jpg

The narrow lanes which take you to the Brahma temple is crowded at this time of the year with shops selling the handicrafts of Rajasthan like puppets, leather products, embroidered umbrellas and bags, beaded jewellery, tie-dye dresses and much more...the streets are scented with incense stick, vibrant Holi colors and sweet delicacies of the place.

m.jpg

o (1).jpg

I was more excited to see the camel accessories, which I found to be made of good material and in the most beautiful color combinations.

p.jpg

Camels decorated with colorful dresses, laces, jewelry, and tattooed is a sight to watch.

401562_347952245215242_1658607855_n.jpg

One goes to Pushkar and not visit the Ghats is like eating vegan cheesecake!!

c (2).jpg

Pushkar Lake is surrounded by 52 bathing ghats, where pilgrims come in large numbers to take a sacred bath. One can see sadhus taking a dip in the lake, as per Hindu traditions taking a dip in this sacred lake cleanses one sin. And Kartik Purnima is considered to be the best time to receive Bhrama’s blessings.

The experience of being there with priests doing their daily arti, with lights floating in the lake, hundreds of people worshiping standing all around the lake, the sound of bells echoing. The atmosphere is so strong that you feel powerful, inspired. it takes you into some other zone.

e.jpg

We went to see the aarti in the evening and sat there for quite a long time I think it was midnight when we came back. I can’t remember the last time I felt this high! Just looking at people, their devotions, it was peaceful and the perfect end of my short trip.

Check out my blog at: (https://www.itravelarts.com/)

Love. Swati

Sort:  

Wooow! this is very colorful post of pushkar, Rajasthan. I love the vibrant colors. Lovely sharing @itravelarts.

Thank you @veganomics Rajasthan itself is a very colorful place..

wow what a beautiful pictures😍

@makesushi Thank you so much .

Hey Swati that's just cool images and seems you had a great time well I visit Rajasthan very often but would make sure if visit next time then would like to see the Pushkar fair

@amanpreet24 Thank you for dopping by and sharing an amazing feedback. Its a must visit place.

Congratulations @itravelarts! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

And every time, when I was in Jaipur, I thought the same. *" It would be all same just extra crowded"8, hence never gave a shot to this fair.
Time to reconsider :P

@Komal we take things for granted if its right in front of us... hope you could make it this year..loads of love..and a squishy hug.. <3

Hope to make it some year.
And thanks for the hug :P :*

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23