Beginner's Guide to Skiing - Day 1 - It's Snowy Up There!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Thanks for joining me in my adventures. This blog is dedicated to travels off the beaten path. You won't find my review of Disney World here, but you might just discover a new way to explore your world. If you're a fan of the road less traveled, I think you'll like what we have in store today.

Confession

I've never been skiing a day in my life, until today. That's what makes this a beginner's guide to skiing. I'm going to start slow and show you the things that long-time skiers forget to tell you. They've become used to it, they don't notice it anymore, or they just don't even think about it.

I'm a beginner.

Here's what you need to know about skiing before you go.

It's Snowy Up There!

No matter what it looks like from where you are, there's going to be snow on the mountain. Lots of snow. Now that may not be a big deal for some, but for a freezebaby like me? That's major. I knew I was going skiing. I knew skiing happens on snow. I just didn't expect there to be so much of it.

Ok, on the drive up the mountain it really wasn't that bad. I could still see the road under the snow and traffic was moving along at a steady 55 MPH. At this point, the snow was still far removed from my present situation. It was outside and I was inside. I was cozy and excited about flying down the mountain!

Until I got my first glimpse of the mountain. That's Mount Hood in Oregon there in the background. Somehow, between the pine trees lining the road and the distractingly white snow I hadn't seen it until just then. It towered over everything I'd seen so far, and my enthusiasm for flying down it's side waned, but just a tiny bit. It was still there and I was still here and everything seemed pretty wonderful.

Until I stepped outside after renting skis and the reality of all that snow surrounded me. Now I was there and so was the mountain and the snow and the cold and the very real possibility of falling down the entire mountain in an avalanche of snow and skis.

Spoiler Alert

I made it to the top. I didn't die. It was absolutely, positively, 100% worth it to brave the snow and look death in the face and say, "I'm not afraid of you!" before sliding and falling and groaning my way up only to slide and fall and groan again.

But that's a story for the next post. Stay tuned for A Beginner's Guide to Skiing - Day 2.

Happy Travels!

Jennifer

TLS_Logo_transparent-background-256x130.png

Ready for Day 2? Find it here: Take the Lesson

Ready for Day 3? Find it here: How Not to Freeze to Death

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Many thanks to @zord189 for his generous delegation
and to the #steemitbloggers for their awesome
community support and great text dividers!

Sort:  

Thanks! I'm honored. :-)

Hahaha! That is great. I'm a long time skiier/snowboarder. And like you said all that beginners stuff we don't even notice anymore. But it was a lot of fun to hear you describe it though!! The season has just started here in CA so I haven't got out there yet, but I was just getting all my snowboard gear ready to go yesterday. I've got a season pass this year so I'm hoping for a good winter. Fingers crossed! Mt. Hood looks absolutely beautiful, I'd love to ski there someday.

At one point, probably about the 20th time my skis had come off, I'm struggling to get one of them back on. I'm sideways on the mountain, I've got my right ski on no problem, but the left one keeps slipping away every time I try to click into in. After trying for about 10 minutes, I finally take the right ski off and walk over to where Matt is waiting for me downhill. He helps me get my ski on and off I go!

Later, I'm describing this to a new friend who happens to be a ski instructor. She laughs and tells me I need a lesson. Apparently I could have avoided all that frustration by simply putting the bottom ski on before the top ski - she says they teach that in the beginner classes. :-)

I'm thinking about taking a lesson today. I'll keep you posted.

This made me giggle lol.. looks beautiful and I’m glad you braved all that snow!! Can’t wait to see the rest of your adventures!

Thank you! I'm pretty sore today and have some good bruises... but I think I'm going back up in a couple hours! :-)

Congratulations @mattifer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.
You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awesome....Adventure 👍 the picturesheque beauty says it all. From snowy path to snowfull mountains, it is always a treat to get cozy and brave to chill out on winter. I mean not with snow but with somthing adreline like skiing.....👌 greatbto see the braveheart in you to get the best of life and snow

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for dropping by! It was a great experience. I'm sore and bruised today from falling so often, but I think I'm going to get back out there today. :-)

You know, I have never skied either and still not sure my knees will handle it but I can only imagine the rush you must feel as you start moving the first 3 yards gracefully, then disgracefully falling and tumbling down the mountain! I loved Oregon when I went there and did some hikes - look forward to the beginners guide day 2!

P.S. congrats on the Curie upvote!

My knees were ok with it - well, until I twisted them repeatedly while falling - but my calves were shaking so hard I could barely stand by the end of it.

And yes, I was much more graceful at the beginning of the day than at the end of the day.

I'm stoked about the Curie! :-)

Haha yea the calf muscles will let you know when they are being used that's for sure!

Stay graceful 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll be channeling grace all the way down the bunny hill today. :-)

I grew up in NYC so skiing was never a thing. I have yet to ski - but it's good to know that if you can do it - so can I!

PS
Those mountain shots from the road are cr@zy!

It was wild to see the contrast between the base of the mountain and the top of the mountain. Dry roads and green trees at the bottom, thick snowfall within a short 10 minute drive. Elevation makes all the difference!

And yes! You can do it! Today I plan to stick to the kiddie hills though. My body is sore. And Matt threw me right into the intermediate trails, so it was rough going. More on that in another post. :-)

Sounds good!

Hi mattifer,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Yay! This just made my day! Thanks a million!

Thank you for sharing your experience with skiing with us. Skiing is something really exciting, I am telling like someone who does skiing, but I am not I have never tried it but I love to observe people who do skiing and it is so enjoyable to see that excitement in their eyes and laugh once they arrive at the bottom, that is a real event. I am myself fan of ice-skating I started when I was a teen and even was going to take part in some competition till I got Chest infection and landed in hospital because we trained outside and I wanted to be like the professional ice-skater and wanted to have light clothes. After that my parents did not let me to go there. But I love to go ice-skating still and really enjoy it. The pictures are absolutely wonderful. You are lucky to have such nice sunny day, although it is cold I hope once you are on the skis it will be hot :) Good luck!

The weather was perfect for skiing! It really wasn't even that cold - but I was bundled up pretty well.

I went ice skating one time. It was awesome! As a kid, I remember watching the Olympic figure skaters and thinking that I wanted to do that when I grew up. I also was not able to, but I still love watching them!

Oh, the joys of 🎿 I prefer cross country ski when the sun is out 😀👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've not done that. I hear the skis are very different. What's it like?

To me, it is more like hiking. You glide your foot forward and help with the sticks. Some areas have prepared ways to go skiing on. I am not an expert since I live in a no snow climate, but have gone and loved it when I was visiting in Germany.

I do love hiking. I'll have to try it sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34