Los Angeles freewrite and my new Kindle Paperwhite!

in #travel5 years ago

I’m on a plane. Always on a plane it seems. Flying to Los Angeles for a week before making the drive to Vegas for Viva Las Vegas Rockabilly Weekend next Monday. It seemed like a good time for a free write. I’m flying over Nebraska, so really, what else am I going to do? Freewrites are one of my favorite byproducts of the ever growing Steemit culture. @eveuncovered, @anomadsoul, @travelgirl, @ramengirl, @rea, @world-traveler-pro and @waybeyondpadthai freewrites [...and @dtube videos]. Not just the romantic and exotic moments, but the “perception” and “reality”. When @anomadsoul writes from the back of a smell van or @eveuncovered first realized that you can’t flush toilet paper in Mexico.

I’m currently flying over the Grand Canyon. It’s a sliver lining. This has been one of the roughest flights of my life. I’ve gone off with my irrational fear of flying in every Steemit blog that involves traveling, but I’m currently trying to breath, loosen my jaw and get my resting heart rate below 140 bpm. Seeing the Grand Canyon on such a clear day, from 36,000 feet, is a beautiful sight. I’m feeling the travel fatigue now. I only slept three hours last night. I can’t believe I used to book a shoot [sometimes two] immediately after I’d land in a city. I also used to have to fly Spirit or budget airlines every trip. It’s not much, but I’m happy I’m at a point in my career that I can afford flights with WiFi, bigger seats, that allow me to bring a carry on.

Freelancers all live by the “feast or famine” mantra. I am, fortunately, right now, in the throes of the “feast” wave and after a year long bear market and slow bookings since November, it feels nice. It’s not a “2017 carefree lifestyle”, but the pressure is easing. Bitcoin just went over $5,300 briefly, and STEEM is holding above $0.50, which appears to be a crucial resistance level as @exyle talked about in one of his recent VLOG’s. With the momentum moving in a positive direction, I decided to take some profits for the first time in while. I bought myself something […not food, bills or @guthrie related]. I bought a new Kindle Paperwhite, and it’s amazing.

Packing my bag for this trip, the first worldness here is real. I packed my MacBook Pro, my iPhone, my Wacom Intuos, my iPad Pro and my tiny Kindle. So many screens; do I really need one more? @vermillionfox ridiculed me […which is fair], the the recent crypto gains were burning a whole in my pocket, but I have to say, I love this thing! @ghostfish and @mada both published novels and I’ve been reading them on my new Kindle. Multiple screens are redundant, but there’s something about this thing that makes me want to read. Even on this flight, I’m reading Junji Ito’s Uzumaki […much to the displeasure of the little old lady next to me].

For the first few days of this trip, things should be relatively calm. I have a few shoots and a wedding consultation, but the real madness isn’t happening until I leave for Vegas next week. I’m going to try and make time to focus on creative projects, like @coppercoins and other horror with @ghostfish. I have some editing to do and of course, friends to see like @mtbmondo and @thomaskuntzart. It’s a pretty evenly balanced trip between recreation and making money. Thanks for reading and staying with me through this freewrite. For more photography, art, illustration and thoughts on life from the road, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

When I look at a city from the airplane's window I get amazed that how our houses and buildings together look like just a an organism spreading throughout the earth's fields. :)

It is a truly incredible sight.
and never leave your paperwhite.
He serves for a bit of relaxation, it's an incredible journey accompanied by a reading that I find interesting, I really like manga and anime, what you read looks good, I'll look for it.

Freewrite is incredible.

Junji Ito is awesome, especially the Uzumaki series <3.

I'm quite surprised that you bought Kindle tbh, once I have an iPad, I've never looked back.

Yeah, I'm surprised, too, @scrawly. They're really hard to compare. The Kindle Paperwhite is waterproof and I kept seeing myself in a fancy bath with Lush bathbombs, reading comics while relaxing. I almost bought one months ago, but cancelled the order before it shipped. I'm so glad I did. I love it. The pitch about it being easier on your eyes is 100% true. I can look at it and read for hours. Junji Ito is the only manga I read, but you can read all comics you buy on Amazon. I have Kindle Unlimited as well and it's a killer combination.

Ahh yeah, if it helps your eyes then it's definitely worth it. It doesn't change anything for me, but then again I have strange eyes that get tired faster when drawing in real than in digital.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I’m on a plane. Always on a plane it seems.

Hope you stay out of Boeing 737 Max, @kommienezuspadt ;)

I've always wanted a Kindle Paperwhite, but I've never actually pulled the trigger and bought one. I'll get one eventually. I want to encourage myself to read more books. Tablets are better for watching movies and playing dumb games.

@geekpowered, I really love this thing. As I mentioned above, I ordered one, then before it shipped, canceled it. It was an impulse buy and an impulse cancellation. Once the crypto-market began to slightly recover, and my big photography trip of the year came closer, I decided to do it. Absolutely no regrets. I'm re-reading Sandman and just bought and started American Gods.

If they ever end up coming out with the technology to do more colors and I can read comics on them, it's gonna be a lot harder to resist buying a brand new fancy one.

What sucks is that a lot of books aren't necessarily that much cheaper in digital form. Some are...but many are around the same price. In those cases, I kinda do like having a physical copy that I can put on a shelf, even if I only read it once.

I should probably just go to the library more and buy one when crypto recovers more.

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Congratulations @kommienezuspadt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09