Steemit Cancer Free Road Trip Journal #1 Asheville/Savannah

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

As many of you know, I spent the past three years stuck at home, and in and out of hospitals dealing with cancer. During the time I was sick, I missed out on a lot, vacations, speaking engagements, opportunities, so in the midst of my struggle I began planning a trip with my wife Kali, plotting out a few drivable destinations within the US that we would like to visit. I was hoping to take this trip last year, but complications with fluid building up in my chest kept me bedridden for another year. In that time, I began learning how to post and interact on steemit, and after a while, I began to set aside steem for the trip.

Now that I seem to be back in good health, Kali and I have hit the road to begin our celebratory trip, so I thought I would share bits of our journey with my steemit audience.

Journal #1 - East Coast - Asheville, NC and Savannah, GA

Last week we left our cabin in the woods out in Maryland and took an 8 hour drive down to Asheville, North Carolina, a quaint hippie friendly town that really seems to center their culture around health conscious and environmentally conscious ideas. Aside from a few shops and a beautiful mountain range that you can see from the Blue Ridge Parkway, there weren't many attractions there, so we just spent a day there and moved on. Our next stop was Savannah, Georgia, which was also just a stop along the way, since many of the East Coast locations are rather close, we decided to only make short stops in places that we could regularly visit.

Below you can see some of the pictures from our first two stops.

Asheville


At a tourist trap gem mining for gems :-P


Savannah

The main area in the city is Forsyth park where they have this cool foundation

River street is where the parties seem to happen

Wormsloe park was cool, and had a weird tree tunnel, but it was too early for us to get in

 Later in the week, I will be posting a journal with photos from our trip to Florida, which was a bit more eventful! Thanks so much to everyone who has helped me on steemit to make this possible!

Sort:  

I am so glad for you & your lovely lady. I hope to see you at Anarchapulco next year brotha. Have fun out there!

Wao lovely family, happy for you guys.

I wasn't aware you suffered from cancer @johnvibes , it is always good to know about a person who managed to overcome that difficult condition.

All the best to you bud, cheers!

Nice photos. Did you get up on Mount Mitchell at all while you were in Asheville? That's a place I would like to see, having been to the #2 (Mt. Washington, NH) and #3 (Mt. Katahdin, ME) tallest peaks east of the Mississippi, but never to #1 Mitchell.

Nice photography. very cool pics.

So glad you are back in good health. Keep pounding those free radicals w/antioxidants now and stay well. God bless.

It's so good to see you two out and smiling!

Thank you for sharing with us your experience and your beautiful travel photos. I'm glad you could beat cancer. My mom had cancer too, brest cancer with MT to bones but she's alive and ok. Those are situations that make you reconsiderer things in your life. Wish you a happy and long life with your beloved wife.

I grew up not too far from Asheville, near Greensboro. Truly is beautiful country.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Good pic

upvoted for gas money ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79