KasiaTravels: Surfing in Costa Rica (Part 2: “Wich’s Rock Surf Camp”)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians!

Today I would like to invite you to Tamarindo in Costa Rica. We will take part in a one-week long surf camp. I hope you are as excited as I am! ;)

glowny.JPG
source

As you may already know from my previous post I have decided to learn how to surf and to do it in Costa Rica. This is not the cheapest country in Central America, as some parts of it are commonly visited by Americans with their wallets packed with dollars ;) But Costa Rica is definitely calm, peaceful, and welcoming. It is a good place to recharge your battery and to start your long solo adventure.

My Surf Camp

beach.JPG
source

There are many companies that offer camps in the exotic destinations like Costa Rica. With a variety of activities starting from painting, photography to practicing sports like yoga or surfing.

As I have already written, I chose the Witch’s Rock Surf Camp in Tamarindo. It wasn’t cheap, it wasn’t extraorbiterly expensive either. It had really good and “serious” reviews.

shared-room-for-3.jpg
source

In order to cut my expenses, I decided to stay in a shared, 3-bed, room with 2 other girls. It was a smart idea since I was travelling alone and it gave me an opportunity to make friends in a short span of time. :)

Why did I decide to stay with Witch’s Rock? What was important to me? Here you go!

  • I have read on forums that people liked the whole team of instructors. And, obviously, this was one of the most crucial things for me!

  • The company was offering training programs at all levels of advancement since 2001 and was constantly attracting clients – judging by the dates of reviews and opinions - which meant it is stable and trustworthy.

  • The spot was offering free and unlimited surfboards rental throughout the whole camp.

sushi.JPG
source

  • The beginner surf program consisted of 2 surf lessons each day – one in the morning and one in the afternoon. Additionally, surf seminars and video analysis were provided daily. A 1-day surfing trip to another spot was guaranteed (in our case it was Playa Grande, a great spot). At the end of the camp, we received a CD with some photos taken by the organisers. They are not great in terms of quality, but at least I have a souvenir. After all, it’s not easy to have photos if you are travelling solo. You always depend on others, and, let’s be frank, on how skilled they are to take a good shoot! ;)

  • The starting date and a free pick-up date coincided. Most of the camps were offering paid transportation from the airport, depending on the distance that could be 50 $ plus. Witch’s was providing free pick up on Saturdays, which was fine with me for a simple reason - their camp starts on Sunday, with a Saturday night included in the overall price. I “only” needed to schedule my flights from Europe accordingly. Fortunately, none of the flights were cancelled or delayed! (Arriving on a different day than on Saturday costs 75$).

zespol.JPG
source

  • In general, companies were offering accommodation within the price. Here the hotel was literarily beachfront. As I have never done beachfront before, I wanted to try this luxury. ;)

  • Food? Within the price of the camp only the breakfast was included. But it was acceptable to me, as I always try to eat locally and not at a resort restaurant. And let me tell you, those breakfasts were outstanding! You don’t know it about me yet… I eat a lot. I mean a lot! And those breakfasts were not only delicious but also huge. :)

What was the price you ask? I verified it. Back in 2015, I paid 868 dollars for the beginner surf camp with the accommodation in the shared room and all the other stuff I mentioned above.

As I have written in my previous post, this one week was the most expensive week throughout my whole 4 months of travelling. But I made cuts elsewhere. I feel it was worth it. I started my travel gently, in a comfortable and friendly environment.

After spending some time in Tamarindo, meeting locals (not only from Costa Rica but also from Argentinian community) I feel confident in recommending this spot to you. Witch’s Rock is touristic, Americanised but full of charm and great vibes! It attracts locals on every weekend, providing locally brewed beer and gigs by a local band.

P.S. I didn’t want this post to be so focused on the Witch’s Rock but somehow I will always have those warm feelings for the spot and people for who create its charm. I spent some very chilled and pleasant days in Tamarindo.

Pura vida to all of you, my Steemit friends!
Kasia

Sort:  

Tamarindo is great place. Keep KaBOOMIN over there! #puravida

Thanks! have you been there? when? for how long? :) Pura vida!

This is very cool. I have never surfed but it on my list...so I am super jealous. Looking forward to more great posts. Upvoted and following!

Thanks!:) yeah, you should definitely try surfing!

Costa Rica! Tamarindo!

Believe it or not, but it was actually the place where I learned to surf when I was 16, my first solo trip abroad 🙏🏼

Oh the memories, amazing surf, and I had some smoothies on the street that we're one of the best smoothies I ever had in my life since, the nightlife was great as well. 🤟🏼

PURA VIDA ❤️

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!

good old Tamarindo!;) wow, that's amazing! i loved the cocos, and yes, juices, mmmmm:) did you ever come back and have a comparison?

No but I would love to, will definitely visit again some time in my life, lovely place really 🙏🏼 I'll let you know and send you photos of the juices 😉

I have lived here for 22 years and I take a lot for granted. It's nice reading your post. Have surfer friends. Lots of good beaches.

22 years! wow, sounds amazing. Where exactly? where are you now? ps. so you tell me that your buddies didn't convince you to surf? :) pura vida!

No, right now I can't I'm in San Jose.

Costa Rica es definitivamente un país que vale la pena visitar!! 😍 me encanta, apuesto que el turismo allá es increible, está en mi lista de países por conocer! Gracias por compartir acerca de tu experiencia!!

Hola! gracias a ti:) si, te recomiendo mucho Costa Rica! super hermosa y con gente increible:)

Maravilloso Costa Rica eres valiente, aprender la técnica del Surf, es para personas equilibradas y que su nivel de concentración es altísimo. te felicito. espero ir nuevamente a ese bello País me llena de adrenalina tu post. @k-a-s-i-a.

Hola @saray!:) gracias:) si, surf es dificil para aprender! pero da mucha satisfaction:) te recomiendo!

nice place and very beautiful and lovely pitures have been share.. <3 cheers ;)

i appreciate! good luck with your endeavours!:)

thanks for appreciating <3 thank you

@k-a-s-i-a thanks for sharing your adventurous journey with us. I always like your post you really let me into the place where i have never gone. after reading your post i lost on that place. I take a tour with you when i read your article you really showing not me us all amazing natural beauty of the earth.

I think you exaggerate just a little bit!;) but if not, i'm happy to hear that and i can only wish you a lot of great travels!:)

did you manage to get to actually visit witch's rock in Santa Rosa national park.

no i didn't unfortunately.. did you? :)

hello hello today I was able to read your post about that place in Costa Rica called Tamarindo the photos transmit a beautiful place with lots of energy for fun. The beach looks fascinating. It is nice to recognize the work of the people when they do it well in this case. You. I congratulate you.
Regards
I invite you todo read muy post
Please comment and voto
Takecare

thank you for your nice comment! good luck with your posts! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15