Traveling SOLO on a budget - Where to hit?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear Steemians!

As you (don't) know, I work as a high-school teacher and as the joke say - there are three reason to be a teacher: June, July and August ;)

I just wanted to say that my holidays are around the corner and I still haven't made any plans... First world problems, I know :D Anyhow, I will spend most of my summer days at my Grandma's house in Senj, just swimming and writing and reading and hanging out with my son and couple of old friends... But this year... Yes, this year I wanted to do something different. My son is slowly but surely spreading his wings, and this summer he is going for a 3 weeks vacations with his Dad so I will have some extra time to spare...
I was thinking, and it occured to me just hours ago, that I should do something I never did before - pack my bag and leave somewhere myself. It is something I've never done before - I even feel a bit uncomfortable going to the movies by myself, so this would be some sort of ultimate challenge for myself. I just want to exit the comfort zone and explore a world a bit... Discover some new destinations and some new people and situations... Or just find my peace by some sea.

So, I wanted your advice...

Where to?

I have some conditions, though... I would like it to be in Europe (most practical and most unexpensive for me), I would like it to be by the sea (beacuse it's SOO hot these days) and OFC to be safe for a woman to travel alone. I would like it to be both peaceful do I can do my things and yet that I can go to some with people included, and maybe a solid night-life. Oh yes, and I would like to be well connected with my hometown, Zagreb (plane, train, car are options).

I just started to think about it so I will probably think of something, but for now, my mind crossed:

Barcelona

bcn.jpg

source

My probably favorite city in the world. Pluses are endless - vivid atmosphere, warm nights, cervezas on the beach, great food, even better company and all not very expensive. Minuses are that I would probably not have that much alone time and that it is already quite familiar. But for now, my first choice. City that says summer the best.

Santorini

santorini.jpg

source

I've been to Greece with my students, but never visited this island. Looks amazing on the photos but for what I've seen on booking,com, is a bit expensive. Also, I'm afraid that it is couples destination and romantic place to go, so I'M not sure if going there solo is the best idea. Anybody?

Lisbon, Portugal

lisbon.jpg

source

I've already traveled to Lisbon, but it was with friends and it was almost 15 years ago so memories are a bit blurry. I loved the atmosphere of the city and would definitely love to go back, but would have to do some exploring on what and how to do, see, eat and everything...

What is your's dream destination? If you had one week just for yourself, where would you go and why?

Thanks for your help, much love,

Matejka

Sort:  

Lisabon draga, ako si sama grad za odsumeti u samoci savrseeen :) Santorini, ako zelis zurke, pijane Engleze i ludilo, i da ti skinu kozu sa ledja.
Barselona, nisam bila ali mi je na baket listi.
Bila sama u Lisabonu, Pragu i Varsavi..Samo se dobro isplaniras i sve proleti.
Lisabon jedino ima cimanje ako hoces na plazu a negde si u centru onda ima da se voza. Ali posto si ti na moru ionako ...Prag ti je divan takodje, toplo preporucujem, magican grad sa gomilom divnih stvari za videti @matejka13.
Premda kazu da je Berlin nesto sto se mora doziveti takodje..E da mi nije planova za dizanje stanbenog kredita rado bih ti se pridruzila kao art turist guide :)))
E imas i Atinu kao pricu za sebe, jedino sto je pakleno vruuce tamo..Krf mozda?

Kako ona meni svasta savetuje...;) Pa ne znam kud bi prije sad kad citam tvoj komentar! Divno... Slatke brige, da, znam. Sve javim kad se isplaniram ❤️ A ti se jos stignes predomisliti pa mi sr pridruziti na lutanjima...;*

Draga samo da zavrsim nesto krupno u zivotu a onda mozemo gde oces, iskreno trazim zrtvu koja bi sa mnom u Istanbul na par dana, eto mozemo za zimske praznike na par dana @matejka13 :)

Santorini is really nice but honestly one week on here you would start to get a bit bored after a while, better make it a package with a few other islands in the vicinity :) You could try Crete... Much bigger, with better beaches and even mountains and amazing little villages :)

Will definitely have to do some researches and see how it is all connected and how to get from one place to another! :) Thank you @herverisson!

All the pleasure is mine, my dear! :-*

The Colours and the Light. I want to paint there.

Pošto vidim da voliš Barselonu,verovatno voliš i Španiju pa ti toplo preporučujem da posetiš Valensiju. ŽIveo sam tamo dve godine i meni je lepša nego Barsa. Ako se odlučiš, rado ću te posavetovati šta ne smeš da propustiš.
Pozdrav 😁

Najvise volim Španiju, my all time favorite! :)
Ali odlucila sam se malo pritajiti ipak ovo ljeta i ostati na Jadranu pa otici na “putovanje zivota” iduce proljece... Nesto o cemu mastam od valjda 15. godine! Uskoro vise o tome...😊 Stay tuned!

Capri, Italija!!!!

Ja bi svudaaaa :)))

If I were you, Barcelona would be my choice 💚 Good luck with choosing honey 💚

Thank you my draling! I’ve aldready chosen... Preparing a post about it soon :)
A da je Barca najbolji grad na svijetu, to nema diskusije 😍❤️🌈

The only one on the list that I have been to was Lisbon. I traveled alone but it was for STEEMFest last year (which was extravagant)... I had an awesome time and loved the city. So much to see. It's a quaint and charming place (and you get a great leg workout from the steep streets).

ohhh and can't forget the Pastel de Natas! Creamy & Delicious ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77