When I went to Jamaica and fell in love ...

in #travel6 years ago

... with the island, that is. Never-ever have I been to a place that's different in so many ways from what I'm used to, and at the same time felt at home from day one. The people, atmosphere, food, colors, parties, beaches - everything was totally down my alley. I had heard a lot about crime and that we had to be super careful and don't trust anyone, but not once did I feel unsafe, and people was always helpful and kind.

@susanne, @laivi, two other girls and me went to Negril in March 2016, and I still think about the good times we had. I was actually heartbroken when I got home. I didn't want to leave, and going back to work was not cool. I simply just love enjoying life; hanging out on a beach, drinking beer all day (not everyday, though) and not having to rush to anything. Just like this:


Here's me on the first day, enjoying life. And beer.

My Facebook status from the day I went home was that I was totally amazed by the Jamaicans. Being born and raised in Norway, I'm totally aware of how lucky I am, and that challenges I've had in my life, can't compare to what people around the world are facing. But what struck me with the Jamaicans was that they seemed like they were all in a happy place (weed can have some impact here, but still ...) which again shows that it doesn't really matter how much money you have, or how big your house is or how fancy car you're driving. The more we have the more we want, and that's not equal with happiness.

Next I want to go to Costa Rica or Cuba. Any tips?

Here's a few pictures from our trip.

/Karianne

Sort:  

Congratulations @kariofthenorth, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 4006 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1909.46. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Jamaica is awesome, i always wanted to go there

You should! It's super nice!! :)

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed our island, Negril is my home town and it make me feel proud to know you guys loved it,, and i hope you come back to this paradise soon, i followed and resteem this post

Jamaica is such a beautiful place. I've been lucky enough to visit there three times over the years. It was my favorite place until 2012 when I visited Roatan, Honduras for the first time. Roatan is the island I fell in love with. I actually wrote a post similar to yours titled "Where I Belong". It's an undescribable feeling to find a place that calls to you and makes you feel so at home.

I just saw your post, and it looks amazing! Maybe that should get on my list as well :) What's it like there, compared to Jamaica? :)

It's a much smaller island. Our first visit was a cruise stop for a day and we explored the whole place (with a private tour guide). We loved it so much that we booked a weeklong stay for the following year.

There aren't many hotels. Instead, there are condos and houses to rent. We chose a house as you probably seen in my post.

The snorkeling is AMAZING there. We went to a different spot everyday.

It's been a while since I was last in Jamaica, but when I was there, leaving the resort areas wasn't recommend and some places felt very unsafe. We never felt unsafe in Roatan.

The people are absolutely amazing as well.

😍😍😍 looks amazing. Definitely on my bucketlist. People feel homesick when theyre away. I feel sick when i get home😂

Hahah, that's so true!! Nicely said :D

Jamaica is somewhere I've always wanted to go. Been to the Dominican Republic and Mexico and my in laws have been but never had the opportunity. The photos look so nice and makes me want to even more.

I highly recommend it!! So tropical and nice :) I absolutely loved it there :)

What a wonderful life you have :)
enjoy it.

I’m trying to make the most of it :)

looks like you had a blast and need to get back their to those time ASAP! also, beers! :)

I agree, if you’ve seen my previous posts I’m currently in winter wonderland, so beach and beers are only in my dreams ;)

Cool story! I'd love to visit Jamaica too someday, sounds amazing!

We're both 30 years old by the way, and from Europe. I recently finished a project around the topic of women of 30, I might share this soon(ish), maybe you're interested!

Would love to see more travel posts from you!

Cheers!

Please share! I just read your introduction post and I really look forward to following you. What a story you got there! So sorry about your foot, but amazing that you’ve found the strength to keep going. Best, K. :)

Thanks for your kind words! I'll certainly post the series once I've gotten the hang of Steemit a bit more :D In the #experimental phase for now!

That looks so much fun. Definitely miss the beer and beach combination.. Your pictures show you had a blast. And to top it being surrounded by happy people is so much nicer!!!

I know! Happy people in a happy place; best combination :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87