@MichaelEvans Visited From the USA. Our First Meet Up With a Fellow Steemian!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

We Had A Real Great Time in the Maritimes...

And packed in as much feasting and exploring as we could in the 2 nights and 1 full day that he was here. Wish it could have been longer. Here is our adventure...

Lawrencetown Beach, Nova Scotia, Canada

IMG_6930.JPG

@Hendrix22 (left) and @MichaelEvans watching the waves, it was low tide and usually there are surfers here because the waves can get pretty high. There wasn't much for drama there when we showed up, yet someone still got wet haha! Check out the video below.


(Video 1:33)

IMG_6918.JPG

Cool landscape in Lawrencetown, I like it, has a bit of a foothills/prairie feel...this was my first time coming to this beach actually! Lived in Nova Scotia for almost 4 years and still haven't even come close to seeing all there is to see here. Thousands of beaches, lakes, forests, caves, hills big and small. I look forward to a lifetime of exploring this Province.

IMG_6919.JPG

We Were in Full Chill Mode

No kids, no responsibilities for a day...

IMG_6940.JPG

Ocean spray misting across a homestead.

IMG_6924.JPG

IMG_6931.JPG

IMG_6923.JPG

John's Lunch in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

I've definitely told you guys about this place and taken you there before. The best calamari, clams and fish & chips you'll ever have. Totally small little place, been here forever, family run and won awards for the best fish in Canada. Michael was immediately addicted lol. I'm sure he'll write a review soon.

IMG_6912.JPG

Sidenote: I brought some supplies to make some #ophumanangels cards to leave around on our travels with @phoenixwren's stickers that he sent me. I only made one card, and I left it at John's Lunch.

IMG_6906.JPG

IMG_6909.JPG

For You...

IMG_6910.JPG

You are so very precious. There is only one you.

IMG_6915.JPG

You can see the addictive ingredients in John's Lunch have taken effect. We are all semi-unconscious in food comas, and the food isn't even done yet.

IMG_6916.JPG

"The Culprit" (Calamari & Chips)

IMG_6917.JPG

Of Course We Had to Go to Timmies!

IMG_6905.JPG

One does not simply walk into Canada...Without going to Timmies.

IMG_6907.JPG

Peggy's Cove Village, Nova Scotia, Canada

This was the second time we went to Peggy's Cove that day. The first time we got out there to see the lighthouse and go out on the rocks. I had no battery in my camera LOL! It will be good though because Michael has a bunch of photos and there won't be any doubles of that place in our blogs.

IMG_6947.JPG

We stopped back into the village on our way home to get some gifts for Michael's wife.

IMG_6949.JPG

He found some beautiful jewelry here at Beales Bailiwick.

IMG_6948.JPG

IMG_6945.JPG

Okay, the Photos Really Slow Down Now...

I was almost asleep in a full food coma by the time we went to the Lobster Shop, right on the water to get our feast for the evening. Mussels cooked in a wine/garlic/cream sauce and of course Lobster, all right off the boat. I didn't get out of the vehicle...

IMG_6955.JPG

What more could we ask for? Beer, beaches, seafood, coffee, fires, guitars, a lot of smoking and long talks about every single deep thing that we're interested in, no conspiracy was left untouched.

IMG_6956.JPG

IMG_6957.JPG

IMG_6959.JPG

And the Coolest News of All...

Michael asked if we'd be down with him being the bass player in The Key of H and of course we said Hellz Yeah! Looking forward to working together and having real bass in our tunes.

How kick ass is it that we can make music with people all over the world. I love the internet, and I love STEEM's blockchain for bringing us together like this. It was really awesome to spend some time in "real life" with STEEM FAMILY! Thanks again for coming all the way up here to see us Michael. It was a real honour.

Sort:  

You’re going to be getting a lot of visitors if you put on a lobster spread everytime someone pops in to see ya.
Mrs Percy and I will no doubt drop in on our travels one day.....
Can’t wait babe ❤️

Any excuse to have a lobster feast is good! xoxo They're actually not too expensive here :) Please, bring all your friends ahhaha!!

I just got home and saw this! It was such a great time, thanks to both of you! So much to take in. I really appreciate your hospitality, amazing cooking, guitars etc! You guys really made me feel at home. Happy Mothers Day Lyndsay!

Such a kick ass time hanging out with you dude. You're welcome here anytime brother!

Definitely ^^^^ What he said!^^^ :) :) :)

Ill be back!!!! Upvoted. Resteemed. Follow!
Send me some music!!!!

Soon buddy I have to get strings first!

I was thrilled that a fellow Steemian came to visit. I was so honored to meet you and hope one day you will return. It would be so nice to sit on our deck and enjoy one of our fine sunsets that we have here and listen to you all play a little music. There are many fine places we could show you as well. I love the fact that you got salt water on your feet. It is not a Maritime Visit if you dont. lol

Thanks Marion it was wonderful to meet you too. I will be coming back. I felt a connection that will stay with me. Ill hold you to it to show me around next time! Thanks for inviting me over for coffee even tho it was quick. Your home is very nice and I just dont know how you guys can handle that view everyday ☺

LOL that view is a tough one and one of the reasons we bought the house. I would have loved to have more time to visit and sit on our little beach. However there is so much to explore it is endless. There is something about this place that sticks in your soul and never lets go. Please do come back again. There are so many wonderful things to do and explore and you can stay at a bed and breakfast or an Inn all over the province and lots of cottages to rent on South Shore with endless beaches...take care. xx

What a great story Lyndsay. So jealous of Michael. But it has made us more determined to visit your beautiful part of the world. It's good fun showing friends around, you have some great places to eat by the looks of it. Was already aware of the great fish and chips and the lobster looked amazing. 😎😎

That was really cool to meet a fellow Steemian, even though the time was short. He had a quick cup of coffee with us in our home and I hope he returns for a visit. Just a tease for him to see how wonderful it is. We would love to show him so much more. We came home on the tail end of the visit, but meet we did.

Yes I know the Buzz, last year ee met a fellow Tsuvian in the UK after talking for a couple of years. We spent the afternoon with someone we could have known forever. She showed us around the Buffalo farm where she lived. It was amazing 😎😎

um Andy. Buffalo's in UK...?????

where did they come from originally

The States originally I believe, but many have been bred on the farm.IMG_20161029_152131.jpg

Wow, you are a good hosstess! Fish n chips and lobster dinner in one day! I'm in ;)

It's funny the familiar things I see. The local chippy with good fried food, the joy of lobster, I eat as much as I can in the Summer, and even seeing the Hortons cup made me smile. Here in New England it is all Dunkins but my Midwest Relatives, who oven go back and forth over the border to Canada, love their hortons. :)

And you have a new bass player in the bargain, this looked to be a very fun and fruitful visit. I love how Steem brings us all together :) Super sappy, but so true. And I wonder how big the smile what for the person who find your little hope card? Big I am sure.

YAY I'm all about the sappiness hahahha!! <3 <3 <3 <3

I'm glad you overindulge on the lobster in the summer, that's so great!! Are there a lot of fishermen around you? I bet there are...

Hey @lyndsaybowes this is awesome, the power of steemit in action .. you timed capturing the wet feet saga pretty well! :) Beautiful pictures! I love the sun-blasted look of some of the pics. Man if this is how you treat your guests .. I'm on the next plane! :D

We would love that! When's your passage? hehehe <3 <3 <3 <3 Thanks for watching the video btw!

How awesome that Steemit brought you all together! Looks and sounds like it was a great visit. ❤️

Thanks Melody, it's pretty cool indeed, have you ever met up with any Steemians yet?

Actually, yes we have! We went to a meet up last year in Kansas City, organized by @stellabelle and met all sorts of fun Steemians. Someone also created a Discord channel for our little area in the Ozarks so we can all keep in touch about events in our area. Neat stuff!

Awesome!

I bet you had a right blast.

You know it my buddy! :) :)

Making music and eating fish n chips, and conspiracy talk? I am jealous, looks like you all had fun, good times.

It was an absolute blast! It'd be great if we could do the same one day too!

You and hendrix now have a date, we will for sure, either here or there, that would be fantastic, and my girls would love the company also.

That's amazing walk @lyndsaybowes, and about yout card that using @phoenixwren sticker😍 its co cute I love it much😘😘😘😘😘

Aw, I'm so happy that the little card made you smile @neilur <3 xo

Of course @lyndsaybowes😊😊😊
That's amazing😉
Actually I miss you in a few days😍 you are an awsome one🤗

It looks like very peacefull place or beach. There is some places in my country that I heve never been and I didn’t have knew that it exists.

What country do you live in?

I live in Sweden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86