A few not-so-obvious things to bring on your move to China

in #travel5 years ago

In no particular order...

Headphones

I came to China with two sets of headphones, one set for running and one set of earbuds. My crucial mistake was overlooking how hot it is in Xiamen and how much sweat any sort of cardio exercise would induce. My running pair shorted out before the peak of summer even hit. My earbuds followed soon after. In the months that followed I purchased more than a dozen sets of earbuds. Several went the way of their predecessors, but most fell apart or just stopped working well before that. Even those I did not use while I was running could not survive a month of casual use. The quality of the earbuds I have found in Xiamen has been remarkably low while the price is about what one would expect to find in a US Walmart. Next time, I am going to stock up on quality headphones and bring ten or twelve sets with me. Even if they go unused during the time abroad – who doesn’t need a pair of backup headphones?

Water filter

Tap water across China contains high levels of biological contaminants and heavy metals. A reverse osmosis system is the only way to get both types of toxins out of your water. Regular ten and twelve-step systems remove most of the biological contaminants. Initially, I ordered one RO system for my kitchen sink but was not able to find anyone who knew how to install it. I ended up using a twelve-step system for my shower and my sink. The Chinese digital delivery systems (TaoBao, Alibaba, etc.) are full of fake products and I wanted to be sure that the filters were effective. I ended up ordering the filters over Amazon and shipping them to a friend back in the States, so they could mail them to me. This took a large amount of time and money. You will save yourself a lot of hassle, not just finding filters but also lugging gallon water jugs up to your apartment, by coming prepared. I recommend trying to find an RO system in the US that you are able to learn how to install yourself, as well as a shower filter that will fit onto a retractable shower head.

DSC_5730.JPG
A drainage system in Kanding, Shichuan. July 2018.

DSC_5219.JPG
It is a whole new experience to spend time at a beach and not be able to swim. Xiamen, Fujian. 2018

Mineral Make-up

Despite the impressive range of face scrubs, masks and creams, the idea of making make-up itself out of something that is good for your skin seems to have not yet caught on. Much of the Chinese make-up tends to make your skin look like a doll’s face, even if you can manage to find a shade that is a tint above eggshell white. This one may be easier to find in the bigger cities of Shanghai or Beijing (I didn’t look) but it is an easy fix to bring an extra bottle and powder just in case.

DSC_5663.jpg
Of course, not wearing makeup at all is another way to go. Kanding, Sichuan. July 2018

Chickpeas

While there are a host of Western restaurants – and great Mediterranean restaurants, at that – hummus proved ever elusive.

DSC_4841.JPG
A market in Fuzhou, Fujian. April 2018

Quinoa

I brought an industrial sized container of quinoa back to China with me after my first visit home. It was a fantastic decision. Quinoa is sold in the supermarkets – but typically in small quantities and at high prices. If you are a vegetarian, you’re going to need a personal stash of protein to depend on. If you are not, but love the stuff anyway, it may be worth it for your wallet to bring a bag along.

DSC_4202.JPG

If you are vegetarian - or a fan of healthy foods - I highly recommend findings yourself one of these "build-your-own-soup" places. (They have meat options as well - but it is one of the few places you an eat out and be sure that only veggies/grains/tofu are in your food!

DSC_4201.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @legalnomad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86