Mexico City Madness: Starting the Journey Part 2

in #travel6 years ago

The drive to Mexico City was arguably the best part. We drove through major cities Chilpancingo which is the capital of the state I live in, Guerrero and Cuernavava, Morelos which is one of several places known in Mexico as the "city of eternal spring". It's generally about 70 degrees and springtime temperatures there and in the surrounding areas we found.

Mexico has no shortage of mountains and that is one of my favourite features here.

These were speckled among the route, ramps filled with gravel there to stop cars and trucks with bad brakes. Something I never considered until I first ended up in a mountainous place is how hard the hills are on vehicles. It's not uncommon for brakes to go out especially on trucks so having these things around for them to stop safely without diving off the side of a cliff is nice.

I don't remember how many cable bridges like this we went over but there were several. We also went through tunnels of various types, something I had never even done in the United States. The first tunnel I remember going through has been in Mexico, fairly recently.

If you look in the centre you can see a monument a bit off the ways from the road.

Not a bad view, worth carting the camera around my neck for like 12 hours to share.

For some reason I'm always a fan of a lone cactus in a forest.

What I found interesting was even in the places that reminded me most of Southern Oregon there were cactus' to be found. I'm not sure there's really much of any part of Mexico that doesn't have even a few species around.

Every so often you could turn back if needed, obviously we kept on.

There's a handwritten sign in the corner of that government sign letting you know there's pollo asado ahead and considering there wasn't anything else around they were doing hungry people a big favor.

Cactus!

This was a short tunnel but what's cool is there was some sort of strucuture on top which likely has an incredible view, you can see it if you look closely in the next picture.

See it? It's between two dark green trees.

After Chilpancingo came Cuernavaca which we honestly didn't see much of. For reference, on the way home we broke down about a half hour outside of Cuernavaca headed towards Chilpancingo.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Mexico City Madness: Starting the Journey Part 1
Protecting You To Death: High Speed Motorcycle Chase Over Lack of Helmet
Stranded in the Middle of Mexico Over Silkie Chickens: Where I've Been for the Last Two Days (Preface to Epic Mexico City Story)

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Pizza Dough Cinnamon Twists
Living in the Clouds: Return of the Clouds 1
Acapulco Sunsets: Turning Pain into A Secret Weapon

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Awesome photos. I love mountain views.

Very cool! I have driven into Mexico, down to Mexico City (my sister in law is from there) and I love the sometimes arid surroundings and the lush greens with cactus!

Thank you for all the pictures! That was awesome!

Thanks for the comment, the mexican scenery is awesome.

That's the most rampy "ramp" I've seen in my life

They did a good job lol.

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like me, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74