PANAMA SERIES: DAY TRIP TO VOLCAN TO MEET WITH A STEEMIAN

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

During my last trip to Panama, I had the chance of meeting another fellow Steemian, a beautiful Steemit mama, @apanamamama. She's actually the third Steemian blogger that I got to meet in person this year.

DSC_0148.JPG
View over the Baru Volcano being covered by the clouds

Boquete and Volcan are two Panamanian small cities located on two different slopes of the volcano Baru. While I was in Boquete, she was in Volcan. Thus we decided to go see her in Volcan. We rented a car and drove from Boquete to Volcan.

DSC_0157.JPG
On the Boquete-David highway

Although we were in the rainy season, we got a beautiful sunny day.

DSC_0229.JPG
View of Cordillera de Talamanca and the Pacific Ocean

On the way to our destination we were able to see the Pacific Ocean in the distance.

DSC_0159.JPG
View of Cordillera de Talamanca and the Pacific Ocean

This was my third visit to this charming little city nested in the highlands of Chiriqui.

DSC_0232.JPG
View of Cordillera de Talamanca and the Pacific Ocean

Unlike Boquete, where you get a feeling of the crowd as everything is condensed in a small valley, Volcan is a large plateau located in the Tierras Altas district (Highlands) where the population density is lower.

DSC_0180.JPG
Pastures in Potrerillos

As we got closer to Potrerillos, I noted that all of the lots were not having the for sale banner anymore. I won't be surprised to see a new residential complex for foreigners coming up.

DSC_0211.JPG
Highlands of the Chiriqui province (Tierras Altas)

The area looks beautiful! The road from Boquete to Volcan offers many scenic views.

DSC_0364.JPG

We even saw two small waterfalls on the way, not too far from each other.

DSC_0218.jpg

DSC_0219.jpg

In these areas, you need to stop the car, admire the rolling green slopes and take it all in!

DSC_0349.JPG

You could never get bored looking at these majestic landscapes.

DSC_0341.JPG

Watching the sun and the clouds casting shadows on the slopes was delightful.

DSC_0225.JPG

As you start climbing, the road snakes more through the mountains bringing more amazing views.

DSC_0217.JPG

Once we reached the Cordillera I noted there was a small dam and I stopped to have a look and take some pictures.

DSC_0242.jpg

To my surprise, right next to it, I discover a narrow canyon which I would have totally missed otherwise.

DSC_0240.jpg

Its depth made me shiver and grab on the side of the metal bar. It must have had about 40 to 50 ft deep.

DSC_0239.jpg

The photos just do not do justice to this place!

DSC_0238.JPG

On the other side of the rode, I found a less steeper slope and got closer to the river where I got a few shots.

DSC_0252.JPG

On the way back to the car, I met these children who were returning from school on their own.

DSC_0266.JPG

This is not a very uncommon practice in any of the poor countries where kids' access to education is not that easy. They told me that somedays they take the bus, but that day they had no money for the bus.

DSC_0271.JPG

A few more kilometers down the road, right before reaching Volcan we saw this veggies stand where they were selling puercas, a big bag filled with locally grown vegetables, at a much lower cost than any market.

DSC_0273.JPG

As we passed through Volcan's gate, the clouds started to roll in faster as it was close to noon.

DSC_0275.JPG

While we were looking for our destination, Tres Rios restaurant, I saw this Tierras Altas landmark which wasn't there during my previous visit.

DSC_0277.JPG

Five minutes later we reached Tres Rios and met with @apanamamama and one of my old friends, A. They happened to know each other well. A reminder that we live in a small world!

DSC_0336.JPG

Tres Rios was a great place to meet as it had a fabulous garden where the kids had plenty of space to run around and play.

DSC_0279.JPG

There was even a river crossing the property with a small bridge and a playground. Couldn't have asked for more!

DSC_0278.jpg

Needless to add that the river was the main attraction for the kids!

DSC_0311.jpg

They collected a bunch of river mussels as you can see in the photos below.

DSC_0327.JPG

Since they had nothing to put them in, they improvised! Don't you just love kids' creativity?

DSC_0329.JPG

Apparently getting the mussels required some snorkelling too! Not an easy task!

DSC_0332.JPG

Do I need to add they had a blast? You can see it for yourself! They even went fishing!

DSC_0306.JPG

While the kids were busy playing, I had some time to chat a bit about Steemit and get to know more @apanamamama and catch up with my friend A. that I hadn't seen in almost two years.

DSC_0302.jpg

Both of these two incredible moms left me in awe when it came to their parenting skills and their ability to raise such beautiful, smart and brave children.

DSC_0333.JPG

It was a sublime Sunday that we spent in Volcan. Driving all the way there to meet @apanamama was totally worth! She's such an amazing mom and woman!

DSC_0282.jpg

Plus, the restaurant's garden felt like we were in paradise! Among the multitude of plants and flowers growing in there, I was happy to discover Dr. Zeuss' truffula trees.

DSC_0283.JPG

I haven't seen these plants anywhere else. I don't know how they are called, but I find them gorgeous!

DSC_0300.JPG

Thank you for coming along with me in this day trip!


Here are other travel related posts:

PANAMA SERIES: HACIENDA LOS MOLINOS

PLACE DES ARTS, MONTREAL

OTTAWA DAY TRIP

PANAMA SERIES: PANAMA CITY’S SKYLINE AT NIGHT

PANAMA SERIES: THE GRINGO PRICE

PANAMA SERIES: STREET ART

PANAMA SERIES: TEN FACTS OR MORE ABOUT BOQUETE, PANAMA

PANAMA SERIES: BOQUETE’S FLOWERS AND COFFEE FESTIVAL

PANAMA SERIES: VISITING DAMARLI ESTATE IN BOQUETE

PANAMA SERIES: CARIBBEAN PARADISE - BOCAS DEL TORO

ECUADOR SERIES: OTAVALO, THE ARTISAN MARKET MECCA

ECUADOR SERIES: COTACACHI, THE CITY BETWEN TWO VOLCANOS

ECUADOR SERIES - DUE DILIGENCE TRIP

ECUADOR SERIES: TIPS FOR TRAVELLING TO ECUADOR

HIKING IN MONT-ROYAL PARK, MONTREAL

ZUMMER FUN BUS RIDE IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

F-MR STATION IN MONTREAL

THE STONEHENGE OF ROMANIA: SARMIZEGETUSA REGIA

LAURENTIANS MOUNTAINS: COTTAGE TRIP AT LAKE CACHÉE

OTTAWA LIGHTS SHOW ON PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

HIKING AT DANUBE’S GORGES, ORSOVA, ROMANIA

DECEBALUS CARVED STATUE, ROMANIA

TRIP TO CALGARY, ALBERTA

BALCHIK, A BULGARIAN GEM

PIRATES TREASURE PLAYGROUND, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 2, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 1, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

GONDOLA RIDE IN MAMAIA RESORT, ROMANIA

CONSTANTA’S MARINA, ROMANIA

BEACH DAY IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BUBBLES - INDOOR PLAYGROUND IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BAHIA DE PAQUERA, NICOYA GULF, COSTA RICA

EXPLORING AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS

MACKINAC BRIDGE, MICHIGAN, USA

CHASED BY TORNADOS IN MINNESOTA

MINNEHAHA FALLS REGIONAL PARK, A GEM IN BETWEEN THE TWIN CITIES

BANFF, A RESORT TOWN INSIDE THE BANFF NATIONAL PARK, ALBERTA, CANADA

OLD PORT OF CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

ENISALA FORTRESS, ROMANIA

MORAINE LAKE, A SURREAL BEAUTY IN ALBERTA, CANADA

TIPS ON HOW TO MAKE A LIVING WHILE TRAVELLING THE WORLD

FEELING UNINSPIRED? VISIT A WELSH RETREAT: GLADSTONE’S RESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

TURDA’S 400 FEET UNDERGROUND AMUSEMENT PARK, A HIDDEN GEM OF TRANSYLVANIA, ROMANIA

MEMORIES FROM CANCUN, MEXICO

TOURING MONTREAL CITY, CANADA

VISIT TO SAINT-JOSEPH’S ORATORY IN MONTREAL, CANADA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.


Here are other travel related posts:

PANAMA SERIES: HACIENDA LOS MOLINOS

PLACE DES ARTS, MONTREAL

OTTAWA DAY TRIP

PANAMA SERIES: PANAMA CITY’S SKYLINE AT NIGHT

PANAMA SERIES: THE GRINGO PRICE

PANAMA SERIES: STREET ART

PANAMA SERIES: TEN FACTS OR MORE ABOUT BOQUETE, PANAMA

PANAMA SERIES: BOQUETE’S FLOWERS AND COFFEE FESTIVAL

PANAMA SERIES: VISITING DAMARLI ESTATE IN BOQUETE

PANAMA SERIES: CARIBBEAN PARADISE - BOCAS DEL TORO

ECUADOR SERIES: OTAVALO, THE ARTISAN MARKET MECCA

ECUADOR SERIES: COTACACHI, THE CITY BETWEN TWO VOLCANOS

ECUADOR SERIES - DUE DILIGENCE TRIP

ECUADOR SERIES: TIPS FOR TRAVELLING TO ECUADOR

HIKING IN MONT-ROYAL PARK, MONTREAL

ZUMMER FUN BUS RIDE IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

F-MR STATION IN MONTREAL

THE STONEHENGE OF ROMANIA: SARMIZEGETUSA REGIA

LAURENTIANS MOUNTAINS: COTTAGE TRIP AT LAKE CACHÉE

OTTAWA LIGHTS SHOW ON PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

HIKING AT DANUBE’S GORGES, ORSOVA, ROMANIA

DECEBALUS CARVED STATUE, ROMANIA

TRIP TO CALGARY, ALBERTA

BALCHIK, A BULGARIAN GEM

PIRATES TREASURE PLAYGROUND, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 2, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 1, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

GONDOLA RIDE IN MAMAIA RESORT, ROMANIA

CONSTANTA’S MARINA, ROMANIA

BEACH DAY IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BUBBLES - INDOOR PLAYGROUND IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BAHIA DE PAQUERA, NICOYA GULF, COSTA RICA

EXPLORING AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS

MACKINAC BRIDGE, MICHIGAN, USA

CHASED BY TORNADOS IN MINNESOTA

MINNEHAHA FALLS REGIONAL PARK, A GEM IN BETWEEN THE TWIN CITIES

BANFF, A RESORT TOWN INSIDE THE BANFF NATIONAL PARK, ALBERTA, CANADA

OLD PORT OF CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

ENISALA FORTRESS, ROMANIA

MORAINE LAKE, A SURREAL BEAUTY IN ALBERTA, CANADA

TIPS ON HOW TO MAKE A LIVING WHILE TRAVELLING THE WORLD

FEELING UNINSPIRED? VISIT A WELSH RETREAT: GLADSTONE’S RESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

TURDA’S 400 FEET UNDERGROUND AMUSEMENT PARK, A HIDDEN GEM OF TRANSYLVANIA, ROMANIA

MEMORIES FROM CANCUN, MEXICO

TOURING MONTREAL CITY, CANADA

VISIT TO SAINT-JOSEPH’S ORATORY IN MONTREAL, CANADA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this travelogue and meetup, @lymepost. Panama has some very beautiful countryside from the looks of things. I've never been there, but I think you put it on the list of places to see. :)

I've always wondered what it would be like to actually live in a different country. My wife is from Mexico, and so of course we've visited her family down there and vacationed a few times, but that's different than actually living there.

It sounds like you had a great time, and being able to speak with folks you meet on STEEM seems like a fun thing, too. Makes it real.

Thank you for sharing, and congratulations on the curie.

Thank you! So glad to read that you are actually considering visiting it! You are right, visiting a country is not the same as living there cause you get to see only the touristic side and miss all the fun part. Slow travelling is what I like to do whenever I get the chance. Stay at least two weeks in a place and try to discover all that it has to offer by immersing fully in the culture.

Great story and glad that you were able to meet @apanamamama , she seems amazing from what I know about her. Those pictures were great and so happy for you folks that the weather was good.
Congrats on the curie upVote, well earned with this piece of work.

She is amazing not only in here, but in real life too! An inspiring woman!

Doesn't surprise me one bit.

Heyy!! Glad to see you around!

You too. How have you been?

It's been quite a ride lately.. Ups and downs in latam, but you know how it goes. What about you?

I am trying to adjust to some new circumstances on the employment side of my life. The job I have had for the last 11 years was cancelled at the end of October with only 15 days notice. The manufacturer that I was representing products for elected not to renew our contract for 2019 so I am weighing my options right now on where and what to do.

Sorry to hear about that. Hope you'll find some other options soon without any problems!

Things are going to work out just fine, I am confident of that. I just don't have it nailed down yet.

I'm so sorry to hear that! With a little luck and hope things will turn out grear for you. I send you my greates wishes Sult!

Thanks. Things will work out for me. Just a bad time of the year right now for the industry I work in, but I have some options and offers.

Tons of blessings then! Xx

I was told those plants were called Grandfather's whiskers. Ha! It was so fun to meet you and your family. It really is such a great place to meet and eat and I'm glad you were able to come over. Lots of great pictures and a fun afternoon spent getting to know my Steemit friend. Now we're FB friends and I enjoy seeing your snowy pics, although I'm sure I wouldn't love living in that freezing weather. I'm serious that I would freeze to death. My body is too used to this eternal spring weather! Thanks for sharing the pics!!

Yay! I finally learnt the name of the plants! Pleasure was all mine, honey!

What a spectacularly beautiful place for children to grow up in. That gorge looks - gorgeous! It reminds me of a place in Scotland that also gives you the heebie-jeebies, as it's so steep, but beautiful. However the colours are not so rich. I might try and visit it again in summer, and maybe even swim there.
I love the truffula trees too. I'd love to visit Panama.

Those truffula trees were amazeballs! Everyone loved them!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 322 (11/25/18)

How cool that you managed to get to know somebody from Steemit in real life. I know that there are a few Steemians in Switzerland but haven't managed to meet any of them yet. It also looks like you had a blast! Even driving on such road is blast itself plus meeting someone amazing doubles the experience :)

I like the nature around the road. I would stop several times to take photos too :) And those small waterfalls are cute. The water looks crystal clear. I'm not sure if you can drink it in Panama but I know that here you can drink water in the mountains.

I can imagine that the photos don't do the justice. I also find that some amazing places need to be seen to understand the true beauty.

I've never seen such plants. They look amazing! And I think I would join the kids and play in the water too :D

I'm happy to hear that you had a great time with one fellow Steemian and your old friend.

Thank you for taking us on your day trip. It's been very nice to join you :)

Thank you for the read! Slow travel is what helps you discover and enjoy the true beauty of a destination. As for the plants, I still don't know how they are called.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you for the up vote and resteem!

Hi @lymepoet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.637 which ranks you at #5487 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 5483).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 202 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I didn't know Panama have such a beutifull places. I got friends there, and they always talk abaout the city and the malls ... but this photos show me a different Panama.. thank's for sharing your expierence with us.

Panama City and the Highlands are totally different. :)

Now I know that. People of panama should be proud for live in place with such beautiful places... I know could sound weird but i'm dying for visit the Panama canal. I love architecture.. greetings from Venezuela

You're not too far from Panama then. :) The Canal is really pretty cool.

You're welcome! Thanks for the read ! I hope that this post made you think go visit your friends in Panama ;))

Of course I wan to visit a lot of place's. Panma for sure is one of then... I would like to taste the traditional dishes and visit The canal. :)

Loved the waterfall shots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85