Love's Epic Hostel Reviews Through Latin America: Guanico Surf Camp in Guanico Abajo, Panama

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I didn't go there to surf but to enjoy the beach.







The opportunity to work a few hours a week in exchange for a place to stay and food really appealed to me.







My experience on this beach was perfectly uneventful.







The world slowed down and time stood still.







Just to have the space to rest my mind and clear my head was an amazing gift I gave myself.





Surfcamp Guanicowas peaceful, relaxing and beautiful.


Guanico beaches are uncrowded, clean and the waves are great for beginner as well as intermediate surfers.



I am, however, the rare person who comes there
just to walk along the beach and listen to the waves.







Most everyone else comes to surf or to learn to surf.







They come from all over the world.


I met people there from the Congo to Switzerland to Michigan and many places in between.


After working there a couple weeks I began to tell the guests
who came for only one night "to see if they would like it"
that I will put them down for three nights.


Everyone loves it here and wants to stay longer and longer.







It's such a lazy laid-back little village that it just feels
so good and calming after being at a busy job in a big city.







Although I didn't come to surf I did however surf once during my stay and I still loved the beach.


There's lots of isolated beaches to hike and explore. If you're curious about surfing or have your own board then,


Come On!


You will love it!


Nic, the owner will give you surf lessons and get you started.
He's a very passionate teacher.


There are also fishing trips and other tours available.







Salmon is a pretty common fish to catch.




You can use the hostel's
Backpacker Kitchen
to cook your catch.











or ask the on staff chef to prepare it for you.


~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

There are three rooms upstairs facing
the beach and three facing the mountains.










If you deserve the best then I recommend you go with the Blue Room.







It has a spacious balcony overlooking the sea,
a private bathroom and
a fold out sofa for another bed.







Four adults could comfortably share the space.


There are two other rooms with a private
bath and two cheaper rooms with a shared bathroom.


he purple room is a big family room with 8 beds.


Lastly, the dorm is a great value on the first floor with shared bathroom facilities.



You can buy breakfast, coffee, beers







and cold beverages from the bar.






Dinner offered 6 nights a week.










It's always served family style,







sitting down to a long table all together at the same time.







It's a great time to get to know each and make human connection.


Have one more beer then walk across the little dusty road to the coast.







Listen to the crashing of the waves and look up to the vast expanse of stars splattered across the infinite black night.


Sit and reflect on how beautiful life is.


That's what I did every night during my 2 months at Surfcamp Guanico.


It was time well spent!


Highly recommended.







But, the truth is,
most everyone else was at the 24 hour cantina.







Frequently, my sweet life meditation
was shattered by the cantina's blasting,
cultural sounds of Reggaeton.



The neighboring overly loud music at times is about the only con.



So, yeah,
highly recommended.




~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-


Keep Following.


I got many more fun-believable experiences,


and amazing photography,


I'm serious!


My stories are continuously unfolding as
I continue my unique journey south.



Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...








Sort:  

Looks awesome and lots of photos. Well done.

I'm grateful for the feedback. Hugs.

Your photography is getting better and better--I imagine in direct alignment with your appreciation of your journey that keeps getting better and better. Nice post--beautiful place. Thanks for the taste @loveon.

This beach was a photographer's paradise. It was usually abandoned so had it all to myself. I'm super grateful to me for giving myself such a great gift.

There was always something to shoot, from beautiful birds and amazing sunsets.

You were teaching me even when you didn't know it.
Grateful for the Steemy reply.

It's really great how beautiful life shows itself and how blessed we are to experience and share it. Glad you're seeing life through some beautiful lenses. There's so much magic in the making!

"Steemy reply"--hahah cute!

Every day that went by I felt gratitude for the opportunity. Sometimes I shouted it out as loud as I could. I might as well, It's just me and the beautiful sea.

Whoo hoo! Beautiful Life!

Hugs, my beautiful sistuh!

Keep it Steemy.

And just to think....the best is yet to come! Divine Alignment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11