Freewrite in Las Vegas!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemit! Myself, @guthrie and @vermillionfox are unexpectedly spending an extra day in Vegas. Due to an oversight […on my part], our departing flight, a red eye, leaves tonight at 11:59p.m. Last night, all three of us took a shuttle from the hotel, to the airport. We stood, dumbfounded. No one at the ticket counter for our airline. I looked over departing flights and didn’t see anything for Minneapolis. That’s when it started to sink in. I cringed as I looked at our flight itinerary, seeing a departure at 11:59p.m. on August 13th, with an arrival of Tuesday, August 14th. Lame.

We were all really excited to get home, @vermillionfox more than any of us. We’ve been on the road for almost a month straight. Two big trips, back to back. East coast to west coast and back. I had to extend our hotel stay by another day […at quite a premium], but I have to say, as I’m sitting here writing this, it’s not so bad. More than anything, I’ve just wanted time to write, edit and draw. We’re without a car since we returned our rental car yesterday, so I won’t have much choice but to do all of those things. @guthrie has been reveling in his lazy days, so this is just another to enjoy.

Vegas has been a lot of fun. I had four shoots, but they were stacked over two days. Those two days were intense, but the rest of the time has been pretty low key. I’ve gotten to see friends, edit a few photos during the down times, and share some incredible food with my family. Food is always one of the highlights when I’m traveling, especially with @vermillionfox. Couples all have their own love languages and there are few times that she looks more in love with me than when I take her out for Korean BBQ or something equally delicious.

One of my shoots was with Midnight Suicide. We started chatting through Instagram. She’s wildly Instafamous […if that’s still a term kids are using]. She’s outside of my typical genre of model. Not pinup or vintage, and that was refreshing. We shot some sexy Instax film which was a first for me, in addition to everything with my Nikon D750. Later that same day, me, @vermillionfox and @guthrie met up with my best friend, @vintagevandalizm. We shot at a tranquil location on the Colorado River. As always, @vintagevandalizm killed it. I can’t wait to edit these photos.

While we were by the water, @guthrie asked to take some pictures with my camera. It’s odd how comfortable I am with him holding my $3000 camera. Not only because of it’s value monetarily, but because our entire livelihood is dependent on it. Even when he was four years old, I’d let him walk around with it, clutching it in his little chubby fingers. Maybe because I’m overcome with happiness seeing him take interest in photography. He shot this beautiful landscape of the sunset himself. Proud dad, for sure.

All in all, it’s been a great time. @vermillionfox and I even found time to sneak away and take a few cute poolside photos to document her new fashion purchases at Buffalo Exchange […seen at the top]. That’s a quick free write during our last day here in Las Vegas. I’m looking forward to spending the rest of the day drawing and editing. I’m going to make the most of this unexpected situation while I anticipate finally getting back to Minnesota. Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and life from the road, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Is that Korean BBQ pic from Guy Kaku?? Love that place!!!

well done my dear friend, very nice article.

Too bad @vintagevandalizm isn’t more active at Steemit… But at least we can see her on your classy photos, @kommienezuspadt :)

@kommienezuspadt, Oh, missing an flight gives real pain, not only flight whenever we miss anything in life then we regret about that aspects for sure. And when we miss something then it irritates us.

But in my opinion, what i liked in this post is, as you said after missing the flight you felt bad but you've found the opportunity and time for the Steemit Post and in my opinion that's really important means, if we face something negative we have to redirect towards something positive aspect.

And for sure Vegas is awesome place, I've never travelled and never had an plane journey but one day i will try to visit Vegas because it's the place of magical and lively life, so exploring that lively environment will be great experience for sure.

For sure, it's reflecting as you are exploring the natural place, and in my opinion nature always give the essence of pure natural essence and nature always hold so many aspects for sure which can heal us.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Hello @kommienezuspadt ,

We upped your post because we find it good. You contribute well to the Steem community. Please join our Discord here:

https://discord.gg/pBnxNgV

Best,

Members Of ADSactly

Gorgeous pics as always. Happy drawing too!

Love the captures, I always find that photo shoots are often stacked together and intense in my life also, but what a thrill it is to sit down with loads of new photos to share, at the end of the day!

aaah something similar i can relate with!.... i had a 00:10 flight on a day and it did my head in that i had to go to the airport on the previous day to check in 2 hours ahead of the international flight .....

hahaha

bonkers~ bonkers~

love your posts, as always, and amazing that you are at complete ease with @guthrie handling your $3000 camera. that's a grand show of confidence and trust right there. amazing bond <3

also korean bbq is god tier food so i completely empathize with @vermillionfox here hahaha :D

I am hoping you tried Kabuto Korean BBQ in Vegas. So good that you have to drone fly it, snap a photo, and save it under your pillow for when you get hungry. Korean BBQ so good, that the sudden thought of those thin juicy pieces of meat hitting a bed of fresh lettuce make you stand up, sit down, get on your computer, get an airline ticket (paid in crypto), get right to Vegas and zoom zoom zoom to Kabuto! @kommienezuspadt @vermillionfox

korean-bbq.jpg

At least all of you got to enjoy one more day of holiday, though I guess after a month on the road, the thought of home would be so sweet and wonderful.

Hmm at least you got to enjoy another Korean BBQ? My family is also crazy about them too, which is strange because a few years ago they were more into Japanese food.

I wish you all a safe trip back home :).

Thanks, @scrawly! Yeah. I think we all had the wind knocked out of us when we realized we weren't going home. This trip has been SO long. Once we had a night to sleep, though, it wasn't too bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15