Sifnos, Cyclades Islands, Aegean Sea, Greece (Watercolor#2)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail2.png

The Story

A few years ago, I had the opportunity to travel to Greece. It was not a pleasure trip, the company I was working for at that time, wanted to sell in Athens an unfinished software full of bugs at the price of gold.
We were on a terrace near the Acropolis, the waiter arrived and we tried to communicate in a surreal English. I wanted to eat octopus, but the word "octopus" did not come to mind. We started a "pictonary" exchange, since we did not understand each other. Gesturing with my hands the shape of the pulp ,finally, the young waiter exclaimed: "Octopodo!"
Suddenly, I became Greek, being Spanish, all Greek words came to mind:
historia, geografia,filosofia, pedagogia, endomorfismo trigonometria..
Later, waiting at the Metro stations in Athens, I tried to decipher the meaning of the panels, like this one:


exodos.PNG

I spelled out each letter, repeating it trying to find the meaning. Finally, I found it: "Exodus" which means "Exit" . So the biblical episode of the Jews escaping from Egypt was an "Exit". I felt like being in religion and physics class at the same time.
Apart from this anecdote, Greece is for me, the library where to find the true meaning of the words we use every day. And I decided that I had to come back.
I chose a small island in the Cyclades's archipelago, in the Aegean Sea, called Sifnos. Its size was ideal to be discovered in a few days.


map2.png

Landed in Athens, you have to take a ferry in the Pireus Port, and then navigate for three ours until you reach destination. I felt being converting my self in an ancient Greek artisan as I was approaching to my secret island, and I was convinced, really convinced, that I could meet Isosceles and Thales in that small piece of fucking paradise.

I hired a quad which took me to inaccessible places in the island. The sky horizon line merges with the sea in a turquoise blue declination and you feel like floating in the space. I open my Moleskine watercolor travelbook and let my brush interpret the awesome rock I had in front of me:

rock.png

Panagia Poulati (Sifnos)

Sifnos can surprise you in every curve, behind the hills, amazing landscapes are just waiting for you and your pleasure:


crysopigi.png

Chrysopigi (Sifnos)

Or you just can enjoy taking a bath in a purple and violet color party:

chrysopigi.png

Chrysopigi (Sifnos)

PD: Tip of the day: My dear Audrey Hepburn, Paris is no longer a good Idea, a good Idea is Greek Islands.

Have a nice day, dear steemians.

https://artbellinsky.com

@originalworks

Sort:  

These are very beautiful, @javier.dejuan <3 I love how you capture light and sky in your pieces <3 Would love to see more from you, definitely <3

If you can add step by step to your art posts, steemit audience love that stuff :> They will make your posts stronger~

thanks @veryspider, I will add a detailed description in the following posts : )

no problems :D good luck in steemit !

glad to see you join the c-squared discord, as well :>

any questions, let me know !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73