Authentic Beijing duck (photo from Beijing)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey my dear steemit friends,

It's weekend again! I was in Beijing a while back and had some really awesome food there and I would love to share you!

前段时间在北京,终于吃上了正宗的北京烤鸭了!

Food

This is how the whole duck looks like!

烤鸭本尊

IMG_1458.jpg

This is how it looks like after cutting.

被分解后的烤鸭

IMG_1459.jpg

You are supposed to wrap the roasted duck in thin pancake with veggies like cucumber. Ate too fast and forgot to take a picture lol. Following is what I find from web:

吃太快忘记拍照了。。。 网上找了张效果图


Image Credit

We also tried some appetizers! Spicy beef tripe.

这个忘记名字了,英文是yy的 :D

IMG_1455.jpg

Sweet potato in "Majiang" Style. Sooooo cute!

做成麻将的类似甜薯的食物,这个味道很不错。

IMG_1456.jpg

Spicy and tasty cabbage.

手撕包菜,赞!

IMG_1457.jpg

Summary

If you only tried Beijing duck in US or western countries, I would highly recommend you visit Beijing and try the authentic ones. They are totally different!! Much more juicy while crispy!

I am considering to write a post with some New York Michelin Star restaurants. Let me know if you are interested :-)

Thank you for reading. Your comment, upvote, and resteem are my biggest motivation to post :-)

谢谢您花时间看这篇帖子。您的点赞评论和转发是我持续发帖的动力 :-)

Please follow me https://steemit.com/@leftbank !

请关注我:https://steemit.com/@leftbank

You might also like following:
https://steemit.com/photo/@leftbank/a-cute-flower-shop-in-manhattan-s-east-village
https://steemit.com/life/@leftbank/pic-of-day-3-21-2018
https://steemit.com/food/@leftbank/pic-of-day-3-20-2018

Sort:  

Please leave me a comment and share your thoughts!

I will read every comment, and I will upvote the 5 post I like most (after ~48 hours) with 20% voting power :-) That's essentially 0.15 ~ 0.2 SBD.

Thanks everyone for the awesome comment! I ended up upvoted ~8 of them, enjoy :-)

I'm pretty new to Steemit, so I'm exploring right now. I aspire to a digital nomad lifestyle, I really enjoy Asian food, I really enjoyed cooking a duck for the first time last year, and I'd really appreciate the voting boost!

anarcho_capitalism_wallpaper_by_appriweb-d5xfm41.jpg

thanks and good luck in steemit!

맛있곘군요.강추 합니다.

okay give me back upvote i will give you

FollowBack every day 100%

hmmm , nice comment hhhhh

Good post, follow me and I follow you,【 ✔ 】RESTEEM BOT: Send 1 SBD or 2 STEEM To franklin001233 URL as Memo , Resteem to 14.000+ Followers ,%100 upvote,Upvote with min +45 accounts Upvotes Good lucky【 ✔ 】

哈哈,会玩儿

looks great i wish i could have

以前去北京也吃了正宗前门全聚德烤鸭,不知道为什么就是爱不起来。但是好喜欢北京这座城市啊:)

These pictures take me back to the 5 happy years I spent living in China! I love the sweet potato majiang - i've never seen that in a Chinese restaurant before.
I remember that in the little shop I would go to to buy roast duck they would give you absolutely every last bit of the animal, bones and all should you wish to use it for stock. Something that we could learn from the Chinese over here in the West is to be more adverse to wasting food as it is a big problem in the UK.
This looks like quite an upmarket restaurant. If you haven't already, I'd highly recommend finding some of street restaurants in the hutongs. Meals of 烤羊肉 - the whole leg of lamb roasted over a bed of coals at the same table you sit at and 烤鱼 - the whole roast fish served in a single dish piled high with vegetables are probably some of the most memorable in my whole time in China. Those kind of restaurants are especially nice in the evening once the weather gets a bit warmer as you can enjoy your food outside while watching the world go by.
I'm going to have to get some food as looking and your pictures and reminiscing has made me very hungry!

haha thanks for your comment! yeah 烤羊肉 and 烤鱼 are both awesome!!

your chinglish is very diao!

现在还躺在床上的我,看着口水都来了……😂

I love reading about your experiences in Beijing! I studied Mandarin at my university, and I'm trying to keep up with it. Reading your post in English and Mandarin is a big opportunity for me to stay on top of my practice. All the best from the US :)

thanks :-)

I am a bit free style when I wrote it in Chinese tho, so would like to warm you it's not necessary one to one mapping...

Well I certainly appreciate the warning. That's probably a better challenge for me anyway. Any free time to help me converse in Mandarin?

你有空闲时间来帮我在普通话上交谈吗?Let me know if this is at all legible..

Peking duck is a very delicious dish. Welcome foreign friends to taste.
Chinese food is rich and varied. After you eat Beijing Roast Duck, do you want to taste Huangshan stewed pigeons?201612301822195400.jpg
Huangshan stewed pigeons are stewed from Huangshan's unique vegetable pigeons and Huangshan's unique yams through special stewing methods. They are fresh and refreshing, have a light stomach, and have high nutritional value. It nourishes the body and is easy to digest. It is suitable for both elderly and young people. It has brain-boosting effect and enhances brain memory.

Nice post i must say!
I guess i'll add Beijing to my list of places i'd love to visit. I'll also love to have a taste of the awesome food you ate during your stay in Beijing as everything in this post looks amazing.
Also, I'm interested in your next post with some New York Michelin Star restaurants. Let me know when it is ready to be published

I had a business travel to Beijing and Shanghai Last summer. It was my first travel to China and I was so worry about foods. My friend, who has not any travel to China asked me that I MUST try duck. I was guest of a prestigious company and I had delicious foods day and night. Unforgettable lunch was in a restaurant in heart of Beijing, that is most famous for duck. I am interested to know name of this restaurant but ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97