The county fair has eyes!

in #travel5 years ago

Good morning, Steemit! It’s bright and early. I just dropped @guthrie off at school and I’m sitting in my favorite booth at @caffetto. They haven’t stopped rearranging the seats since I’ve been gone. I constantly feel like Sheldon Cooper with my preference for chairs […I have one that’s idea for work and one that’s ideal for playing Magic]. This is all some kind of social stress test to see where my threshold for change actually is. Seating not withstanding, I’m here and I’m trying to get back to some semblance of a routine before leaving for LA in just a week and a half.

My plan of attack for today includes picking up where I left off with yesterday’s blog about career sustainability. Before I get deep in to the editing […of which there is lots], I want to spend time mapping out a two prong strategy for reclaiming my independence as a photographer and creator. I see a mass exodus happening on Instagram as people are finally fed up with being shadow banned. Secondly, I want to build my foundation for a transition to a career in comics, and do it with intent. Most of today will be establishing that infrastructure, then to some editing.

Today’s blog, though, is just an account of the terrifying journey @vermillionfox and I made in hopes of being good parents. On our way to Symco, WI for a Dark Pinup book signing with @wcpublishing, we passed a county fair with lit up rides. @guthrie was enamored and asked if we could stop there. Sadly, because of our time constraints, we weren’t able to, but he persisted and I said “…maybe on the way home.”. He kept me honest, and on our way back to Minnesota on Sunday, we charted a course for this small town fair so @guthrie could enjoy the tilt-a-whirl.

The fair itself, was terrifying for @vermillionfox and I. After paying $10 to get in, we were greeted with “Trump 2020” banners and confederate flags. The tone was set early. @guthrie first dove in to a mirror house that looked like it was straight out of Captain Spaulding’s “Fried Chicken and Gasoline” store. The carnies were of exceptional stock, even for carnies, one of which got in to an argument with @vermillionfox when she told @guthrie “…you have to be careful on that slide or you’ll fall and bust your face”. He was apparently the OSHA representative on hand.

Almost immediately, we were whispering “…I want to get the fuck out of here.”, but @guthrie was having the time of his life, getting as much mileage out of his $20 free rides wristband. He hit the motorcycles, tilt-a-whirl, clown house, merry-go-round carousel and tornado, which we were surprised the carnie allowed @vermillionfox and I to join our son. I tried to ignore the duct tape holding our seats together. It was an experience, but @guthrie said it was his favorite part of the trip. Mission accomplished, I guess. And so we survived rural Wisconsin.

Sort:  

The kiddo had a time of his life it seems!
kids don't give a damn, they just do what they want without caring about people around them, we gotta get some of it back! <3

Omg sounds scary af lol
Glad the little one had fun❤️

Oof...I can no longer do the spinny rides. Last time it knocked my whole equilibrium off for a day and I felt like I was walking on a slant while trying to not up chuck all over kids. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello Lars, how are you doing? Wow ... it would be nice to take a walk to the fair with @guthrie and your wife. I see @guthrie looking very happy enjoying all the games. He is a very cute kid. You're lucky to have him, Lars. Everyone must work for his life. I think you will return to your work routine. I wish you success with your work. Have a nice day, sir.

Just seeing all those thing that spin makes me feel sick! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

@guthrie looked like he was having a smashing time :D well done on doing parenty thing! tis hard job, parenting and often, under-appreciated.

the photos are great, and i love the narration too, as usual, you drew me straight into your day, so vividly and with such ease!

good luck with structuring your future, Lars :D i think i probably need to do the same, but it's so hard to find time with a permanent full time corporate grind always eating up everything (both time and energy) from me...

i've got like more than 4 weeks annual leave banked, and ironically, NO TIME to take 'em :\

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02