TROPICAL CORNUCOPIA

in #travel6 years ago

14022278_10155167423388266_292854303490701789_n.jpg

What I loved the most about living in a tropical country, besides the temperature off course, was the abundance of fresh fruits and veggies. Wherever I turned there was something waiting to be plucked.

It could have been in my garden, in the park or on the side of the street. You can imagine that my eyes popped out when I first saw this image. Given that back in Canada I used to pay $1 or more per mango, it was hard to understand why people would just let it rot in the ditch.

While living in Central America, I rarely bought any fruits from the market. That's because they were available everywhere. In some areas within the city, they were left out there for people to come and help themselves.

In my yard I had orange trees, papaya, tomate de arbol, chayote, otoe (an editable root named taro, far more nutritious and tastier and yucca) and lemons growing on their own.

The orange trees I had gave more than enough oranges to make a freshly squeezed juice each morning.

I was surprised to see how fast the papaya trees grew and bore fruits.

Here is a photo of the otoe, which is the root of the Elephant ear plant. You can see it is huge! I have seen the local indigenous people digging for it on the side of the road. Once I tasted it I knew why they kept on saying it was a delicacy. Later on I saw that in the market it was being sold for $2 per root.

Here is my son measuring himself with the Elephant ear plant to see how much he had grown after his nap.

My next door neighbours and friends had mangoes, avocado, pineapple, grapefruit, soursop, bananas, rambutan, pomelo, caju and a few local fruit trees that I don't recall the names.

Each morning my sweet neighbours used to leave me on the porch a basket with whatever had ripped overnight.

Check out the first photo of this post. Wouldn't you love to open the door and find something similar? I was blessed with amazing neighbours!

The only veggies I had to buy were tomatoes, cucumber, onion (imported because the local crop had been destroyed).

At one point we had so many oranges that my son was using them as cargo for his truck.

As for fruits, I had to pay only for watermelon and imported apples and grapes which were expensive compared to the cost of the ones locally produced.

The soil was incredibly fertile due to the volcanic ash and everything grew without any problem. I planted some spinach and shortly after I was able to offer some of it to the neighbours as well.

I also planted pineapple but I didn't get a chance to eat it because I had to leave before it was ready.

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I went to panama.and costa rice a few years ago, is amazing the fruits. Star fruit is so expensive in the shops here and mangoes too and just dripping off the trees there. That's alot of freshly squeezed juice. ><

I know! The price of star fruit, magustine, rambutan in Canada is crazy!

Beautiful travelfeed

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lymepoet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tropical-cornucopia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank for sharing. I also live in a Tropical Country - Malaysia.

If you are in Malaysia, then you probably don't have to spend much on the fruits and veggies. ;0)

@lymepoet good to see the well hearted neighbours stiill taking care with such fruit basket....it is rare. Looking at the mango at the strert feel like eating each one ofthem...the best of all is the home grown fruit like papaye...

My two neighbours were one of the kind! Thank you for stopping by and leaving your thoughts.

You are so lucky to have so much fruit available and I am so jealous at fresh orange juice you have each morning :D :D :D

I was, because now I am in Canada and I have to buy all of the above. lol

what rich fruits, very good work, excellent article, God bless you always.

Thanks for stopping by!

Very good excellent work friend exquisite fruits

Thanks for stopping by!

Nice produce! I love living where all of that is pretty available. We have a lot of oranges on our property - super sour, but make great lemonade with some sugar. :) We drove to the beach once (Las Lajas) and there were mangoes ALL OVER the road at one point. We stopped and got some to have as a snack on the way home. We find that ALL of our guava from the trees have worms in them (in our neighborhood). Love seeing all these tropical fruits that you were getting. We need to get some avocado trees going - those go for $1 each. I haven't heard about the root before, but we have some elephant ears growing in our neighborhood. May have to dig them up and give them a try!

Our ones were sour as well, but we did not mind. We had it without adding sugar or honey. My son eats lemons as if they are apples ;0)

Oh wow! My son likes to eat the whole lemon too. Makes my teeth hurt to think about it! We usually just squeeze whatever citrus we can find all together - grapefruit, lemon, lime, sour orange, mandarin oranges, etc. Tastes good...with sugar. ;)

Looks great, I love the idea of having my own little fruit orchard in the backyard.

Having your own fruit/veggies produce is great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82