On my way to the Norwegian mountains - and my last glimpse of sun in 2017

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Today was probably the last I'll see of the sun in 2017. That's because I'm on my way north of the polar circle, which means the sun is gone all winter. You can read about me quitting my job and moving to the mountains here! I guess there are some good things about it being dark all of the time, like I wont need to wear makeup and .. hmm .. Can't really think of any more benefits, but; I will get to see the Northern Lights! I've only seen pictures of it, and it looks absolutely stunning (google it!). Oh, and during the summer there's midnight sun, which means it's sunny all day and night. I'm already excited about that period when the sun slowly returns (from wherever it's been) – rumors has it people run outside to inhale the sunbeams. But OK, first a couple of months of darkness ...


Pretty nice view to wake up to.

We are taking a ferry, Hurtigruten, up north, and the one we are on is called Trollfjord, which is a fjord close to where I'm going to live. See some pretty cool photos of Trollfjorden on this post!

Met this little fella on our first stop.

This morning we arrived Ålesund, where we got to spend three hours before heading to Trondheim. Last night was a bit rough and at some point I felt like the waves was going to throw me out of bed, but luckily, no motion sickness yet. Fingers crossed it will stay like that.

I'm traveling with my friend of many, many years, Line. On board there's us, and a lot of old and married couples.

They've decorated the boat, so, Merry Christmas from two travelers :)

/Karianne :)

Sort:  

Hello Karianne, welcome to the north with beautifu dark an cold days. Have you remembered to bring thick woolen clothes? 😊❄️

Hi! Believe me; wool is packed :) Arriving late Wednesday - can't wait :) :)

Looking forward for your next post :)

First, I wish you two a Merry Xmas too! :) To see the northern light is one on my bucket list. My curiosity about it arose when I saw it in one of the travel documentaries on National Geographic. The natural stunning colored lights of the northern lights really amazed me. I hope you can post a blog solely about it. You guys take care on your destination. Great travel post. Keep it up!

I will for sure post about Northern Lights! I'm stoked to see it. I hope that you one day get to tick that off your bucket list ;) And thanks for your kind words. Best, K :)

Looks like you two are having a lot of fun (Snapchat).
I'm gonna miss you both.

We just went out from our cabin to socialize, but came right back "home" to chill out instead ... Oh, that ferry life <3

Congratulations @kariofthenorth, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3856 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1706.56. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87