Discovering new cultures in the year of the pig

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

I have been hearing about Binondo as a Chinese community in the City of Manila. It is known to be a good place to experience different Chinese cuisines at their best. While my friends have talked about us going there some day, it hasn't happened yet so I haven't stepped into the place until 05 February 2019.

5th February was declared as special non-working holiday in celebration of Chinese New Year - the year of the pig!

image.png
Say hello to this cutie cheeky piggy that greeted me right when I got down the LRT-Carriedo station on my way to Binondo. 😊

While 4th February was sandwiched between weekend and a holiday, I still had to go to work. At pass 4:00 o'clock in the afternoon, one of my colleagues was already packing up to go home. We cheered, why so early!

He said he was in the office very early at pass 6:00 o'clock in the morning so he can go home early. Apparently, he exercised our flexible working hours. Again, we asked why.

"It's Chinese New Year. I'm going to Binondo!"

Our French colleague was amused. "What's in Binondo?"

The going-home guy told short stories of happenings in Binondo during Chinese New Year and it kept me wondering... I don't have any itinerary on Chinese New Year's day. How about seeing Binondo?

Then later in the evening, I have decided and invited my friends through Messenger. Knowing our different hustles, I know it was a short notice invitation but that is fine. I was determined to go even if I am alone. I went for overseas trips alone so what is it to go somewhere just two cities away? Sometimes it is good to get lost, learn to find your way around and get back. 😉
image.png
The good thing is, one of my five friends whom I invited was available. So off to Binondo we went in the afternoon.

But before I share what I got in Binondo, let us have a little backgrounder about Chinese New Year. Chinese believes that each year in 12 year-cycle is represented by an animal. When my friends and I went to China, our tour guide was saying that they like year of the pig very much. Couples would even plan having a baby on that year. When we asked why, she said it is because the pig's life is the most ideal as it only eats and sleep. Huh? I am a dragon so thank you!
image.png

Legend has it that the animal representation came into play when;

The Jade Emperor (玉皇大帝—yù huáng dà dì) needed to choose 12 animals as palace guards. The Cat asked his neighbor Rat to help him sign up. Rat forgot, which is why they became mortal enemies.

At the palace, Ox was first in line, but Rat secretly climbed onto Ox's back and jumped in front of him. Tiger and Dragon thought it was unfair, but they could only settle behind Ox. Rabbit found it unfair too. He wanted to race with Dragon and succeeded.

This angered Dog, who bit Rabbit in a fit and was sent to the back as punishment. Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey and Rooster fought amongst themselves as well. Pig came late, after everything was finally settled, and could only be the last.

Okay, back to Binondo. This is the crowd that greeted us by the time we stepped into one end of Ongpin Street. The street is where the celebration is being held all day long. You will notice the dominating red color. That is because Chinese believe that color red brings prosperity. Wearing it at the start of the year will attract prosperity throughout the year.
image.png

We squeezed ourselves into the crowd and discovered displays of trinkets, charms and house decors here and there. Chinese believes in these stuff. They have lucky charm for wealth, health, love, business (not wealth as a whole), and more. I think you can name any charm you want for and they will have one for you.

These beads have corresponding purpose as lucky charm - for love, money, and more... As I observed one of the vendors, no matter what type of bead the prospective buyer will ask about, the vendor's answer was "Oo, swerte yan" which means "Yes, that brings good luck." Oh, yeah?
image.png

image.png

These coins are believed to bring prosperity and good luck in business.
image.png

As well as these figurines.
image.png

As we continue going deeper into the street, there were people from one establishment who were throwing candies and coins to passersby. My friend and I ended up picking from the ground. These are what I got.
image.png
Chinese believe that New Year is also a time for giving. Throwing the candies and coins are like throwing blessings to anyone and everyone.

Chinese also believe that round or circle objects represent money so they usually fill their table with round fruits during new year. They believe that if they do this, they will have enough money all throughout the year.

image.png
image.png
image.png

They have this almost the same as the Advent wreath though without the candles. I suppose the round figure with the round fruits also mean luck in terms of money.
image.png
This is cute!

One very common food during Chinese New Year is the Tikoy. It is sometimes referred to as Chinese New Year's cake. It is made of glutinous sticky rice. I gathered that this is common during Chinese New Year because they believe that since it is very sticky, it keeps the wealth (more so, money) from slipping away from the family.

image.png
image.png

I am not sure about these ones and also that mirror with octagon shape on the side. I was not able to ask the vendor what these are for. If anyone knows, please let me now.
image.png

I am also not sure about the rice bundles but I assume it is for bountiful harvest because rice is the staple food in Asia. I can tell though that the grains of these bundles are not good. If I am to buy for lucky charm, I prefer the good ones so it attracts the good too.
image.png

My friend and I traversed the length of Ongpin Street and pivoted. It is time to find a place for dinner. We attempted three restaurants but the queues were so long that we can not wait. We ended up in a not so crowded eatery but it was no regret. The food was good. One thing that did not pass our intention for dinner is the noodles. Chinese believe this food brings long life as represented by the long string. It is present in birthday and new year celebrations like this that even Filipinos try to adapt the practice.
image.png

It was parting time after dinner but hey, here's to our efforts of squeezing into the crowd to have photo shoot with the dragons. It was very hard to have a good shot because of so many people also wanting camera time with the dragon performers. 😂 Maybe I'll post the dragon videos later.

image.png

That's it for my first visit to Binondo. I haven't yet explored the foods as how others advised that it is good for food-tripping. Maybe on my next visit and without the new year mob... 😊


Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.


Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Chinese culture is very interesting but after visiting Hong Kong and Macau, I have to say it's a place I wouldn't like to live. There's just too many people for my tastes. :-/

Thanks for the post and these cool photos!

If you're afraid of a mob then yes, those places do not sound ideal specially Macau which is full of gamblers. I was told that there are still quiet places in Hong Kong, you just have to visit the country side but I did not have enough time to do that when I went there.

Great post & captures!
Looks like a great celebration to be apart of.
Steem on :)

If you're not afraid of mobs then yes, this is an exciting event to attend. You'll learn a lot of new things. Things that you may even wonder how could that be. 😄

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by macoolette from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17