KasiaTravels: Surfing in Costa Rica. #4: The brain scan, disappointment, overcoming the obstacles and... the insurance ;)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Here I was, in the minivan, on my way to the local hospital located 2 hours away. I felt weak, but I was constantly replying that I was okay. I didn’t want to worry anyone. Including myself.

As I have written in my previous post, it was windy that late afternoon and unfortunately the beginner surfers didn’t pay attention to their boards. They were literally flying in the air.
I was hit by the surfboard at the back of my head. Twice. Within maximum 30 minutes. After the second hit, I lost consciousness and was lying with my head in the water for around 15-20 seconds before I was “rescued”.

3.jpg

When we reached the hospital it was already late, around or past 10 pm. I had a brain scanned and then X rays taken. Thank I had a consultation with a doctor, who couldn’t say much without seeing the results. But as I was doing good, walking and feeling rather okay, we decided that I am coming back home. For my question concerning surfing, I got an answer that I might be lucky this time, but I should be careful and avoid the third hit, cause this time it will probably be damaging.

The next day, the second day of the camp was difficult because I was really disappointed. I came this far, from Poland to Costa Rica, to surf. And I get this? An accident so serious that I couldn’t even tell my family about it because they would be too worried about me. I remember eating my breakfast, answering “I’m feeling good, thank you!” with my smile number 25, to people who were asking me the same questions.

1.jpg

That day the doctor from the hospital said that the results looked good and not disturbing. I sent the scans to Poland to my friend because I wanted to make sure that he agreed. My surf buddy, the one whose board hit me the second time the day before was also consulting my case with his sister, a sports doctor. Poor Johnny, he felt really guilty, although I was reassuring him that I knew it was an accident!

I was feeling good. I didn’t have headaches, I didn’t want to vomit, I didn’t feel dizzy. So… the next morning I wake up in the early morning, just like I would if I were to surf, and I went for a run alongside the beach.

I continued to feel good during the next day. I decided it was the time to speak with the manager of my surf camp. I really I wanted to continue my surf lessons! I knew it was not the smartest thing to do, but I rarely do smart decisions (well, I did some, like to get a law degree; but, I in the end, I didn’t want to work as a lawyer… so you get my point ;) ).
We agreed that I would have the lessons one-on-one instead of in the group of 3 people, far from other beginners, so I could be calm that nothing would happen. And that I can catch up those 3 days that I couldn’t surf. The only thing was for me to move out from the room that I occupied during the camp time. But that was something super obvious. I was really happy that it ended this way. That he was sympathetic.

2.JPG

The insurance

In a meanwhile, I had to do the paperwork for the insurance company.
I was cautious enough, which in general is definitely not my trait ;), to buy insurance (covering as well more extreme activities, like surfing). I chose Endsleigh Insurance from the “Travel Nation” offer (£200 for 5 months). I did it just in case, as I was persuaded I will never! need it. And you see, here I was, sending a request to reimburse the cost of my hospital examinations a week after the purchase!

The problem with insurance is that you have to pay for everything. Then, if the insurance company approve the expenses, it will pay you back. I was travelling on a tight budget so this kind of unexpected situation was devastating to my budget. That one visit to the (private) hospital cost £530! Therefore I needed a refund as soon as possible. Fortunately, the company didn’t create problems, all went smoothly and they quickly sent me the money to my account. The only problem was their policy - they refund the cost above a certain amount, in my case that was £100. That means that in the end the medical treatment bill was paid by me and the remaining amount by the insurance company. £100 was a huge unexpected expense, but in the end, even after adding the cost of the insurance itself, it still was worth buying.

This is why I urge you, my fellow travellers and adventurers, to always buy insurance for your more exotic destinations, where the cost of a proper health care may be more expensive than we expect!

Pura vida to all of you, my Steemit friends!
Kasia

Sort:  

Happy to know you are ok and hope you be safe from any other heat. Stay safe, be happy.
I think you are really enjoyed.
Have a save journey...

thank you for being here with me and reading my story! All the best :)

I hate to hear of your trouble, but you are very lucky. I have had 3 concussions, two complete with amnesia. I had to drop all my classes once in college due to the amnesia I didn't remember the first two weeks of the semester at all. I didn't even know what classes I had signed up for or where they were. Careful as each one is worse than the last. Glad you are ok.

Exactly, this i why i needed to be careful, which is not easy when you are surrounded by other beginners with their boards. #times? that must have been awful... i am glad you are good! stay strong my Dear fighter! :)

Can't agree more ! Travel insurance is vitally important especially to exotic countries

i hope you never had to use it!

What a wonderful and amazing blog and post
Filled with enthusiasm and expecting more welcome
K-a-s-i-a Cool name too

thank you! good luck on Steemit too!

Nice travels ............
Have a good journey......
Best of luck........

thank you and good luck to you too!

Yeah, i have one just in case something like this happens. I bought it just to get to Iran, but in the end i had to buy a local one for, like, 18$.

oh, you 've been to Iran! this is one of my favourite places to go!it must be stunning!

It is, in a multitude of ways

Wow.. I love ur journey :)

:) thank you, that's very encouraging! :)

Great pictures! Must have been an amazing journey!

it was.. well this one wasn't so cool, but later on i had a lot of fun!

Yes, buying insurance is necessary especially when traveling to exotic places. The costs of treatment there may be very expensive. Thank you for participating

thank you for adding your comment to the discussion!:)

Oops and my presence on your posts I am very happy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88