BALI ON THE ROAD - How It Was All Started

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


「 DAY 1 - The Arrival」


| Hassle,Eruption,Excitement, Ngurah Rai Airport Bali |


Fresh Fields.jpg


The Reason
Special Province Yogyakarta, Indonesia| 27th June 2018

Previously, I was on a short vacation visiting my family in the East for the last time this year. It was a rejuvenating journey where I got to re-define my life. The storm was getting better, the tide was lower and the water was calming down.Then,life took me to another chapter where I decided to move temporarily to Bali,Indonesia.

My decision choosing Bali was rather reckless. I don't have much savings to spend nor having a stable job. Not to mention, my status as a student is still undecided until unforeseen future.However, at this point, school is not for me.

I planned moving to Bali precisely about a month earlier where I sorted out accomodation and one way flight by splitting the cost with another digital nomad. I think if you want to be able to afford living around south east asia, splitting a cost could be a great idea.

It was rather smooth transisition. Everything was finely sorted and we have a place to stay until a bit sometime. We've not seen where we would go next, but for sure, we would float around south east asia for now.

We just got back from our seven days trip. During that time,we tried to live as minimum as possible. Not only but, we try to stay within a budget during our stay. Mind you, we are frugal but not cheap.

So, if you want to travel around with a tight budget and want to have maximum fun, you might want to stay tuned with my recommendations.




The Departure
Special Province Yogyakarta 29th June 2018


picture courtesy : @ekavieka

If you have not been following the news, the Mt. Agung, which was located in Bali was erupting and the ash affected the aviation safety. My travel mate flight was canceled while mine was delayed for about an hour and half.
It was a little bit chaotic because I booked a place to stay for a night and we planned things accordingly. Because this problem, we had to adjust couple of plans such as the hotel booking and the other rental booking. We weren't pleased with the situation but what could we do? it was the nature speaking.

I booked another room for the following day. It was the cheapest one that I could find nearby the airport. I wasn't having much expectation but what I found was a little gem hidden nearby the airport.





The Arrival
Ngurah Rai Airport Bali

I landed in Bali around 3 am, weary and hungry.I initially booked a place to stay but I didn't want to walk just outside the airport and reached the hostel. I was fine with loosing couple of bucks cause that was for the better. I had no energy left walking even it was for 500 meters. The airport was empty and I stayed around praying room to find a shelter before I could walk and got myself a meal, a decent meal.

It was 5 am when I started hearing the airport staffs were preparing before they started their duty. So, I got up and left the praying room to find an open convenient store. The worse thing was, my portable battery and phone were dead. I had no means to contact anyone. So it was a time where I did a lot of monologue and walking around looking afraid and lost.

I visited a convenient store where the cashier was friendly enough helping me find a place to charge my phone. I was staying inside the airport complex about 6 hours before I was too tired and decided to book an online cab, Grab. I thought they weren't available but actually they are. It was rather tricky to find them but you could find them around the car parking lot.


Final note
Bali, Indonesia

This is the beginning of a digital hobo tale series where I and my travel mate roaming around Bali finding hidden gems and having fun along the way. I hope you will learn couple of things through this journey. Not to mention, you will get to witness breathtaking scenery of this little paradise on earth. See you until the next chapter. If you like what we are doing, any support is appreciated.

Much love from the paradise,

macchiata

Editorial Design by @kyunga

Sort:  

Hi @macchiata! I'm very curious how you'll like Bali.
If you want to travel cheaply, I recommend Thailand, which I just love! Very friendly people and very low prices and exotic climate.
I have also moved into a world without savings and with a practically zero budget! :) Now we are in Malaysia with my boyfriend. How many people travel with you? Best wishes from Ipoh!

@see-it-feel-it

I really love Bali and if you've not been here, I have couple recommendations of places to go with reasonable rates. However, I have not been to Thailand but I have to. Also, if you are in Malaysia right now, visit Big Hug burger and a falafel place nearby Bukit Bintang. Lot10 is also a great place to eat. How long are you planning to stay there?

As of now, it's the two of us, trying to make a living around Bali and South east asia. Please if you are in Bali, don't forget to say HI!

Greetings, from the paradise :))

Thanks for your recommendations! :)
In Ipoh we have many places where we eat cheaply and tasty! For two big dinners we pay here about 10 RM (2.5 USD) and it is delicious and rich.
We will probably stay here for another week or two. Then the direction will be north and again Thailand. <3

I will be following your profile because I haven't heard good reviews about Bali yet and I'm curious what the reality is like. Maybe one day there will be an opportunity to meet and exchange experiences! Best wishes for both of you! :)

glad that my photo featured in your post. waiting the time to meet you.

Glad that my photo
Featured in your post. waiting
The time to meet you.

                 - ekavieka


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macchiata
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bali-on-the-road-how-it-was-all-started


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I hope to go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86