🚴‍♀️ Let's Bike Portland! 🚴‍♀️

in #travel6 years ago

Portland is such an environmentally friendly city. I wish more cities were more environmentally conscious. I noticed that most people in Portland try to do what they can to reduce their carbon footprint. One way the people in Portland help to reduce their carbon footprint is by taking public transportation or biking. Everywhere we went, there were bike lanes for people to commute around.

IMG_1177.JPG

As a tourist, it was really easy for @teamsteem and me to rent bikes. In the photo below, you will see that there are orange bike stands filled with Nike bikes. For an hourly rate you can rent a bike for $2.50 or for $12.00 for a day pass. You ride around town, and when you arrive at your destination, you park the bike back in one of these orange racks. These orange racks can be found all over town! I thought it was pretty neat that even as a tourist, we could do our share in reducing our carbon footprint.

IMG_1168.JPG

Here I am with my orange Nike bike! It was pretty challenging riding up the hills of Portland, but I still had a blast doing it. We managed to visit three different parts of town on bike.

IMG_1188.JPG

If you are ever in Portland, you should totally try out these bikes. I do have to admit that the bikes are quite heavy and not aerodynamic, so you will not be peddling very fast. Nonetheless, you will still have a lot of fun! All you have to do is download the app, Biketown on your phone, and you can pay for the bike online.

Thanks for reading!



IMG_0977.JPG
If you want to support my art, please check out my coloring book for adults called "Life of the Wild" on Amazon.
love,
Karen

Sort:  

You can rent bikes in Thailand and Indonesia as well- but it's so weird because I don't think they care about the environment for the most part :(. I'm with you- that's one of the things I LOVE about Portland!

Indonesia beautifull country some place very beautifull brobudur, jatim park, air terjun toroan, bukit cinta, bukit kapur, gili labak etc you can try it

I see and i read your post i like it give me some good idea so i follow you dear. Thank you very much your travel and your photo very good

You two are so cute! Looks like Portland has a good Community bike program! More updates please. Plus Canadians need @teamsteem getting the word out here!

This is good idea friend. Keep smile and keep smile

I tried those tourist bikes once..boy I was happy to get back on my own carbon fiber one. It's like driving a brick.

Ohhh we have those here too! But they are like a smaller company called Biki! I feel like being able to bike around town is a much greener alternative. Good for you :D

Oh that is much fun when you bike with a friend but if the bike is heavy and cumbersome it get s tiring LOL.
It has been years since I have rode a bike and I miss those days dearly.

Haha glad it wasn’t like the time mom rented the bike, and couldn’t bike lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94