Hiking at Danube's Gorges in Romania

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Danube's Gorges a.k.a. Kazan Gorges is a 9 km (5.6 miles) long area where the Danube river squeezes through the Carpathian mountains, reaching depths close to 75 meters (246 ft) in certain areas and creating its most spectacular gorges.

IMG-20180727-WA0036.jpg

Danube's Gorges are part of the Iron Gates National Park, a place of great biological diversity. The Great Gorges have a length of 3.8 km (2.4 miles) and a width of 200-350 meters (656 to 1148 ft).

IMG-20180727-WA0040.jpg

As we entered the Iron Gates National Park, we chose one of the 15 marked tourist trails and started the climbing at a slow pace, given that we had a child with us and this was his first big hike.

I love hiking and I wish I could do it more often. I almost skipped this opportunity when I was told to be aware of snake bites. Given my history with snakes, I was one step away from not taking this hike. I am glad I did and that I was lucky not to cross paths with a snake or viper while climbing.

IMG-20180727-WA0035.jpg

I guess I was more worried about snakes than seeing a brown bear, a lynx or any other wild cats living there.

IMG-20180727-WA0033.jpg

At top of the mountain we had a few good panoramic viewpoints over the defile where we sat and had a twenty minutes rest and a well deserved snack.

IMG-20180727-WA0030.jpg

I was happy to have taken this hike. The views over the Danube's Gorges are truly magnificent!

IMG-20180727-WA0032.jpg

It was such a peaceful and energy filling experience to be in the unspoiled nature, listen to the birds, admire the variety of relief and insects.

IMG-20180727-WA0034.jpg

If you are already in the area visiting Decebalus' statue, then it's worth choosing any of the trails in the Iron Gates park.

I hope this post made you add Romania to your bucket list of countries to visit!

Here are other travel related posts:
DECEBALUS' CARVED STATUE, ORSOVA, ROMANIA

TRIP TO CALGARY, ALBERTA

BALCHIK, A BULGARIAN GEM

PIRATES TREASURE PLAYGROUND, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 2, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 1, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

GONDOLA RIDE IN MAMAIA RESORT, ROMANIA

CONSTANTA’S MARINA, ROMANIA

BEACH DAY IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BUBBLES - INDOOR PLAYGROUND IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

VISITING DAMARLI ESTATE IN BOQUETE, PANAMA

BAHIA DE PAQUERA, NICOYA GULF, COSTA RICA

EXPLORING AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS

MACKINAC BRIDGE, MICHIGAN, USA

CHASED BY TORNADOS IN MINNESOTA

MINNEHAHA FALLS REGIONAL PARK, A GEM IN BETWEEN THE TWIN CITIES

BANFF, A RESORT TOWN INSIDE THE BANFF NATIONAL PARK, ALBERTA, CANADA

OLD PORT OF CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

TEN FACTS OR MORE ABOUT BOQUETE, PANAMA

ENISALA FORTRESS, ROMANIA

MORAINE LAKE, A SURREAL BEAUTY IN ALEBERTA, CANADA

TIPS ON HOW TO MAKE A LIVING WHILE TRAVELLING THE WORLD

FEELING UNINSPIRED? VISIT A WELSH RETREAT: GLADSTONE’S RESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

TURDA’S 400 FEET UNDERGROUND AMUSEMENT PARK, A HIDDEN GEM OF TRANSYLVANIA, ROMANIA

MEMORIES FROM CANCUN, MEXICO

CARIBBEAN PARADISE: BOCAS DEL TORO

TOURING MONTREAL CITY, CANADA

BOQUETE’S FLOWERS AND COFFEE FESTIVAL, PANAMA

VISIT TO SAINT-JOSEPH’S ORATORY IN MONTREAL, CANADA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I would hike for any miles if the view is this amazing. I am glad you did it even with your fear of snakes.. I have a friend from Romania and now seeing the pictures of your hike and the last one I really wish to visit Romania one day..Added to my bucket list :)

I am glad I helped adding this beautiful country to your bucket list! It is totally worth a visit!

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Always a pleasure to read your post. :)
Thank you for sharing.

Nice to see you here! Thank you for your support!

Amazing scenery and views thanks for sharing

I thought it was worth sharing in here. My eyes loved it!

@lymepoet Ohh yes it was well worth sharing I am glad you did :)

the nature and the goodness that it gives us, I am a lover of the trips, without a doubt a great adventure

Nature is always amazing! I love seeing pristine locations like this one and charging my batteries!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lymepoet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hiking-at-danube-s-gorges-in-romania


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I'm the same of you, so scared of snakes. I always worry when I go hiking in summer and autumn.

Happy to hear that your fear does not prevent you from enjoying hiking!

Oh man.. Places like these just make you wanna close your eyes, take a deep breath, and forget about all your problems. For a while, at least.

That's precisely what I did. Closed my eyes, took a few deep breaths of unpolluted air and enjoyed life before going back to the world!

What so nice place, It looks amazing! your photos are amazing, I hope to visit this place some day.

Greetings from Venezuela!

Nice to hear from you! Thank you for stopping by! I hope one day to visit your beautiful Venezuela!

Oh 😍 beautiful place @lymepoet

Glad to hear you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25