Austria - A Drive through the Mountains

in #travel6 years ago

Thanks for joining me in my adventures. This blog is dedicated to travels off the beaten path. You won't find my review of Disney World here, but you might just discover a new way to explore your world. If you're a fan of the road less traveled, I think you'll like what we have in store today.

Moving Day

After spending a wonderful week in Austria hiking through the mountains, gorging myself on a standard breakfast, practicing yoga, and so much more, it is time to say Auf Wiedersehen to Austria. It's been quite the journey, but it's time to find the next adventure. Someday I'll be back, but in the meantime, let's take a little road trip to Lichtenstein.

Road trips are always better when you take the long way, so the 3 of us, Matt, his mother, and myself, decided to do just that. Instead of sticking to the highway and backtracking toward Salzburg, we headed west through as much of Austria as possible. The mountains were lush and green, dotted with large open pastures. Houses were scarce and it felt as though the country belonged only to us.

The best days for driving tend to be a bit overcast and this one was no exception. The clouds sank low over the mountains forming thick blankets of fog in the distance. We played hide-and-go-seek with the scenery for hundreds of miles, the peaks remaining visible with their bodies shrouded in the distance.

The few towns we came across looked very much like typical Bavarian towns, the main distinction from Austrian towns being they had far fewer flowers than we had become accustomed to seeing. As we came ever closer to Lichtenstein, the Swiss Alps made their presence known in the background, looming dark in the cloud filled sky. We came to the border and...I'll save that post for another day.

Thanks for joining me on this road trip. For info on how to book your own road trip to remember, find me at Travel Life Services.

TLS_Logo_transparent-background-256x130.png

Happy Travels!

Jennifer

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

There are many mountains in Austria, most of them belong to the Alps and I am sure you know this already. You might have even heard of the highest one, Mount Großglockner. It is famous for the road, Großglockner Hochalpenstraße, leading near its peak and the scenic glacier that supplements it.

Oooh, I'll have to save that one for the next trip. It sounds neat. :-)

As for the Alps, I was quite excited to be able to see the Bavarian Alps, the Austrian Alps, the Swiss Alps, and the French Alps all in one trip. I'm used to seeing mountain ranges in the US, but we don't break them down by state. For example, if the Rocky mountain stretch across multiple states, they are still just the Rocky Mountains, not the Colorado Rockies or the Nevada Rockies. I've heard of the Swiss Alps my whole life, but never really any of the others. It was cool to be able to experience the differences.

Thanks for dropping by, and I do hope you come back soon. :-)

What a beautiful area! And wow.. That first shot is really nice! I bet I would have a blast over there with my camera! :D

Thanks! I'd love to see your shots of the Alps. If you ever decide to head that way, let me know. I'm a travel agent too so can help make the trip a breeze. :-)

Breathtaking scenery! Really glad you had the time to take it all it! Are there many places to stop and hike or camp? Would love to take the kids there when they are older its about a 9 hour drive for us lol

Thanks! There are plenty of places to hike, that's for sure. Every place in Austria that I saw did a remarkable job of maintaining and posting their hiking trails. I'm not sure about places to camp. My guess would be that there are, but I don't think I saw any from the road.

Traveled through Austria by bus and train, going off the beaten track normally offers more @mattifer lovely photography, brings back memories.

I hear Austria has wonderful public transportation. We opted to rent a car for this trip. There were 5 of us at various points, so the flexibility made more sense for us.

Do you have pics of your trip? It would be great to see them.

Thanks for dropping by! I hope you come again soon.

Transport was not a problem, we traveled in 1978 for four months and yes one day I will put up the route and story from South Africa going North, what an education!

Planning the trip was half the fun, converting the photo's a few years ago into digital to preserve them from film was entertaining enjoyment all over again, unfortunately we did not have digital in that day and age or I would need a Steemit platform all of my own @mattifer

I can only imagine how interesting that must have been. It was a completely different world then too. :-)

Oh, I can't wait for your post from Lichtenstein! I've been there SO many times!!! It's so beautiful! I hope you also made it to the museum there to learn a little bit about the history :)

Congratulations @mattifer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77