#Steemitbloggers Contest - Treasure Hunting All Over the World

in #travel5 years ago

SteemitBloggers Contest

Welcome to day #4 of posting every single day. Last night I barely made it. I literally hit post with only minutes to go until midnight. But I made it!

Today I thought I'd participate in one of the #steemitbloggers weekly contests as my daily blog post. Here are the rules:

  • Solve a crossword puzzle below. The theme is: winter
  • Unscramble the letters in the red boxes to reveal the name of a member of the SteemitBloggers commnity.
  • Go to that Steemian's blog and look for a certain post and read it. Make a note of the different things talked about.
  • Author your own Steemit post about one of the things that is mentioned in the SteemitBlogger's post. You may do a 300-word (minimum) freewrite, write a poem, draw a picture (stick figures allowed!), or take a photograph of the subject.
  • Do not reveal any of the answers when you do your post, other than including one of the things in your poem, freewrite, drawing, or photo!

So I solved the puzzle (crosswords are fun) and continued on to search for the aforementioned blog post. Below is my actual entry into the contest - but you won't know what the subject is, cause that would give it away!

Recently, Matthew (on the right), his mother (in the middle) and I (on the left) were spending the day in the Austrian Alps. The worlds largest Ice Cave was there, and as it was my birthday I thought we should go see it. Matthew had to work later in the day, but I figured we had plenty of time.

After climbing the mountain and exploring the cave, we were ready to head home. The caves had taken much longer than I expected, and Matthew only had about 30 minutes before he was supposed to start work. Fortunately, he works from home, so he didn't have to punch a time clock.

As we started toward the lift to take us down the mountain, a storm began brewing as well. We waited in line for about 30 minutes before noticing that the line hadn't moved at all! Dismayed, we realized that the lift had been suspended due to lightning strikes nearby. We needed another way down.

There was a trail that went almost straight down the side of the mountain, so we decided we'd better take that. Pouring rain, thunder overhead, and intermittent lightning strikes accompanied the three of us as we began our descent.

About halfway down the mountain, Matthew's phone started ringing. It was work! Being a true professional, he took the call in a thunderstorm while hiking down a mountain. Sometimes, work simply doesn't wait for you to be ready. Matthew negotiated with his client while negotiating rocks and steep terrain. By the time all was said and done, he'd closed the deal and made everyone happy.

Sometimes, the whole world is your office.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Wao at what height is this mountain and dont u have animals over there ??
That cave is natural ??
Clouds look naughty
Between belated Happy Burday

Posted using Partiko iOS

The mountain range itself goes up to 2,300 meters...but I'm not sure exactly how high the ice caves were. Here's a link for more information about the ice caves. They were truly beautiful! Yes, the cave is natural, as far as I know. Every year the ice inside changes though beause new water comes in and freezes. It's worth a trip.

What do you mean by animals? Yes, there are animals there. I wasn't worried about being eaten by a bear though - they were all killed during the multiple wars which took place there. :-(

And thanks for the Happy Birthday! It was one of the most memorable ever.

hahahahahaha Yes one should be afraid of bears ... . . . .

The caves waaao

I hope you get to visit them sometime!

AWESOME entry into the contest - so glad you decided to take another peek at it (even though yours is so much better than mine, and bound to win...LOL!). Gorgeous shots, and mega kudos to Matthew for his extreme multitasking skills!

Thanks! I patterned mine after yours, so really, yours is the original and way more likely to win. :-) I had to double check the referenced blog post 3 times though to make sure that I was using the right one. I'm still not entirely convinced - but only because I was expected a blog post with a list of 'things mentioned."

Matthew is probably the world's best multi-tasker. I really don't know how he does it. He manages to juggle 5 or 6 different careers and businesses all at once. He even runs a non-profit. I'm regularly in awe. And here I am thinking, "Golly, can I really get all my steemit stuff done in one day AND still make it to the gym?" Ha! :-)

Indeed it is for me each day with steemit is like Working in a worldwide office, the entry is great good luck
Love
Britt

Thanks! I'd love to hear more about your worldwide office. It's fun to find that there are lots of folks who don't do the daily grind.

I have My office world wide with Steem 😉 so Nice to interact around the world.
Gr britt

Nice entry and hiking is always fun, something I need to do again one day, when I get fit again haha. And work always calls at the wrong time. ;)

I need to do more hiking myself! I'm in Oregon at the moment, and there are some beautiful places to hike....but it cooooold outside!

Ah, smooth moves!

I like the views you shared and the stormy feel about them. Take extra care in such conditions!

If by extra care you mean scramble down the mountainside....yep! We did that! :-) It was so amazing hiking in the storm. It's truly a rare opportunity.

Thanks for the kind words. I hope you drop by again soon.

Hahaha that's so badass getting the deal whilst hiking, probably the most surreal hike you've all done! Can imagine the rumbling of the thunder now as you saw it approaching - lovely scenery :)

Yes! Surreal is a great word for it. :-) All three of us look back on that hike (and the phone call) as one of our favorite parts of the trip.

That doesn't come as a surprise to me - now you will always hand a memory of it 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep! That's one of the great things about the blockchain and blogging!

The "blogchain" you could say mwhahaha 😈

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! So punny!

Dear @mattifer,

Thank you for supporting our tag #archisteem. Wishing you have a pleasant day :)

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thanks, you too!

@mattifer,

No images but good description ... sounds like a fun game.

Pouring rain, thunder overhead, and intermittent lightning strikes accompanied the three of us as we began our descent.

About halfway down the mountain, Matthew's phone started ringing. It was work! Being a true professional, he took the call in a thunderstorm while hiking down a mountain.

He's a soldier! On the phone amongst thunder and lightening (amidst an artillery barrage) ... Matti, he was calling in an airstrike on his own position!

Now you go "treat him" like women do to soldiers returning home from war. :-)

Quill

@quillfire

I'm beginning to feel quite badly for you that your images are not working. Have you tried turning it off and on again? I hear that is priceless advice from IT folks all over the world.

And yes! Matthew was a soldier in the US Army. Now he gets free coffee at GetGo gas stations due to his illustrious work and former station.

It would not surprise me greatly to learn that he had called in his own airstrike. He is in the logistics business after all.

As for the treating him.... all the stories I've heard about soldiers returning from war involve the woman having run off with another man, or presenting him with a new born baby after a year long deployment.

I think I'll stick with the free coffee.

Mattifer

haha! amazing mattifer! Matthew closed a deal while walking down a mountain in the Austrian Alps! Unreal. This is another freaking awesome post! lol. great job.

Many thanks! He's pretty unreal in his work ethic, that's for sure.

It would be fantastic if there is stalactite or stalagmite that you can show in your pic, incredible view of the mountain. I love to be in the mountain and enjoy the quiet time there. Is the cave for tourist @mattifer?

We weren't supposed to take pictures inside the caves, so I didn't get any great images of the ice inside. Yes, the cave is for tourists. As far as I know, they won't let you inside without a guide. It's a very nice tour too! I wrote a whole post about it a while back right here if you'd like to see the pics I did get.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02